RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


How Many Out There Are Hoping For A Baseball Strike?(14 posts)

How Many Out There Are Hoping For A Baseball Strike?jose_Tex_mex
Aug 29, 2002 12:51 PM
If it weren't for the numerous people who rely on minimum wage seasonal work I would be all for a strike. IMHO, to the baseball fans it doesn't matter - they'll be back no matter what anyone says.

During the last strike more kids became interested in alternate sports such as soccer. Hopefully, if there is a strike we'll get some young ones interested in cycling.
Get those Expos v. Pirates highlights off of SportscenterAlex-in-Evanston
Aug 29, 2002 1:00 PM
Bring on the football season.

Alex
I wish B-ball would just go away period! (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 29, 2002 1:38 PM
Who cares? Football is king.RoyGBiv
Aug 29, 2002 2:19 PM
And college football starts this weekend, doesn't it? And the NFL next week.
I can hardly wait to circle all the underdogs in the pool at the local pub. Maybe win enough to buy a new helmet..
Good point about getting youngsters interested in cycling, although, in the north at least, it might be a bit late in the season.
Brian C.
Who cares? Go ride your bike.DougSloan
Aug 29, 2002 7:09 PM
Don't sit on your butt and watch someone else doing something. That could be time you are riding. A baseball strike will likely cause the country's average body weight to drop a couple of pounds.

Doug
Who cares? Go ride your bike.rbb
Aug 30, 2002 6:53 AM
Gotta agree with Doug!! Football is just as bad as baseball. Go ride!
Just my opinion. Sorry if you don't agree.

-Bob
Isn't baseball great?Sintesi
Aug 30, 2002 4:51 AM
For NY and Atlanta. For everyone else it usually sucks.
Hence the reason for the strikePaulCL
Aug 30, 2002 5:08 AM
Ny and Atlanta: rich teams. My Cincinnati Reds: poor team, small market.

I like taking my kids to ball games a couple of times per year. They have a blast. Otherwise, let'em strike. Greedy bastards (both sides).

We have a new minor league team forming in our area. The stadium (6000 seat) will be five miles from me. I'll go to those games, but screw the major leaguers.

Average WEEKLY salary of major league baseball player: $48,000 so, why are they on strike??
Isn't baseball great?mr_spin
Aug 30, 2002 7:09 AM
I don't really follow baseball anymore, but I do read the sports page....

Maybe your vision doesn't extend beyond the East Coast, but Oakland (it's in California, on the other side of the country) seems to be doing pretty well. Equal to NY and Atlanta but with the second smallest payroll in the league. It's been that way for a couple of years, so they must be doing something right. Why can't the other teams figure out what it is? Because it's easier to bitch than it is to do work.

By the way, Arizona (a state next to California), the current World Series champion, is doing better than NY, Atlanta, and Oakland, and they're a small market team.

How does the saying go? It's not about the bike? The formula is simple. Play good ball, fans will come, money will be made. In the alternative, play mediocre ball, provide a fun stadium atmosphere at low prices, money will be made. A lot of minor league teams actually make money, even with a constantly rotating cast of characters.
I don't know anything about baseball.Sintesi
Aug 30, 2002 7:44 AM
I couldn't name half the teams in MLB and my vision doesn't usually extend much past my stomach ; ), but it does seem pretty freakin lopsided.

The best thing about pro football right now is the lack of true dynasties or one conference consistently smoking the other like the NFC used to do the AFC (home of my beloved Broncos) in the 80's and early 90's.

Didn't the Yankees go to the World Series the last four years straight? Baseball always seemed like a joke to me, they go on strike every freakin time their contracts are up.

Hey! I'm just an a-hole with an almost valueless opinion in this arena, I admit it. Please disregard my ramblings.

Thank you, thank you very much.
The reached an agreement. I was hoping for a strike (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 30, 2002 8:45 AM
People still play that?firstrax
Aug 30, 2002 7:31 PM
re: How Many Out There Are Hoping For A Baseball Strike?clintb
Aug 31, 2002 7:21 PM
And a football strike
and a basketball strike
and a boxing strike
and a (insert other mindless sport here) strike

Yeah, sorry if I piss anyone off, but I think all of these sports are just too big for their britches. Buncha whiney babies the lot.
Go TWINS!filtersweep
Sep 1, 2002 3:11 PM
OK- I haven't really followed baseball much since that strike in the 70s ruined my naivete...

...however the local team (Twins), which has been threatened by contraction.... which has one of the SMALLEST payrolls in the league... which even has a new manager- and it is WAY ahead in the division.

I just want to see Selig eat some crow and present a division trophy to the team he tried to KILL.

The Twins actually make a profit- small as it is, in a day where team owners literally borrow MILLIONS to make payroll.

I'm pulling for the little guy on this one.

Baseball is a dying sport in this ATTENTION-DEFICIT era... a game of slowly evolving theater in a world that demands instant spectacle. A strike could be the final nail in the coffin. I wouldn't lose any sleep, but I don't want the Twins deprived of their chance to pull off a miracle.