RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


sounds like the war has started(16 posts)

sounds like the war has startedgtx
Mar 15, 2003 9:58 PM
http://www.debka.com/article.php?aid=418

This site (based in Israel) has proved to be pretty reliable since 9/11
I'm not surprisedMcAndrus
Mar 16, 2003 6:31 AM
"DEBKAfile's military sources report that 1,200 American and British warplanes of different types deployed in bases within striking distance of Iraq are now performing an average of 1,000 sorties a day, which by any definition is full scale warfare."

During the Battle of Aghanistan, I found the foreign news sources to be much more informative - and accurate - than the American sources. The only American source worth much of anything was NPR and it paled in comparison to the Israeli and British sources.
1,000 sorties a day?DougSloan
Mar 17, 2003 8:28 AM
That seems like an awful lot. Why isn't that all over the news? What are they bombing, sand piles?

Doug
A sortie = flight, correct?TJeanloz
Mar 17, 2003 8:42 AM
Just because they fly, doesn't mean they drop bombs. Missing but interesting data would be how many sorties were flown daily in patrol of the "no fly" zones -- I would guess that it was several hundred.
On CNN today as confirmationPaulCL
Mar 17, 2003 12:20 PM
The announcers talked about the "1000 daily sorties" in southern and northern Iraq as standard operating procedure. He went on to say that the number is higher now than a few months ago. He mentioned that the US/British sorties have been used to bomb radar installations, command centers, Scud sites, etc... Effectively clearing a path to Bagdah. The Northern tip of the souther "no fly" zone is only 26 miles from Baghdad city limits.
Propaganda....asphalt assault
Mar 17, 2003 8:57 AM
...I'm not sure I'd believe everything I read on DEBKAfile.

Shortly after 9-11 when US and British troops were being deployed to Aghanistan I read on DEBKA that there were 1 million Chinese troops headed for Afghanistan to counter US military action there. Where'd they go?....I didn't hear about any Chinese troops in Afghanistan.

DEBKA="The Onion" with a more serious tone.
Propaganda....gtx
Mar 17, 2003 9:21 AM
I remember that story, though I don't think they ever said 1 million, and they called them "Chinese Muslim" troops. It was a weird story, I admit, and Debka is pretty out there sometimes, but there is a lot of stuff that happens that you'll never see on CNN or in the NYTimes. I don't have any reason to believe that Friday's bombing story is false.
"The Onion" with a more serious tone. LOL - nmMcAndrus
Mar 17, 2003 12:34 PM
re: sounds like the war has startedMe Dot Org
Mar 16, 2003 9:19 AM
Yeah, I'd have to agree you don't need a B-1 to carry a HARM (anti-radar) missile.

Without a U.N. resolution, it is possible that the U.S. may make a gradual escalation, hoping to provoke Hussein into attacking, giving cover for our response.
re: sounds like the war has startedQubeley
Mar 16, 2003 1:39 PM
Big stick policy at its worst, a leader single-handedly CREATE a war, with no intention of listen to any other opinions. I mean, from the very start, did Bush even believed in or hoped for a peaceful solutions?
Even if U.S. is completely successful on the battlefield, the whole event is just such a bad precedent in the history of diplomacy. The message is clear, I am the biggest, baddest dog, what can you do to me? Bite, bite! Most of the world is against us because they are WRONG and I am RIGHT!
I am pretty sure Saddam will be removed from power, but is that the goal? I thought reason U.S. should go in a war is to make the U.S. soil safer, will the war in anyway achieve that?(longer term or short term).
Don't waste your time arguing with me, I am totally ignorant of history or current events. Simply venting.
re: sounds like the war has startedpurplepaul
Mar 16, 2003 8:51 PM
Interesting that a self-described ignoramus could believe so vehemently that he's right.
Friend in the Guard says "Planes are coming back empty"Silverback
Mar 17, 2003 8:38 AM
A guy I work with was activated a few months ago and is stationed over there somewhere (he can't say specifically). They've been flying sorties over Iraq as long as he's been there, but the planes have been coming back with their bomb loads intact. E-mail Friday said that for about the last 10 days, the planes have been coming back empty.
my question is...gtx
Mar 17, 2003 9:24 AM
when will the war become "official"? It would seem odd if Bush made it official today--and I doubt that he will--generally Friday is a better day, because there is no serious news until the following Monday, and it gives Wall Street time to digest.
Wall Street seems to be currently enjoying its digestion (nm)TJeanloz
Mar 17, 2003 10:49 AM
yeah, I noticed thatgtx
Mar 17, 2003 10:51 AM
interesting...

http://money.cnn.com/2003/03/17/markets/markets_newyork.1018/index.htm

"This behavior was in sharp contrast with the market's performance recently, in which investors sold stocks off every time war appeared more likely."
yeah, I noticed thatpurplepaul
Mar 17, 2003 1:06 PM
In a bear market, sell the rumor, buy the news.