RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Norman Mailer on plastic, technology, 9/11, Islam and the(21 posts)

Norman Mailer on plastic, technology, 9/11, Islam and thescottfree
Sep 17, 2002 10:25 AM
end of the world.

http://www.counterpunch.org/pipermail/counterpunch-list/2002-September/022467.html
Wow, Some times Mailer pulls his head outSintesi
Sep 17, 2002 11:59 AM
and kicks a little a$$ now and again. Good stuff, print part II as well.
He really nailed it this time! (nm)Jon Billheimer
Sep 17, 2002 1:32 PM
Right, Part II: Bush & totalitarianismscottfree
Sep 18, 2002 5:46 AM
Is there supposed to be a link here? nmSintesi
Sep 18, 2002 11:23 AM
Oh I see, here it is, never mind.Sintesi
Sep 18, 2002 11:25 AM
http://www.counterpunch.org/pipermail/counterpunch-list/2002-September/022469.html
Mailer on...Jon Billheimer
Sep 18, 2002 1:14 PM
patriotism, democracy, and totalitarianism is at his best. Someone should send this interview to GWB and John Ashcroft...not that they'd understand any of it, since it didn't come with pictures!
Shoot, I was hoping the board's right wingers wouldscottfree
Sep 19, 2002 5:07 AM
critique this!
Ashcroft bashingDougSloan
Sep 19, 2002 6:24 AM
Implying that Ashcroft is stupid shows the writer's ignorance; my money says anyone who graduated from Yale with honors is certainly not stupid. One may well disagree with his beliefs, but implying he's stupid is completely inappropriate.

Doug
HA HA HA. I'll tell Norman Doug Sloan says he's ignorant!scottfree
Sep 19, 2002 7:04 AM
I think that would be a mis-quote,TJeanloz
Sep 19, 2002 7:08 AM
Doug merely said that calling somebody stupid on the basis of their beliefs was inappropriate - not that the person doing the name-calling was ignorant.
If Mailer called Ashcroft stupid, it's because hescottfree
Sep 19, 2002 7:17 AM
thinks he's stupid. But I will make the distinction and tell our most distinguished living writer that Doug Sloan and Ted Jeanloz think his comments are 'inappropriate.' HA HA HA HA HA!
WHere DOES he impute stupidity to Ashcroft, by the way?scottfree
Sep 19, 2002 7:25 AM
Can't find that for the life of me. He seems to impute a certain lack of intelligence to George Bush, but I can't find the Ashcroft passage.
I was just checking, and I don't think he does...TJeanloz
Sep 19, 2002 7:27 AM
I believe Doug was responding to an above poster- not to Mailer, who's defense you came to.

Mr. Mailer doesn't call anybody dumb, stupid or ignorant in either of the links.
right, it was thisDougSloan
Sep 19, 2002 7:32 AM
"Someone should send this interview to GWB and John Ashcroft...not that they'd understand any of it, since it didn't come with pictures!"

Doesn't that imply they are stupid?

I don't concede that GWB is stupid, either, but I just don't have a reliable credential of his handy, and I know Ashcroft personally, and can verify he's certainly not stupid.

Doug
I don't understand his denial that Bush is a laughing stockKristin
Sep 19, 2002 8:48 AM
American's don't think Bush is a laughing stock? My impression is that 90% of them do. At least 90% of the people I encounter. Personally, I think he's commical, and I voted for him. My opinion of the man, with his mannerisms and attitudes, has plumitted. I'm not sure I'd like Bore handling this situation any better; but at least he could make a reasonably coherant statement from his own thoughts without snorting and pulling at his waist band ten times. Watching Bush give a speech is only slightly less painful than watching Svengoolie. I get the impression that not many people like Bush at this stage of the game. I'm ready for the next election.
respectfully disagreeDougSloan
Sep 19, 2002 9:05 AM
I think a vocal minority of people, egged on by Saturday Night Live, might think he's a "laughing stock."

Bush certainly is not polished, suave, or articulate. Many other presidents and leaders have been. But, I do see him as genuine, sincere, honest, and a man of integrity. He speaks plainly, and tells you what he thinks. He does not spin every idea nor split hairs about what the definitions of simple words are. He is moral and principled.

I'll take an unpolished, plain spoken, inarticulate, but genuinely good person over a polished, self-centered, amoral, liar any day. I not only like Bush, I wish there were far more politicians just like him.

I don't embrace form over substance.

Doug
If by polished, self-centered, amoral liar you meanscottfree
Sep 19, 2002 9:12 AM
Clinton, I'd rather have Clinton. If by polished, self-centered, amoral liar you mean Reagan, well, I might take Bush. I guess it depends on WHO the polished, self-centered, amoral liar is. Can't just dismiss polished, self-centered, amoral liars out of hand when it comes to political leadership.
my responseDougSloan
Sep 19, 2002 9:58 AM
Ho, ho, I believe you could get a Bush Cabinet job!scottfree
Sep 19, 2002 10:31 AM
hoo...that one's a bit hard for me to digestColnagoFE
Sep 19, 2002 9:30 AM
I'll admit not being the biggest Dubya fan as a bias, but where do you get your conclusion that he "sincere", "honest" or is a "man of integrity", even "a genuinely good person". Seems that unless you have known him personally for years this would be just hearsay or wishful thinking on your part (are you starting to listen to too much Rush L?). Might be true or it might be part of a cleverly concocted media image (think Ronald Reagan). Coupla facts though--He admits (after first lying about it--under oath even as I recall) to having done cocaine and marijuana as a "youthful indescretion" and later lobbies to toughen drug laws that would have put him in jail back for the same thing back then. He's also been convicted of drunk driving--hardly a character bulding trait in my opinion to endanger people's lives by getting behind the wheel after drinking too much. Not very good judgement I'd say and this is the person with his hands on the atomic codes.