RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Protesting with Oscar(16 posts)

Protesting with Oscarjtolleson
Mar 21, 2003 8:06 AM
Even as one opposed to the war I find my self in dumbfounded amazement that some of the Hollywood-types are actually planning to skip the Academy Awards as an act of "protest." It would almost be funny if it weren't so banal.

I mean, staying home from your own industry's major self-congratulatory circle jerk of the year as a political statement of any kind bespeaks MASSIVE ego.
Stupidest thing I've ever heard...TJeanloz
Mar 21, 2003 8:12 AM
I could see the reasoning if GWB were handing out the awards, or if the Academy was a Government agency.

Actually, Hollywood stars do seem to have trouble distinguishing between their lives and reality, so maybe they think it is...
yupDougSloan
Mar 21, 2003 8:27 AM
I like the way you put that. Funny. They are retaliating by depriving us of their glamorous presence on the red carpet, wearing their $50,000 dresses. I never watch, anyway.

Doug

Disclaimer: Since this is an internet forum posting, and statements here are frequently viewed other than how intended, this author disclaims any intent to be rude, offensive, or insensitive; this author frequently uses sarcasm and other forms of intended humor to make points, and those measures are also commonly misinterpreted. Therefore, please take no offense unless the intent to offend is expresly stated. Thank you.
My sentiments exactly! nmJon Billheimer
Mar 21, 2003 8:29 AM
I'm all for itmohair_chair
Mar 21, 2003 8:34 AM
Dammit! Can you believe Will Smith dropped out of the show? Oh the humanity? What was he up for again?

Hey, anyone who feels strongly enough should definitely stay home. That way we won't have to listen to them making speeches on stage.

It was funny and quite amazing that at the Grammys, almost no one made any political speeches. It was quite a shock to everyone, I think. I guess managers told their clients that it would not be appreciated by most of America. Hopefully this feeling will carry over into the Oscars.
Will SmithSpoiler
Mar 21, 2003 12:07 PM
Will's smart. He doesn't give a damn about whether the war is right or wrong. He knows that pics of Baghdad smoking will KILL the Oscars in the Nielson's. He's such a huge star that he simply can't afford to do TV appearances that aren't guaranteed at least a 13 rating.
Between live telephone camera footage of the war on one channel, and my University of Arizona Wildcats going all the way in the NCAA's on another, the Oscars will be drawing the same audience that is anxiously waiting for the "Murder She Wrote" reunion.
To be fair...Me Dot Org
Mar 21, 2003 8:40 AM
...some people have said that they don't feel comfortable going to an awards gala in the middle of a war. I don't think that automatically means the person is agains the war, or is trying to make a political statement. It just may mean that they feel uneasy participating in something superficial during a somber time.
re: Protesting with OscarFredrico
Mar 21, 2003 8:53 AM
Aw, they're just bummed out because the war has started. They don't want to look as if they're being unpatriotic, or unseemly, by having a celebration at this serious time. :)

You said it right. The Oscars have always been the "industry's major self-congratulatory circle jerk of the year." Just look back to what films won in the past--and which ones didn't.
Can we have a war same time every year. nmpurplepaul
Mar 21, 2003 9:05 AM
Living in a stupid bubbleNo_sprint
Mar 21, 2003 9:08 AM
They just don't realize that the mass majority of Americans simply don't give a damn. See my furthermore post below for more info.
LOL. ThanksKristin
Mar 21, 2003 9:13 AM
Couldn't have said it better. It makes me laugh that they put their damn self-congratulatory circle jerk of the year award show on TV in the first place. I got an award at work last year and no one wanted to televise it. I guess no one really cared. I hope this is a new trend. Mabey they'll stay home next year too. And the year after that...
What? Protesting by skipping the Oscars?sacheson
Mar 21, 2003 9:20 AM
The shame! What's next? Will the Miss American contestants drop out of Fear Factor?

What will Joan Rivers and her clone talk about on E!? This war is screwing everything up!

Perfect choice of words jtolleson ...
Burn Hollyweird. Hang the blessed dj....(metaphorically)nm128
Mar 21, 2003 9:36 AM
Can you imagine if we turned this country over to an actor?Me Dot Org
Mar 21, 2003 9:55 AM
...what?....he was?

nevermind...
LOL! Remember 'Back to the Future'..."RR, the actor?" LOL! nmSpunout
Mar 21, 2003 10:31 AM
What I don't understand about movie stars...empacher6seat
Mar 21, 2003 5:28 PM
is why some of them feel because they're on TV, they are automatically interesting people, with interesting, educated things to say. Whenever I see celebrities endorsing something, praising war, speaking up against war, I think I might as well be listening to a guy who dresses up in a clown costume and performs at children's parties. They're just entertainers!

The Oscars to me are just a parade of has-beens in tuxedos handing over awards to soon-to-be-has-beens in tuxedos who played in the movies that spent the most on advertisment that particular year.

My 0.02 (Cdn) cents.