RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Why the U.S. wants war with Iraq(10 posts)

Why the U.S. wants war with IraqREPO42
Jan 30, 2003 11:35 PM
OOOOOOOOOIIIIIIILLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL......get it!!!!!!!and if Iraq is so evil then why to this day do we import most of our from IRAQ....You want to know who runs your country.....Shell, Exxon, Gulf, British Petroleum... All the major oil companies... Why did bush declare war on Iraq. If you research you will find that coincidentally around the time Bush declared a possible attack on Iraq, the Iraq government passed an embargo on shipping oil to The U.S. and Israel...They were the only Arab nation to do this...Am I saying the Sadamm is not dangerous? No., but we can't go into every country in the world and dictate how they will behave. Especially when we put them into power in the first place... I got a better solution why don't we stop supplying these countries weapons... Pretty crazy how Afgans were using American made stinger missiles against our choppers... Anyways I will cut this off now, because the thought of these idiots wanting to spend 200 billion to support this war, when my family can't even afford health care is not only sick, but just as evil.... Lets take care of our hungry and homeless, and sick before we try to become the planets crusaders... This is my opinion only... and is very much open for discussion. I love my country and would defend it to the death, but if we never challenge and ask why, then we will only have a nation of "the mad leading the blind" thank you God Bless
re: Why the U.S. wants war with IraqThe Human G-Nome
Jan 30, 2003 11:51 PM
take this somewhere else. it has absolutely nothing to do with cycling, let alone reality.
Because abortion in SUV's deserve the death penaltySpoiler
Jan 31, 2003 12:05 AM
therefore Campy rules and Shimano sucks.
because of people not posting on the non-cycling board? nmMJ
Jan 31, 2003 12:50 AM
Check the facts there...Quack
Jan 31, 2003 4:15 AM
I appreciate your passionate contempt for the war in Iraq, and anyone believing that the US is waging war on Iraq primarily to protect the World from Saddam's weapons of mass destruction is extremely naive. However, Iraq is not our primary supplier of oil. Iraq is actually more like number 6 or 7, with around 10% of our oil imports. If they stopped exporting oil to us, big deal, our other oil suppliers would gladly step up and make up the difference. I believe you are right on with regard to what is driving this war effort though. The untapped oil still existing in Iraq has the US oil giants salivating at the opportunity to get there hands on it. Will winning a war with Saddam allow these companies the opportunity?? Who knows, I guess we'll find out. Hopefully, we don't unite the World against us with such action purely to get oil at a couple bucks a barrel cheaper.

As for posting this on the general discussion of the cycling board, you might want to post some cycling relevant information in your rant next time. Perhaps some quotes from some US Posties on there opinions of the war that you just happened to pick up while attending their last group ride.
Canada is #1 Supplier, that's why we're kicking a$$ in TdLk! nmSpunout
Jan 31, 2003 5:15 AM
It's Because Bush is for Shimano, Saddam is a Campy Guy...Roadrunner25
Jan 31, 2003 5:17 AM
and they also have other areas of disagreement, Bush likes full frame, Saddam is a compact frame guy.

Worst of all the Speedplay vs. Look pedals debate is usally very heated.
Aha! Campy on a compact frame? Bush must declare war! nmSpunout
Jan 31, 2003 5:49 AM
give it a rest..cyclopathic
Jan 31, 2003 5:48 AM
this is cycling board there're enough political forums to discuss it. If you feel so strongly about it write a letter, e-mail or go local TV station and protest it. Now let's get back to cycling.

be the bike
If you don't want to read about non-cycling issues...empacher6seat
Jan 31, 2003 9:09 PM
don't visit the "NON-CYCLING DISCUSSION" board!