RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Looks like I'm destined to drive a minivan - need opinions..(22 posts)

Looks like I'm destined to drive a minivan - need opinions..Spinchick
Aug 9, 2002 11:49 AM
Have the patience for yet another auto poll? I know I said I'd never do it (own a minivan), but getting two kids in and out of the car is becoming a major pain in the a$$. So, we're thinking about the Mazda MPV 2000 or newer. Anyone own one of these or another you can praise highly?
I like the Honda Odyssey but they are mega $$$.

TIA
Best ever...Matno
Aug 9, 2002 12:01 PM
If you want lots of room, but not a big van, you can't beat Volkswagen. I've got an old Vanagon that I love, but if you've got a little more $$ then the newer Eurovans are awesome. I don't know what the big beef is against minivans. For most of us, they are a fantastic option. (Especially if you have kids and/or more than 2 friends!) My Vanagon has just about everything: good mileage (21+), TONS of room, small "footprint" (about the same size as a Subaru Legacy and not much different from a Jetta, believe it or not!), on of the best all wheel drive systems ever made, and you're nice and high so you can see well (a huge plus in my book). It may not be a sports car, but it's surprisingly zippy. I love it. (So does Marla Streb - there's an article in the most recent issue of Mountain Bike about it).
Dark tint windows, park down the street, and only leave/return..js5280
Aug 9, 2002 1:02 PM
between 3am and 4:30am. That should solve the problem :-)

I think Spinchick and the Spinchicklings can pull off cool even in a mini-van ;-) Make sure to get personalized plates!
Am I that transparent? ;-) nmSpinchick
Aug 10, 2002 5:27 AM
If I recall, you wanted a truckIAM
Aug 9, 2002 9:44 PM
I'd seriously look at one of the small or midsize 4 door pick-ups. Dodge and Nissan both make one that are real nice. I think the dodge is a little bigger but the nissan is way cool looking. Throw a cap or tonneau cover on it and all your crap stays dry and safe, real easy to load the kids in and you won't have a midlife crisis every time you pull out of your driveway.
midlife crisis - lol...Spinchick
Aug 10, 2002 5:26 AM
Actually, we already have a truck. That's what we're going to get rid of to aquire the new vehicle. But thanks for the ideas.
We are very happy with our Chevy VentureMB1
Aug 10, 2002 3:58 PM
Although why a 7 passenger van needs 17 cup holders is a mystery.

You might want to see what kind of deals are out there for a new 2002 van now that the 2003's are hitting the lots. 0% financing can really lower your cost.

Vans are cool (did you ever see "Get Shorty" ?).
Even though they are evil...empacher6seat
Aug 10, 2002 5:58 PM
have you looked into an SUV? Something like a Jimmy or an Explorer have plenty of room and are really nice vehicles!
Its all about customizingfirstrax
Aug 10, 2002 6:59 PM
No likes driving vans but their so damn handy.
Try custom paint to make it fun.
If I ever see one of these for sale, its mine.
If I got oneDougSloan
Aug 11, 2002 12:25 PM
If it were me, I'd get a Honda. They are really nice. Maybe find one a couple years old? The look pretty slick, and 240 hp!

Just don't get a Chrysler with fake wood on the side. It says, "I have no life whatsoever; I just gave up (and for a guy, "yes, I have been castrated")." My parents had one for a few years. They are not cheap, either.

What about station wagons?

Doug
Have a station wagon & a light p/u truck.Spinchick
Aug 11, 2002 3:53 PM
The Honda's are nice but hard to find used. Very popular these days.
Have a station wagon & a light p/u truck.firstrax
Aug 11, 2002 8:08 PM
And someone forgot to tell the Honda people that cars depreciate as they get older.
Have a station wagon & a light p/u truck.Ironbutt
Aug 12, 2002 8:01 AM
Spinchick- Get the minivan. My wife and I have TWO of the darn things, and simply think that they are the most practical vehicles for us even though we are well into middle age with no children. They make awesome people/thing/bike/stuff transporters. Both get about 20mpg around town and 25-27 on the road. Much more economical to operate than a full sized SUV. More stable on the road, easier entrance and exit, generally the way to go for us, at least.
Have a station wagon & a light p/u truck.Spinchick
Aug 12, 2002 8:59 AM
Yeah, I guess I'm sold. I really need the passenger room and the room to manuever around inside as well. I think an SUV would have about the same cargo and passenger space as I have with the Volvo wagon. Plus, I can take out the rear seat to make room for the bikes.
what about an SUV?ColnagoFE
Aug 12, 2002 9:21 AM
Just kidding, though our '02 Explorer works well for our family and I enjoy driving it (and yes offroad too once in a while!).
How 'bout a Pontiac Aztec?Starliner
Aug 11, 2002 10:24 PM
They are built on the Pontiac Montana/Chevy Venture minivan chassis. Very distinctive looking, sure to turn heads. An added bonus is that they are low on car thieves' lists. Dealers are trying to unload them so you ought to get a good deal on one compared to the Hondas which are expensive as you noted.
AHHHH...not an Aztek!ColnagoFE
Aug 12, 2002 9:23 AM
De Gustibus Non Est Disputandem I guess, but these things (as well as the Chevy Avalanche) look like they've been beaten with an ugly stick! (no offense)
But it's really versatileStarliner
Aug 13, 2002 12:08 AM
The Aztek owner can pretend it's an SUV to impress some of their neighbors and fellow churchgoers on Sunday, and then claim it's a minivan to any anti-SUV types they run into. I am hard pressed to name another vehicle that can offer that kind of versatility.

Plus, it's American, even though it looks Russian.
don't they have a pop out camper on the back too? (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 13, 2002 7:12 AM
I'd get a Suburban, but its the state car of Texas.MXL02
Aug 12, 2002 12:02 PM
It is a truck and a minivan. They are indestructible. If you find it too big, get the Tahoe. I've had my suburban for 6 years. It is the best vehicle I have ever owned. And the price is great also. And if you break down in Podunk, USA, it's easier to find someone to fix it.
re: Looks like I'm destined to drive a minivan - need opinions..King Henry
Aug 12, 2002 3:40 PM
I've got to put in a plug for the Toyota Sienna. We went with the Sienna (a 2000 model) largely because it came with leather, while the Odyssey at the time did not. It's not a snob thing; it's all about keeping the damn thing clean and as odor-free as possible. I think Odysseys now are available with leather, so that isn't a factor any more, but we have been very happy with our Sienna. It is only slightly smaller than the Honda but I think it rides a little better. On the other hand, I sure like the hideaway rear seats in the Honda. For comparison purposes, though, you should check whether you must store both back seats in the well or whether you can do one at a time. Maybe it's just us, but we find ourselves frequesntly using one rear seat, so I am not sure whether the Odyssey's key feature would benefit us very much.
re: Looks like I'm destined to drive a minivan - need opinions..rbb
Aug 13, 2002 10:42 AM
I'd go with a Volkswagen! Either an older('84 and later) Vanagon or a newer Eurovan. I used to have a '84 Vanangon but traded it in for my Jetta glx in 1998 and have always been wanting another. Check the room you can get with them- it's unbelievable!!! My brother recently purchased a Windstar for the family and I was surprised at the little room it had compared to my old van or the newer ones. I'm thinking of actually buying an old one again to use as my "race transportation". Not too sure how safe these Vanagons are, so i'd say if the family is going in it- check out the newer models.
-Bob