RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


I need computer advice.(10 posts)

I need computer advice.Spoke Wrench
Nov 9, 2002 5:53 AM
Yahoo recently bought Prodigy and required me to switch to their software on my computer. After one day I absolutely HATE Yahoo. It's slower to connect, it has all sorts of irritating advertising pop-ups, it's disconnected me twice without warning, and it comes with all kinds of "enhanced" features that I don't care about.

My idea of a perfect ISP would be one whose name I forget. In other words, I just want it to do its job without calling attention to itself. I don't particularly want to "Yahoo," I just want to read my email.

Here's my question:
1. Am I being too retro-grouchy? I'll love Yahoo when I get used to it.
2. Am I lacking computer skills? There are easy ways to turn off the "turn offs."
3. Or should I dump Yahoo, with prejudice, and find an ISP that matches my personality better.
I went to cable last yearsn69
Nov 9, 2002 6:31 AM
after having my fill of Earthlink. I've been quite satisfied. The system has been hands free except when there's an entire regional interruption (happened twice during really bad weather). The tech who installed it was prompt, friendly and professional, and he took the time to teach me basic sys admin on our computer. He also scrubbed the computer free from all of the "proprietary" junk Earthlink affixed.

What's more, it's fast...very fast, and always on.
ditto on the cable...Spinchick
Nov 9, 2002 6:36 AM
however, now I'm so spoiled I'll never do dial-up again.
Not that it matters,mickey-mac
Nov 9, 2002 6:46 AM
but Yahoo didn't buy Prodigy. SBC Communications bought Prodigy but never really did anything with it. Last year, SBC and Yahoo entered an agreement whereby Yahoo will be the content provider for SBC, primarily with the intent of increasing DSL subscribers. Yahoo's site will direct those interested in DSL to SBC in territories where SBC service is available. Based on this agreement, Prodigy users have been or will be converted to SBC/Yahoo.

With that by way of background, I'd stick it out with Yahoo for a month or two to see if they work out the kinks. I'm sure others can direct you to software that will kill the pop-ups. We're using SBC/Pacific Bell (my employer) DSL and don't have problems with it. Prior to DSL's availability, we had a dial-up account through Earthlink. I though Earthlink was a pretty good ISP.
ThanksSpoke Wrench
Nov 9, 2002 1:53 PM
My son-in-law, who is an IT nerd, is going to come over and
delete all of the extraneous stuff from my software. I'll probably stick with Yahoo for the short term.

I'm thinking that in the longer term I will probably switch to cable for the internet when that becomes available and dump my telephones in favor of going wireless. Take that SBC!
Wirelessmickey-mac
Nov 9, 2002 5:08 PM
As long as you go with Cingular Wireless (60% SBC owned), you have my permission to give up your landlines. Otherwise, I'm not going to be able to approve the transaction. ;-)
Thank you.Spoke Wrench
Nov 9, 2002 5:14 PM
That's definitely the approval that I was seeking.
Cingular...Brooks
Nov 11, 2002 3:25 PM
As much advertising as I see from them, they sure don't have a lot of coverage. None at all here in Utah and very little in the rest of the Intermountain West.
I like EarthlinkColnagoFE
Nov 11, 2002 8:04 AM
Fairly reasonable $ and it seems to work fine most of the time.
first, this is coming from an IT nerd...JS Haiku Shop
Nov 13, 2002 11:37 AM
the fact that you're asking if you're retro-grouchy and wondering if you lack computer skills tells me that neither is true.

as i have limited experience with ISPs (remember, AOL/Prodigy weren't ISPs to start with, they were big BBSs before Gore invented the internet), take this with a grain of salt. (the reason i have limited experience is that i have service through work, historically, and that i have a roomful of technology at home, but intentionally no outside connection)...

my friends in tech support that have an outbound personal home connection have cable service. though there are complaints, there are complaints about everything. seems the cable "modem" (wrong!) deal is sweet as far as home connections go: fast, always on, and more trouble-free than most.

and yes, you're probably suffering from learning or familiarity curve, and will like whatever mail you're using now when you get used to it. that's the way it is.

-J (who lives in a 6x6 carpeted box all day surrounded by computers)