RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


AAARGH! Help with fashion statement = busted collarbone(17 posts)

AAARGH! Help with fashion statement = busted collarbonelonefrontranger
Jul 23, 2002 5:29 PM
As in WTF am I supposed to wear to work?! Baggy t-shirts are doing the job for now, but I plan to crawl in tomorrow and dont know how I'll manage.

To add insult to injury, I'm right handed, and broke the right CB.

Ladies? Anyone?
re: AAARGH! Help with fashion statement = busted collarbonecp123
Jul 23, 2002 11:05 PM
hi lfr - a friend of mine (and ex housemate) crashed biiig time on a cross country course on her horse a few years ago. He basically fell and rolled across the top of her. Broke BOTH of her collarbones and cricked her neck a beauty. Her right cb was busted into 3 pieces but the hospital said it would be preferable to let them knit naturally. The xray looked like pieces of bead that you should thread onto a string. She was kept in for a few days before she came home and even then she was pretty useless. One arm was totally bandaged down her side and the other was bound outside that.

She had foam "rings" around her shoulders and we had to stand behind her at least twice a day and pull them back towards each other so that she wouldn't heal in the hunchback position. She'd quiver and tremble and go "sh*t, sh*t, sh*t then AAAARGH" when it all got too much. but we had to do it.

She couldn't feed herself. She couldn't clean her teeth. She couldn't wipe her own bum. After another week at home she could move one arm from the elbow down. We rigged up the ironing board as her dining table so when she sat on a chair, the food was at mouth height. we taped her toothbrush to a long stick so she could at least stick it in her mouth and move her head around, rather than her arms. Toilet and showering - well, we just all had to chip in and take turns. I will forever be grateful for 2 handedness and mobility.

We ended up turning her bed around so the bedhead was at the feet side. she was meant to stay propped up on pillows but gradually kept on slipping down. at least when her feet got to the head bit, she could push herself back up.

clothes wise, we went out and bought size super huge t-shirts and just pulled them down over her like a sack. getting arms through sleeves was out for about a month. I have never had to dress another person older than 3 before. from socks to undies to tops.

Apart from being lumpy looking in the shoulders and with very permanently dropped shoulders she has recovered and gone from strength to strength. she was always athletic but in doing strength training for recovery, she took up throwing events - eg javelin, discuss etc. She has now a number of australian records in the masters 35-40 year age group.

What is my point here - I guess i don't really know now. go the baggy t-shirt, plus a cardigan - work should at least be sympathetic before they give you curry. At least until you can get yourself into more regular work clothes.

good luck and cheer up. it could have been a lot worse!

claire
omg, this has GOT to be the horror story of the month. nmweiwentg
Jul 24, 2002 4:11 AM
what happened? crit crash? (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 24, 2002 6:22 AM
the whole sordid tale is on the Racing boardlonefrontranger
Jul 24, 2002 6:47 AM
yes, a crit crash. I'd explain here, but one-handed typing is too frustrating.
that sucks!ColnagoFE
Jul 24, 2002 7:54 AM
Recover quickly! Did you race womens 1/2? I left during the middle of the men pro 1/2 so i musta missed that crash. i was actually pretty suprised there wasn't more carnage--especially the mens cat 4!

by "death corner" i assume you mean right after the start where there is a sharp right that funnels into one lane through the corner? seems like everyone crashes there. pretty technical crit overall from what i can tell.
Yes, my 2nd race in the elite women'slonefrontranger
Jul 24, 2002 1:02 PM
The part that really sucks is that we were down to maybe 15 minutes left and I had made the "selection" as it were; there were about 8 riders left in the front group, 1 off the front, but the crash boils down to the fact that I was just riding beyond my ability, period. Thank heaven I didn't take anyone else out is all I can say.

The "death zone" everyone referred to was actually Corner #2 - Niwot to Franklin, the 1st half of the "chicane". There were bunches of crashes there; at least 2 in my race that I know of.
when i did mineDougSloan
Jul 24, 2002 6:59 AM
When I broke mine (a year after separating the same shoulder), I was just using a sling that I put on and removed at will. I'd just dress normally and then put it on. I only used that for about a week. My orthopod said that healing is the same whether you use the figure 8 thing, a sling, or nothing at all, as long as you don't re-injure it. The sling was for comfort.

Flexoril. Good stuff.

