RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Turnaround! Bush to allow more inspections!(21 posts)

Turnaround! Bush to allow more inspections!ClydeTri
Mar 18, 2003 7:09 AM
AP) Washington DC Monday, March 9 , 2003 11:00 AM
President George Bush has made an announcement that we will not attack Iraq. The President has announced that as of today he is agreeing to additional inspectors to be deployed throughout the country of Iraq. The United States will be sending 100,000 additional inspectors into Iraq. The additional inspectors will include: 24,000 members of the 1st Infantry Division 15,000 members of the 101st Airborne Division 5,000 members of the 4th armored division with their "M1-A1 all terrain vehicles" Special air deliveries to aid the inspections will be made by aircraft from the USS Constellation, USS George Washington, USS Abraham Lincoln and USS Enterprise.
The President stated: "with these additional inspectors the inspections should be completed in a few weeks."
What?Kristin
Mar 18, 2003 7:19 AM
Yeah, this sound accurate. Not to mention, its a week old.
They still won't find anything. That will be..Spunout
Mar 18, 2003 7:24 AM
the biggest joke in the world, when they scour the country and realize that Saddam didn't have anything.

But my greatest fear, is that after they don't find anything, they will plant it. It is all made in the USA anyways.
Oh, I think they're going to find something.Dwayne Barry
Mar 18, 2003 7:45 AM
I've assumed all along they have some of the chemical/biological stuff. There's no longer any reason for him NOT to use them. Hopefully his commanders will be a little more cautious about their futures. I don't think there's been much contention over whether or not he has at least some WMD, the debate has been over the level of threat represented by his possession of these weapons, and if the best way to dis-arm him is via a massive war. Then it got even further muddled when the goal was no longer the dis-armament of Iraq but regime change. Perhaps you've picked up that even if Saddam and company went into exile our troops were still going to "invade" Iraq? We want a government of our liking in power.

This is the best self-fulfilling prophecy. The only way Saddam was going to use the stuff (remember the Gulf War) is if he's backed into a corner. Well we've backed him into a corner. If it's there, it will be used. I don't think that justifies the invasion. When you threaten a regime's very existence, of course they're going to pull out all the stops. Do you doubt that we would use Nuclear weapons if it looked like conventional weapons couldn't stop an enemy from threatening the very existence of our nation?
Hey Spunout - they already have!sacheson
Mar 18, 2003 8:28 AM
http://www.cnn.com/2003/US/03/14/sprj.irq.documents/

Makes me proud to be an American.
that makes two of you...Spunout
Mar 18, 2003 8:43 AM
The documents, given to International Atomic Energy Agency Director General Mohamed ElBaradei, indicated that Iraq might have tried to buy 500 tons of uranium from Niger, but the agency said they were "obvious" fakes.

I suggest you read the story again, my take on it:

The documents Powell was waving were fakes. He doesn't have any proof, never did. There is not any proof.
that's my point.sacheson
Mar 18, 2003 9:02 AM
In your original post, you said something about the US planting evidence in Iraq if they can't find anything. I posted proof they've already used false data to try and make the case against Iraq.

Where did you get that I was supporting Powell / the US stance?
Oops! Lost thread/brain. Agreed, and apologize. nmSpunout
Mar 18, 2003 9:11 AM
Were you guys on the OJ Simpson Jury?Alpedhuez55
Mar 18, 2003 9:23 AM
You guys are too much. You insist Saddam has no chemical weapons, and when we do find them, they were planted by the US Government. And I suppose the real killer of O.J.'s wife will be found on a public golf course in Florida.

I think Saddam has more supporters in the US than he does in Iraq.

Mike Y.
Do you really need to create a false...Dwayne Barry
Mar 18, 2003 9:34 AM
dichotomy to make yourself feel better?

Opposing or just thinking this war is really bad idea (me) doesn't equate to supporting Saddam. Furthermore, no one knows for sure if there are chemical/biological weapons there (although Bush still loves using the word nuclear when no one thinks he has or is even anywhere near getting one). I think there are chemical/biological weapons and I still think this is a bad idea. Furthermore I fear our troops or civilians will be subjected to those weapons for the very reason that we did invade, and that this would not have happened otherwise.

