RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


French Food Fight in the House(9 posts)

French Food Fight in the HouseMe Dot Org
Mar 11, 2003 10:36 AM
The House of Representatives dining room officially changed its menu from French Fries and Toast to Freedom Fries and Toast:

"This action today is a small, but symbolic effort to show the strong displeasure of many on Capitol Hill with the actions of our so-called ally, France," said Rep. Bob Ney, R-Ohio, the chairman of the Committee on House Administration.

Ney, whose committee has authority over the House cafeterias, directed the change, after colleague Walter Jones, R-North Carolina, circulated a letter suggesting such a move.


http://www.cnn.com/2003/ALLPOLITICS/03/11/sprj.irq.fries/

Future name changes?

Belgian Waffles = Freedom Flapjacks
(Russian) Borscht = Beet Iraq
(Chinese) Chow Mein = Seoul Food

You know, we only used to bestow this honor on countries with which we were at war. Now it goes to nations who disagree with us.
re: French Food Fight in the HouseSpoiler
Mar 11, 2003 12:25 PM
cross posted from passion:
"Ney says he plans on celebrating the latest victory for patriotism by having his wife dress up on his favorite "Freedom maid" uniform and "Freedom kiss" her prior to pleasuring her with a newly bought "Freedom Tickler" lubricated with Craft brand Freedom dressing while she plays the national anthem on the Freedom horn.
the same was done during WWII and WWIPaulCL
Mar 11, 2003 1:06 PM
Sauer Kraut was ???? Slaw
Anything with "german" in it was changed to things like "Liberty Rye" or "liberty potato salad"

This strikes me as a stupid, inane attempt by some low-end politician to get his/her name in the national news. France isn't our enemy they simply disagree with us on an international issue.
the same was done during WWII and WWIAlpedhuez55
Mar 11, 2003 3:48 PM
Actually if they wanted to get there name in the news there are better ways. Mine threatens a nuclear doomsday at local nuclear power plants, They can make racist or anti-semetic statements, grope your secretary, get talk taking bribes, or if all else fails, kill a young intern.

This French boycott thing is getting overdone. It is just a way to get cheap publicity, like the Restaurant owner in NJ who poured a case of Dom Perignon in the down the toilet. We should remember Chriac's grandstanding next time he asks for help. But they are basically a friend and trading partner.

Mike Y.
this whole French thing is sillyDougSloan
Mar 11, 2003 2:16 PM
I think it's all stupid. Who needs the French, anyway? All this French bashing, re-naming food, and pouring wine down the gutter is pretty silly. Like the French give a rat's behind what we do.

All I'd have to tell them would be a subtle reminder that "what goes around..."

Doug
"pouring wine down the gutter"PaulCL
Mar 11, 2003 4:12 PM
Should be punisheable by jail time unless, of course, it comes from a bottle with a screw cap or a box or a jug. If you get tempted to waste a good bottle of French wine, send it to me and I'll get rid of it for you. I'll do the patriotic thing and dispose of it in a proper manner.

It may be unpatriotic of me to say this, but the French have every right to their stance. I have no great desire to go to war. Maybe another month of inspections or diplomatic pressure might avert a war, who knows?? This anti-French feeling will pass soon enough.

Hey Doug...a picture (off topic) for you...
Absolutely ridiculousjtolleson
Mar 12, 2003 10:00 AM
as if our elected "leaders" don't have anything better to do.

And exchanging petty insults with a two-centuries long ally because they happen to disagree about when and whether to plays our boys and girls in harm's way...

Don't get me started.
"French Fries" aren't even French.czardonic
Mar 11, 2003 3:17 PM
"The French Embassy in Washington had no immediate comment, except to say that french fries actually come from Belgium. " [
Maybe these "patriots" should knock down the Statue of Liberty. That would show the world what they stand for!
re: French Food Fight in the Housezeego
Mar 11, 2003 4:38 PM
And what about Turkey? If the Turkish government doesn't change its mind about allowing our boys to invade Irak via their territory, I think we should teach them the painful lesson they deserve and rename our sacred Thanskgiving turkey "Liberty Bird".

God bless America!