RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


How do you stop spam?(9 posts)

How do you stop spam?rtyszko
Oct 7, 2002 8:28 AM
I need to do something about the amount of spam that I get. It's unreal. I use Hotmail which allows me to only apply a limited number of filters to my mail. I can use Outlook and pop off of Hotmail but that isn't any better. What are you all using? I went to cnet.com and found this.

http://download.com.com/3000-2144-10153540.html?tag=lst-0-5

but I have not used it yet. It looks like p2p sort of thing which is interesting given that perhaps if enough folks are part of the sharing group then spam could be significantly reduced.

I'll be downloading it tonight unless you have other thougts and/or favorite programs.

BT
You can't stop that delicious canned meat. Don't try (n)ColnagoFE
Oct 7, 2002 9:25 AM
LOL (nm)empacher6seat
Oct 7, 2002 12:02 PM
more tipsDougSloan
Oct 7, 2002 10:32 AM
http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/answerstips/story/0,24330,3401716,00.html

http://www.langa.com/newsletters/2002/2002-09-26.htm#7
The only way to stop SPAM is before it startsKristin
Oct 7, 2002 12:24 PM
I have to teach this to all of my users. Heres the hard truth...once your email address gets into mailing list, it will multiply. Mailing lists breed like crazy. If you are already getting SPAMmed, the only sure fire way to stop it is to change your email address. If that is not an option, there isn't anything at all you can do to get your name off of the lists that already exist. These mass marketing people are mostly unscrupulous. Here are some tips to keep your name out of future email lists:

1. NEVER, EVER click thru an unsubscribe link.

Unsubscribe is a form of email list sex--and it reproduces like gerbels. It verifies to the mailing list generator that not only is this a valid address, but there is also a warm body on the other end. Practice safe SPAM, never unsubscribe.

2. Share your personal & work email addresses cautiously.

And NEVER share them with anyone you don't know. I've had many a friend unwittingly offer my email address out to companies. (Have you seen that "SomeoneLikesYou" site?) Now, when I share my personal address with a friend, it comes with a disclaimer---DON'T GIVE THIS ADDRESS TO ANYONE OR PAY THE CONSEQUENCE...which lies somewhere between treating me to dinner and death. Depends on how bad I get spammed.

3. Set up a SPAM account.

We all know that to register for online services, you are often required to input an email address. I set up an account on Hotmail with this purpose only. Let them SPAM away. I only log into that account every 30 days to keep it active. (Make sure to record the password, I forgot it on the first two accounts I created.)

4. Set up your own email network.

Okay, so its not very practicle; but as a Notes administrator, you'd be amazed at how much control I have over SPAM. Still, I find that disabling my address for several weeks goes further than anything else to stop SPAM.
Although, there is another creative option...Kristin
Oct 7, 2002 12:40 PM
Geez, I'm brilliant! Why didn't I think of this before?? You can basically pretend that your email address is no longer valid; but it will require some work on your end. When you receive a message from a spammer--assuming the address it is coming from is valid--respond to it with an handmade undeliverable message. Here is a sample below from an undeliverable generated by my network. (I've replaced personal company data with "xxxxx" in this case to preserve my own annonimity.)

In the subject field type UNDELIVERABLE: followed by the original subject text

In the body add:

Your message

To: youremailaddress@yourdomainname.xxx
Subject: This is a SPAM Message
Sent: Mon, 7 Oct 2002 15:35:03 -0500

did not reach the following recipient(s):

youremailaddresshere@yourdomainname.xxx on Mon, 7 Oct 2002 15:35:09 -0500
The recipient name is not recognized
The MTS-ID of the original message is: c=xx;a=xx
;p=xxxxxxxxx;l=EXPRDML010210072035TYJQ6BAW
MSEXCH:IMS:xxxxxxxxxxx:EXPRDMAIL:EXPRDML01 0 (000C05A6) Unknown
Recipient
Oops, explaination of why fake undeliverables workKristin
Oct 7, 2002 12:43 PM
This works in instances of SPAM where the list builder/manager software compares undeliverable messages to the list. But companies running less sophisticated software, you can't do much. They will keep generating messages to all the addresses on their list, regardless of whether or not the address is valid.
Real Time Black Hole can be somewhat effective...jose_Tex_mex
Oct 7, 2002 12:53 PM
IF you have a persistent SPAMVERTISER or can trace the SPAMMER back to a particular domain name you may have some luck in convincing them to cease SPAMMING. As for the SPAM by night people - we are all just SOL.

Try finding out the admin people for the domain name by going to nsi.com or use arin.net to lookup the IP address. Next follow the directions given by mail.org (I think) in nominating a candidate for the real time black hole. Persistent spammers can find their domain name no longer links to their IP.

By using arin.net you can complain to the upstream provider of the offender which is better than emailing the SPAMMERS and giving them your email.

It has helped a bit, but as your advice if far better.
If there weren't so many relays availableKristin
Oct 7, 2002 1:20 PM
Mail relay is the real problem here. If administrators would just lock down their networks better, spammers couldn't bounce mail off of borrowed domain names--forcing them to take a true identity. But there are too many small shops and free ISP's that don't or won't secure their networks. Its frustrating.