RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Can anyone suggest some new bands?(16 posts)

Can anyone suggest some new bands?aeon
Feb 19, 2003 10:55 PM
I listen to general rock, more new wave stuff like the strokes, weezer, queens of the stone age. Looking for some nice rhythmic guitars and catchy tunes.

Waddya think?
Try Guster, Cowboy Mouth, Johnatha Brooke,sn69
Feb 20, 2003 4:49 AM
and the old standby: Toad the Wet Sprocket.
XPN.org; click on listen live nmKeeponTrekkin
Feb 20, 2003 8:38 AM
re: Can anyone suggest some new bands?No_sprint
Feb 20, 2003 9:22 AM
Heard a good new song by Evanescense. I like the current Sevendust album.
2nd Online radio, I use Music Match Radio. . .js5280
Feb 20, 2003 1:49 PM
For about $5 a month you get Artist on Demand which gives you access to thousands of artists across genres. Great for checking out those people and bands you always hear about but don't want to plunk down $12 to see if you like them or not. I'm surprised with the selection, mainstream stuff is covered really well and even not so mainstream (e.g. over 200 tracks from KMFDM)

There's a bunch of options to mix your own station by choosing genres (e.g. 40% alternative rock, 20% Blues, 20% Dance/Techno, and 20% Bebop Jazz) or pick single genres. You can choose mixes of artists or even eras, Is that 60's freedom rock dude? ;-) down to specific years. If you want to listen to music played/release when you graduated high school, you can do it. If you don't get the Artist in Demand, you get the above for about $3 a month.

The Denver radio market has been monopolized by Clear (Crap) Communications. I don't listen to commerial radio anymore because it plain sucks and the play the same mainstream/MTV overplayed crap over and over and over. It's all streaming broadcasts or MP3 now for me.

You need a highspeed (i.e. cable or DSL) to take the best advantage of online music. You can get CD quality streaming over these connections. All commerical free too. Here's a link: http://www.musicmatch.com/download/mx_intro.htm

I believe you can download the software and check out Music Match radio for free, but only at low quality. There's some other good online options out there too as well, can't think of the names right now though. . .

Some cool stuff I've been listening to lately;
Morphine (a favorite of mine), Bob Schnieder (well known Austin artist), Underworld (UK electronica), Replacements (another favorite), Dropkick Murphies (Oi Punk), Pixies (alternative early 90s), Suicide Machines (Punk), Hoodoo Gurus (80's Australian alternative band), Gov't Mule (Blues Rock), Filter (Alt Rock). . .
Doves, Interpol, Flaming Lips, ColdplayUprwstsdr
Feb 20, 2003 2:44 PM
If you like those try Traviszygon
Feb 21, 2003 2:51 PM
Sigur Ros, Godspeed You Black Emperor
My current favorites
Porcupine Trees.Stars Die: The Delerium Years
King Black Acid.Loves a Love Song
Mercury Rev.Deserter's Songs & All is Dream
A good CD I recently gotColnagoFE
Feb 20, 2003 3:01 PM
Somebody here recommended it a while back. It's called Do the Pop...you can find it on Amazon. A little pricey, but it's a import and has 50 songs on 2 CDs. A history of Australian garage rock from the late 80s to the 90s. Lots of the stuff sounds like the Strokes and all the other "new garage" sound. I think you'd like it.
Cool, Hoodoo Gurus are on there!js5280
Feb 20, 2003 6:57 PM
Great music from my high school and college days! What's my Scene, Come Anytime, and Miss Freelove are some of my favorite songs. Bet I'd like a lot of those songs, great alt power pop but back then it was just "college music."

We need to trade CDs sometime ColnagoFE, I think we've got very similar tastes. . .
And now some stuff for you guysaeon
Feb 21, 2003 3:43 PM
Good calls all, I'll be checking them out

I'll share the stuff I've beem listening to lately:

Dandy Warhols - Bohemian Like You
The Salads - Get Loose
The Stranglers - Golden Brown
Samiam - Boy With Monkey
Pearl Jam - Save You
The Walkmen - We've Been Had
Green Day - Pop Rocks And Coke
Sam Roberts
Badly Drawn Boy - Once Around The Block

oh and the Suicide Machines do an amazing cover of What I Like About You =)

check it out
If you go back and do a searchsn69
Feb 21, 2003 7:13 PM
for music and downloads, you'll find a bunch that Mickey-mac and I have discussed. Likewise, for something a bit different but basically honest guitar-based alt/indie, you might want to try the LA based Ednaswap/Annetenna.

Dandy Warhols, incidentally, are great!
zwan!empacher6seat
Feb 21, 2003 6:38 PM
Comprised of two former smashing pumpkins members, one former Perfect Circle member.. and... some other guy :) lol. I love the CD.
Foo Fighters.
Wide Mouth Mason: kinda blusey rock, but really really cool band.
If you like the strokes I'm assuming you know about the Vines. Another band like that is Hot Hot Heat. They're local and were nominated for some Juno's recently. I'm not a big fan, but lots of people are going crazy over them!
In the same vein as Strokes and Vines, try Sahara Hotnights. nmsn69
Feb 21, 2003 7:14 PM
yeah I heard some hot hot heat...aeon
Feb 21, 2003 11:54 PM
It was a while back when they were newer, so there wasn't much to find. I might check them out again.

The problem I have with Zwan is it sounds pretty much like the Pumkins later years, which weren't very good. Just sounds grating and whiny to me...
Mellon Collie is one of my all time favorites though.
yeah yeah yeahs, the dirtbombs, pretty girls make graves,inallston
Feb 22, 2003 9:01 PM
hotsakes, scared of chaka. to name a few
Suggestionssctri
Feb 23, 2003 10:12 PM
For Rock- Matthew Good Band, but not the singles, get the demo and other stuff

Punk- Bouncing souls, DBS

emo- Sinclaire, Something Corporate

RC