Just because you support the war, doesn't mean you can dismiss off-hand the FACT that the documents that Powell used to prove Saddam had WMD were shown to be forgeries. I sincerely doubt it was intentional but rather just bad intelligence work under the pressure to find evidence.
Question: How many US civilians have been killed by Iraq? nmSpunout
Mar 18, 2003 9:39 AM
Question:2How many US civilians have been killed by Israel? nmSpoiler
Mar 18, 2003 11:06 AM
JERUSALEM, March 16 — An Israeli Army bulldozer today crushed to death an American woman who had kneeled in the dirt to prevent the armored vehicle from destroying a Palestinian home in the southern Gaza Strip, witnesses and hospital officials said.

The Israeli military said the driver of the bulldozer had not seen the woman, and called it a "very regrettable accident."

The woman, Rachel Corrie, 23, from Olympia, Wash., was among eight Americans and Britons who had been acting as "human shields" to try to stop the almost daily house demolitions by Israeli forces in Rafah, on Gaza's border with Egypt.

When the bulldozer approached a house today, Ms. Corrie, who was wearing a bright orange jacket, dropped to her knees, a practice that members of the group to which she belonged, the International Solidarity Movement, have used repeatedly, her colleagues at the scene said.

As the bulldozer reached her without slowing up, she began to rise, but was trapped beneath a pile of dirt generated by its blade and the blade itself, said one member of the group, Tom Dale, who said he was standing about 30 feet away.

"We were shouting and waving our arms at the driver," said Mr. Dale, who is British. "We even had a megaphone. But the bulldozer kept going until she was under the body or the tracks of the bulldozer."

The bulldozer stopped for a few seconds and pulled back, Mr. Dale added. Her colleagues rushed to Ms. Corrie, who was bleeding from the head and face and badly wounded, but still breathing. An ambulance took her to Najar Hospital, where she died. She had a fractured skull and other injuries, said Dr. Ali Moussa, a hospital administrator.

At the time Ms. Corrie was run over, she was in an open area in front of the house, Mr. Dale said. The bulldozer came from some distance away, and "there was nothing to obscure the driver's view," he said.

But Capt. Jacob Dallal, an army spokesman, said that the armored bulldozer had limited visibility, and that the driver had not been aware that Ms. Corrie was in his path.

In a statement, the Israeli military said soldiers "were dealing with a group of protesters who were acting very irresponsibly, putting everyone in danger — the Palestinians, themselves and our forces — by intentionally placing themselves in a combat zone."

About an hour before Ms. Corrie was killed, troops fired tear gas and shot into the air during a confrontation with the protesters at a nearby house, both Mr. Dale and the Israeli military said.

The International Solidarity Movement is made up mostly of Americans and Europeans in their 20's and 30's who are sympathetic to the Palestinians and oppose the Israeli occupation of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. They have repeatedly placed themselves in front of Israeli forces operating in those areas.

Last May, several members dashed past Israeli troops into the Church of the Nativity in Bethlehem, where Palestinian gunmen had been holed up for more than a month. The protesters remained for several days, until the standoff ended with the surrender of the gunmen.

Ms. Corrie, who was to graduate from Evergreen State College in Olympia this year, had been in Rafah for two months, her colleagues said.

In Olympia, Colin Reese, a student at Evergreen State and a close friend of Ms. Corrie, said she had focused much of her studies on community organizing. Describing her work in Gaza, he said, "She was particularly touched by the Palestinian situation and wanted to use her privilege as an American citizen to help defend against the Israeli occupation."

One of Ms. Corrie's teachers at Evergreen was Larry Mosqueda, a professor of political economy and social change, who said her work in Gaza was a reflection of lessons taught at Evergreen that encourage students to put their education to practical use while still in college. "She has a strong sense of social justice," he said. "Basically, she wanted to do someth
funny how mainstream media works..Spunout
Mar 18, 2003 12:18 PM
that was a front page story in Canada. I had to dig around CNN to find any mention of that. The spin that they work on our minds!
Human Shield = SuicideAlpedhuez55
Mar 18, 2003 12:56 PM
Not that the Israelis without guilt in this situation, but being a human shield is suicide. In her case, she was willing to put her life on the line for a suspected terrorist. She has a lot more guts than brains.

