RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Digital camera memory chips(9 posts)

Digital camera memory chipsPaulCL
Mar 3, 2003 12:03 PM
OK, we finally broke down and bought a digital camera. Actually, my wife gave me one for my birthday and I'm not returning it for bike stuff.

My question is about memory cards. The camera is a Fuji "Finepix 2650". Very highly rated over at photographyreview.com. The camera has 16mb builtin memory, but the saleman rec'd for us to buy a memory card. Makes sense since I understand that the built in memory won't hold many or any photoes. What size chip (32,64,128mb) should I buy??? And why.

Thanks. paul

P.S. Now that I'm embarking upon the digital camera revolution, I might start trying to post pictures on this board. Be prepared for a shot of my ugly mug on my ride.
re: Digital camera memory chipsBeaver
Mar 3, 2003 1:12 PM
16 megs will hold a lot of photos. Just depends on how you want to use your camera.

On my Canon A40, if I switch the resolution, the camera tells me how many photos the card will handle. Like if I set it to 800x600 and fine resolution, my 16 meg card will handle over 200 photos. This is a great size for emailing as the size is about 70kb. If I bump it up to 1024x768 and still use fine, my 16 meg card will hold about 128 photos. This size is good for printing, I printed some that my fiance took at a friend's wedding and using that setting, the photos were almost as good as my SLR.

I haven't tried using superfine resolution yet so I can't comment on how many a 16 meg card will hold.
Isn't bigger always better? (nm)TJeanloz
Mar 3, 2003 1:14 PM
Not when you've got all your eggs in one basket.czardonic
Mar 3, 2003 1:23 PM
Large capacity cards are more convenient. But if you loose one or it fails on you, you might wish you'd divided up your shots into a couple smaller cards.
I have a FujiDougSloan
Mar 3, 2003 1:35 PM
The Fuji is a good one.

I have a 128mb chip in mine. I think it cost under $50. It will hold about 1,000 photos at minimum quality and size (which is fine most of the time, particularly for web display), and about 200 at max. I have never filled it before downloading.

Get 128 and you'll never worry about memory.

Here's the real issue -- batteries. The thing eats batteries like John Belushi in the cafeteria in Animal House. With flash, you can go through 2 AA's in about 20 pictures, rechargeables go even faster. Whatever you do, always carry an extra set of batteries, maybe several.

Doug
re: Digital camera memory chips4bykn
Mar 3, 2003 2:10 PM
I just got a camera last Saturday too, Canon S230. I had a talk with the salesman and got an extra 128 card and a USB card reader. My pc recognizes the reader as another removable memory drive (drive:f) and it's super handy to load pictures that way. The card reader only costs $15! Using the card reader saves on battery for the camera.
Good advice here, which I second: buy a reader. And,RhodyRider
Mar 4, 2003 7:45 AM
to expand on Doug's point above, it is well worth the relatively small investment to purchase two sets of NiMH rechargeable batteries and a charger. One set in the camera, one charged set in reserve at all times, you'll be all set.
A reader makes short work of downloading from the memory card into your PC's imaging software (comes with the camera in most cases), then you can edit and post and email to your heart's content.
One more tip: the LCD viewfinder/display on your camera is another battery-eater, use it sparingly if you can.
Thanks for the inputPaulCL
Mar 4, 2003 8:40 AM
After playing with the camera last night, I realized that the 16mb chip will hold about 49 photo's on the second best level. Not bad. I think we'll play with the camera for a few weeks before investing any more $$. I haven't even downloaded the pictures into my PC yet...that's tonight's job. Thanks. Paul
photographyreview.com?????ClydeTri
Mar 3, 2003 2:28 PM
Do they have a non-photography discussion forum where we can discuss cycling? :)