RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


So this is where you all hide!(17 posts)

So this is where you all hide!rtyszko
Sep 19, 2002 12:12 PM
So there I am really bored at work and I decide to see what else roadbikereview.com "Discussions" section has to offer. And all the posters from the "Component" and "General" sections are here too! One question. Do opinions expressed here carry over (in any negative way) to the other boards? I mean, if I decide to partake in this board and I have disagreements with some of you, will you then purposely give me incorrect advice on other boards? Like tell me the wrong type of bar tape to get?

Just kidding. I guess now I'll have to tune into this board too. Weeeeeeeeeeee. More ways to kill time at work.

BT
When you've been around long enough,TJeanloz
Sep 19, 2002 12:23 PM
When you've seen one too many Campy vs. Shimano thread, the Non-cycling board is a pleasant refuge. It's the only place that consistantly new things get kicked around. If only there were this much to talk about that was cycling related...
tho it's often just the same religion and politics rehash-nmColnagoFE
Sep 23, 2002 7:21 AM
Its the "Whats the best frame material?" thread that gets me...OutWest
Sep 19, 2002 5:07 PM
...I couldn't handle reading one of those ever again. I only get a bit of time to go online each day, unlike some people, so I ignore that crap. I also always miss the daily discussions until they have died off. Welcome.
"Poster's Gallery of Gods"rtyszko
Sep 20, 2002 5:23 AM
Being practically obsessed with cycling (although I'm really just an average rider Cat 4-5) I love these boards. I kicked around this website for 2-3 years before clicking here! What was I waiting for? Don't know. There isn't some disclaimer or secret code that I need to know before I post here in the land of the "Poster's Gallery of Gods" is there?

Bob Tyszko
secret handshakeDougSloan
Sep 20, 2002 5:50 AM
The secret to surviving here is be a bit thick skinned, don't do personal attacks, and remember that you don't *have* to respond to every single remark, even the ones attacking you. It's difficult sometimes, though.

After a while, though, it becomes fairly predictable after you get to know people. We have the wingers from all sides who seem to be fairly entrenched in their views, and I doubt there's much convincing going on. Just come here to practice arguments to use on your friends in "real life." ;-)

Doug
Whose side are you on?scottfree
Sep 20, 2002 6:07 AM
No middle of the road allowed here, when it comes to politics. You gotta be a right wing crazy or a left wing nut. I'd be happy to show you around the left wing fraternity here, we have some nice accomodations if you'd like to pledge our house. Sex, drugs, rock and roll, man.
actually, 3 sidesDougSloan
Sep 20, 2002 6:15 AM
There are three sides, here, but two of them get mistakenly lumped together.

1. Left wing totalitarians (conform to my world view/the government will take care of everything)

2. Right wing totalitarians (conform to my world view/the government will take care of some things for you)

3. Libertarians (anti-totalitarian by definition -- you're free to screw up your own life, the government is only here to keep the game somewhat fair)

Doug
nah, no totalitarians here, from any wing; haven'tscottfree
Sep 20, 2002 6:38 AM
seen any Pol Pots or Hitlers lurking.

It could break down THIS way, though:

Government is evil. Especially when it has the nerve to tax me. I don't want any damn government at all.

Government is neither good nor evil, it is US, and we make it what it is.

Government is evil, unless it's cracking down on people and things I don't like, then it's good.

I'm sure others would break it down differently.
you forgot...Spinchick
Sep 20, 2002 1:56 PM
the apolitical group who is completely bored with the whole topic of politics.
oopsDougSloan
Sep 20, 2002 2:37 PM
You don't count. ;-)

We can return to the sock thread.

I'll end the day with this wee bit of commentary on the political question of the day: Confucious say, "War not determine who right. War determine who left."

Doug
But what if you're a Right Wing Nut?Kristin
Sep 20, 2002 6:40 AM
Geez, I was thought I was getting past my identity crisis.
Now, now Kristin, let's not devolve intoscottfree
Sep 20, 2002 7:04 AM
subtlety here.
Whose side are you on?BikeViking
Sep 20, 2002 9:33 AM
Would those "accomodations" be funded by money STOLEN from hardworking taxpayers by the Federales? LoL
Naw, 'recovered.' Kinda like oil and coal are 'recovered.'scottfree
Sep 20, 2002 9:35 AM
Didn't know we lost 'em. nmBrooks
Sep 20, 2002 2:00 PM
Oh Lord! What have I done. Is there any way out? nmrtyszko
Sep 21, 2002 6:19 AM