RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


One good thing from 9-11...(13 posts)

One good thing from 9-11...jose_Tex_mex
Sep 10, 2002 4:27 PM
Feel free to add more...

Perhaps, it's me trying to look for a silver lining in every cloud. However, I did remark one good thing about 9-11. Despite the best efforts of a few to unleash their worst on the United States, our reaction was a show of our best.

That day I saw black people, white people, hispanic people, Christians, Jews, Muslims, and all acting together and helping one another in a way that perfectly displayed the best the US has to offer.

Sometimes meeting the very worst with your very best is all you can do and all you need to do.

God Bless America.
don't know another way to say itDougSloan
Sep 11, 2002 5:40 AM
a normal summer morning
rocked by horror
what has happened?

evil does exist
no other explanation
are people this bad?

loss of life overwhelming
others die trying to save them
are people this good?

is God really great?
is God really good?
faith shaken

images branded on brain
will never forget
tried many times

do some blame the victims?
could have been avoided?
confused, emotional, angry

some band together
some withdraw
some wander

stars and stripes
red, white, and blue
please bless America

time heals
wounds very deep
media tears off scab

life is different now
evil is around us
innocence lost

life is different now
hope is born
innocence found
Bravo! nmLen J
Sep 11, 2002 6:41 AM
;-) nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 11, 2002 7:01 AM
thanks, but <:-|DougSloan
Sep 11, 2002 8:42 AM
I know this isn't good ku. More of a stream of consciousness thing. Working on the artistic part of it by studying some or your ku and elsewhere on the internet. Gotta develop a feel for it, it seems.

Doug
don't know that any form was required here...JS Haiku Shop
Sep 11, 2002 9:42 AM
it was obvious that you weren't going for form, just function. good yob.
BTW...DougSloan
Sep 11, 2002 10:00 AM
Here's my inspiration for everything these days -- Luke

You have any to share?

Doug
wow, you're really a glutton, eh?JS Haiku Shop
Sep 11, 2002 10:12 AM
remind me of your e-mail address.

cat5tattoo@yahoo.com
I'd rather celebrate life (vs. the big media circus today)DougSloan
Sep 11, 2002 11:45 AM
douglassloan@yahoo.com
Not bad, not bad at all. nmSintesi
Sep 11, 2002 7:07 AM
Nicely said. Thanks! (nm)Kristin
Sep 11, 2002 7:20 AM
Good things... Opportunities exist at every turnKristin
Sep 11, 2002 7:42 AM
If we choose, we will grow. Certainly regardless, we will be changed. What we become will depend on how we respond. Stronger...weaker...better...worse...kinder...meaner...or indifferent. How we choose to respond will also mold our next generation. How will our children learn to view this world? What will the believe in? Value? Revere? Love? Hate?

One valuable lesson I've learned this last year: I've learned that freedom isn't free. And it was never meant to be free. This nation must choose again, will we continue to pay the cost of freedom, or will we trade it for something else? Like any other choice, there is no right or wrong answer, only consequences. Lets weigh them carefully.

This year I have also seen portions of my faith tumbled. This has been a positive experience for me. As I sit here today, I do not cling so tightly to the absolute moralism I once embraced. While I also do not embrace relitavism, I realize that there is much more moral grey matter than I once believed. Osama was sucessful in driving his point home to me. He was hanously and unmistakably wrong in his method; but I have fought within myself to not miss the point--which might possess some validity. I believe the point was that the West doesn't necessarily know best and shouldn't necessarily apply its opinions and ideas to the entire world.
A new birth of freedom . . .ms
Sep 11, 2002 8:20 AM
The end of Lincoln's Gettysburg Address best sums up my feelings today:

that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain; that this nation shall have a new birth of freedom; and that this government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.