RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


irony of the "daisy girl" anti-war ad?(8 posts)

irony of the "daisy girl" anti-war ad?DougSloan
Jan 16, 2003 8:41 AM
Anyone remember the ad by Johnson in '64 with the girl picking petals from a daisy, and it turns into a countdown for a nuclear blast?

Anti-war people are running a similar ad now in opposition to a way with Iraq.

I think it's ironic that they are doing so, when a primary reason to invade is to prevent Iraq from having nuclear weapons. Their ad seems to be oblvious to what's really going on. What's up with that? It seems so naive.

http://www.moveon.org/

http://newsobserver.com/24hour/nation/story/719787p-5279883c.html

Doug
Comment in NROMcAndrus
Jan 16, 2003 8:54 AM
Here's a comment from National Review this morning.

"Someone tell the anti-war movement that the 1960s are over and it's time to get a new idea. They're defrosting the old LBJ Daisy Ad. "

I think that says it for me.
Liberal BS anyway--she didn't REALLY die in an explosionretro
Jan 16, 2003 9:31 AM
She was an actress, and it was just campaign rhetoric. Sort of like "compassionate conservatism" or "environmental president."
Good point.Spoke Wrench
Jan 16, 2003 10:29 AM
It seems to me that presidential campaigns frequently hinge on one visual ad, like the Willy Horton revolving door. To me it's kind of spooky that these things, which are really irrevelant, can have so much to do whth who gets elected president. I guess I really think it's a credit to out Constitution that the country really can survive almost anybody in the white house for four years.
whaddya know, they found some warheads...DougSloan
Jan 16, 2003 10:48 AM
http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/meast/01/16/sproject.irq.wrap/index.html

Now what? What do the Saddam apologists have to say?

Doug
But they were empty...when is a warhead not a warhead? (nm)TJeanloz
Jan 16, 2003 10:54 AM
they can put stuff in them, and they were bannedDougSloan
Jan 16, 2003 10:58 AM
The point is that they were prohibited from having them, and they did not declare them. They are just playing games with this inspection routine. If they found these, imagine what else is there.

Doug
But Dougcarnageasada
Jan 16, 2003 9:04 PM
I agree with you the add does sound naive, I'll throw in the word assinine too. It reminds me why I don't have cable. The world will not be destroyed in a nuclear holocaust if we invade Iraq.

But I do think many horrible things will happen if there's a war, Americans will die, civilians, and legions of impovershied Iraqi draftees, most of whom would probably be all too happy to defect tomorrow if they could.

I agree with you that Saddam must be stopped but we're a part of the reason that Saddam must be stopped. That's what people like myself are upset about and you'll probably disagree with me here but I think when we became involved with a war thousands of miles away that was not really our business we kicked a hornet's nest. Or maybe the Gulf war was our business. Oil business. I've heard so many spins on the subject I can't tell truth from fiction: there's the story about Kuwait slant drilling into Iraq and stealing Iraqi oil, then there's the story that Hussein is a Hitler or a Milosevic who would have taken out Saudi Arabia and needed to be stopped. I don't know.

What I do know is that getting involved made us a focal point for idiot nutball terrorists like Bin Laden. Bin Laden was so disturbed he might have hit the US anyway but we gave him the perfect excuse.

Now where are we? We have to take care of business and we can't even afford to show the mercy we're showing right now. We should have already taken him out. It's like having beaten on the neighbor's pitbull for fighting with another dog and now it's snarling and eyeing your child. I don't blame people for protesting this situation.