RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Anti-War demonstrators (including Hollywood liberals)...(11 posts)

Anti-War demonstrators (including Hollywood liberals)...Fez
Mar 20, 2003 8:27 AM
Plenty of anti-war demonstrators everywhere, including the big shots in Hollywood like Sarandon and Gere.

I always hear the anti-war demonstrators only protest against war. I saw this after 9-11 and I also see this for Iraq. But I never hear an alternate plan. How can they be unequivocally anti-war but never have an alternate solution?

The closest thing I have heard is to continue diplomacy. For how long? I have a feeling all 50 states could suffer from terrorist attacks and chemical weapons could be unleashed on all of Iraq and there would still be anti-war protestors.

Please enlighten me.
Hollywood liberals?mohair_chair
Mar 20, 2003 8:39 AM
Sarandon lives in Connecticut, Gere lives in New York. That's far from Hollywood, but it's still America. They are allowed to have opinions other than yours, even if they are famous.

Yes, I agree that protesters who have no alternate solution are wasting their breath. But if you bother to listen to the serious ones (a small minority from what I've seen and heard), they have at least crafted "solutions," most of which seem to be along the lines of "let the inspectors do their jobs." That's a viable alternative, like it or not.

Personally, I fall into the "no more useless diplomacy and inspections" camp.
War mongers (including Wall Street conservatives) don't listen.RoyGBiv
Mar 20, 2003 8:50 AM
Here's an alternative for you: Bomb Saudi Arabia -- that's where most of the 9/11 hijackers haled.
War mongers (including Wall Street conservatives) don't listen.hycobob
Mar 20, 2003 8:58 AM
Woah, slow down boy! You're moving way too fast...one step at a time. First we need to open the Alaskan oil fields for drilling. Supply ourselves; then bomb Saudi Arabia.
re: Anti-War demonstrators (including Hollywood liberals)...hycobob
Mar 20, 2003 8:52 AM
You are enlightened. You know what they don't, that we don't care what they have to say... Does anybody really pay attention to what "Dammit Janet", Woody or the "Dixie Chunk" have to say? For that matter, who of you really care what I have to say? For all you know, I could be a 4th grader skipping school and playing on daddy's computer; instead of an ex-druggy, prior-military, plant-working, bike-riding, conservative family man screwing around at work...wishing I was out on a 100 mile ride.
alright, get off of dad's computer and go to school. nmFez
Mar 20, 2003 9:11 AM
yesDougSloan
Mar 20, 2003 9:29 AM
I think we'd all be better off if we were out on 100 mile rides. Maybe 200.

Doug

Disclaimer: Since this is an internet forum posting, and statements here are frequently viewed other than how intended, this author disclaims any intent to be rude, offensive, or insensitive; this author frequently uses sarcasm and other forms of intended humor to make points, and those measures are also commonly misinterpreted. Therefore, please take no offense unless the intent to offend is expresly stated. Thank you.
Speaking of 200 milers...hycobob
Mar 20, 2003 9:33 AM
have you heard when the "Texas Alamo Challenge" has been moved to? I heard the Lance's "Ride for the Roses" took its weekend in October away.
no idea; sorry nmDougSloan
Mar 20, 2003 9:35 AM
War mongers (including Wall Street conservatives) don't listen.RoyGBiv
Mar 20, 2003 8:56 AM
Here's an alternative for you: Bomb Saudi Arabia -- that's where most of the 9/11 hijackers haled.
they looking for attentionlongfellow68
Mar 20, 2003 10:19 AM
Either their careers stink at this point or they are pissed that the reaility TV shows (joe millionaire) are putting them out of work. I actually believe this. Its an easy way for them to get in national spotlight.