It is basically as the story said, a Combat Zone. I think some of the Israeli tactics are wrong and effect too many civilians. But If I am the soldier driving the buldozer, I am not going to put my life in danger to protect some dumb college student trying to earn extra credit for her "professor of political economy and social change" by spending Spring Break on the Gaza Strip instead of flashing drunken Frat Boys on Lake Havasu. Some may call her a martyr for her cause. I think she is she died foolishly and is more responsible for her death than the bulldozer driver.

And remind me never to let my children go to a college with a "professor of political economy and social change."

Mike Y.
Do you really need to create a false...Alpedhuez55
Mar 18, 2003 10:01 AM
What was suggested by these two Saddam Appologists is that there are no chem or bio weapons in Iraq. And that if they found something, it would be planted by the US. So nomatter what we find in Iraq, it was planted by the US Troops. That is exactly like the OJ Saying he was framed with evidence manufactured by the police.

Implying the US is going to plant evidence goes far past being anti-war or anti-bush. They are making excuses for Saddam in advance. That is the type of blind defenders who Lenin used to refer to as "Useful Iiots." THey are supporting Saddam when they make those kind of wild accusations, even if they are not bright enough to reailze it. Sure they can beleive that if they want. There are also people who still think the Moon Landing was faked and that the earth is flat.

Yes, you are right. There was bad intelligence work. The documents were probably something made up by one of Saddams other many other emenies who want to see him out of power. I am not defending that sloppy work. I am calling out a couple of people who are Saddam Supporters.

Mike Y.
It is possible to oppose US policy without supporting Saddam BTWSpunout
Mar 18, 2003 10:06 AM
It is possible to oppose US policy without supporting Saddam BTWAlpedhuez55
Mar 18, 2003 10:59 AM
Sure it is. Most of the people who oppose US Policy would still like to see Saddam removed from power or at least contained. THere are many arguments that can be made such as I never think war is an answer; Inspections need more time; He is already contained; He cannot deliver his weapons to the US and plenty of others.

When you claim that if any weapons of mass destruction are found after we go into Iraq, they are planted, you are making excuses for Saddam. WHen you make his excuses for him, that is supporting him.

Mike Y.
Administration's credibility suffers when it dissemblesDale Brigham
Mar 18, 2003 10:17 AM
"It was the information that we had. We provided it. If that information is inaccurate, fine," Powell said on NBC's "Meet the Press" last Sunday.

"Inaccurate"="Fine"? Hey, I'm paying taxes so that these guys can be accurate, maybe even occasionally truthful. Just as with the fancy aluminum tubing that was surely intended to make gas centrifuges to concentrate uranium isotopes (except that it wasn't the right kind of tubing for that), this phony uranium sale document does not serve to inspire confidence in the Administation's other assertions and statements in this regard.

There are plenty of good reasons to take out Saddam. So many in fact, that dissembling, equivocating, and lying to us and the world is neither necessary nor, after the deceptions are uncovered, productive. Rather, it undercuts the truthful statements and assertions of the government.

You may say that past Administrations have all done it, and you would be absolutely right in making that argument. However, that does not make it right. Proclaiming in big headlines on page 1 and then, a week later, retracting in agate type on page B14 is not a pattern that fosters trust in our government's actions and judgement.

Dale
..the tubing was columbus altec, for bicycles! JK! ;-0 nmSpunout
Mar 18, 2003 12:19 PM
I totally disagree with your premise ...HouseMoney
Mar 18, 2003 12:21 PM
although I'm sure that those who are against the war will claim that any found WMDs were planted by our troops. I also wouldn't put it past the Iraqi army to murder/torture innocent citizens while wearing the uniforms of US/UK soldiers that they have reportedly duplicated.

I don't doubt the left will pull out all the stops to avoid having egg on their collective faces.

Re your last comment, if the USA is clever enough to devise a plan to plant weaponry if there is none to be found, wouldn't the USA also be clever enough to put "Made in France" on what they're planting? Think about it.
Heh heh, I heard it was to be 300k addl inspectors...nmrwbadley
Mar 18, 2003 7:44 AM