Doug
re: AAARGH! Help with fashion statement = busted collarboneSpinchick
Jul 24, 2002 9:59 AM
Geez, Beth...you break your collarbone and you're worried about what you're going to wear? Good thing you've got your priorities in order ;-). I think I'd be more worried about how many percosets I had left.

BTW, I've got some lovely (smirk) maternity tops that will fit nicely over a sling.

Speedy recovery...
don't tempt me...lonefrontranger
Jul 24, 2002 11:07 AM
I'm sure your maternity tops would be a better fashion statement than my boyfriend's Hawaiian shirt (which is what I'm currently wearing).

BTW, I never even saw the birth announcement - CONGRATS. Oh, yeah, you're right - Percoset is a wonderful drug %-)
percocet makes watching daytime tv tolerable (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 24, 2002 11:48 AM
I am so sorry this happened to youAllisonHayes
Jul 24, 2002 5:05 PM
I remember reading your post about how you have this "sixth sense" or awareness and "things" slow down. It was poetical and magical. I guess it can happen to the best of us.

And to make it worse, you can only type with one hand. We should only ask you binary questions to make it easier for you to respond.

Basic fashion (all you need to do is use different color combinations)

i Cardigan sweaters until the pain subsides.
i Stretch pants if you wear them

I hope your recovery goes well and that you will be back as strong as ever.

Allison (I think Gregg needs to start a separate forum for the infirmed: You, elefantino, weiwentg, Juanmoretime, LC, QUiTSPiNiNArOuND, rtolle, nick, slow-ron)
LFR, how badly damaged is your collarbone?weiwentg
Jul 24, 2002 11:23 PM
it was only broken in one place, right?
yes, just one breaklonefrontranger
Jul 25, 2002 6:14 AM
clean thru in the center, and 1.5 cm displacement. So we're doing the "figure-eight dance" nightly; similar to what claire described. SO hauls and I squirm around and cuss a lot; he "are you sure you're OK? and I "TIGHTER, dammit!". This is to minimise the displacement and reduce the fracture, so they tell me. They didn't set it in the hosp.

The figure eight provides an amazing amount of support - so much so that I got all ambitious and decided this AM that I felt well enough to take a stand-up shower, and took it off...

AAAAARRRRGH!!! ...so much for that idea. The SO discovered me trembling and weeping in the bottom of the tub.
still ouchweiwentg
Jul 25, 2002 7:37 AM
well, mine was a double break plus lots of splinters... I was back on the bike in 5 weeks because I got operated on by a very good surgeon.
here's to your speedy recovery. hope you can at least get back on your trainer soon (not too soon, got to let the body recover from the shock). I'm really sorry this happened to you, but at least the race season is kind of closing. you'll kick their butts next year :)
The LoneFrontRanger Rides Again!AllisonHayes
Jul 25, 2002 10:22 AM
"The Lone Front Ranger! "Hi Yo Yo Go Go!"

A fiery bike with the speed of light, a cloud of dust and a hearty "Hi Yo Yo--Oh No - Crunch!" Oh no, a broken collarbone. They carted her away!

When asked, she said that her usual crash avoidance capability failed her this time. As she has described it before, it is "a weird phenomenon I call the Fourth Dimension, which is a radical time-expansion I experience when things go pear-shaped. When I enter the Fourth Dimension, I go all calm and analytical and it seems like I have decades to figure out where to go to avoid the combatants. At these times I recall entire conversations I've held with myself as I figure out: "OK, curb left, hole right, good line to the inside... BUNNY HOP that rear wheel coming toward you... water bottle on the ground not an issue... gee that person's sliding a long way, sucks to be you... still holding the handlebars, not on the ground, clear sailing ahead... ATTACK!!...

The LoneFrontRanger's plaintiff cry can still be heard echoing across the Flatirons, "Hi Yo Yo Go Go." For the mountains and the prairies know, "she is every bit as smart, tough, and savvy as her posts," according to BipedZed.

With her faithful SO companion Pronto, the daring and resourceful rider of the Boulder high-plains, led the fight for cyclists rights in this part of the west.

But she will return to those thrilling days of yesteryear. The LoneFrontRanger will ride again!

b The LoneFrontRanger Creed!

i In being prepared physically, mentally, and morally to fight when necessary for that which is right.

i That a woman should make the most of what equipment he has.

i To adher to the "elements" of cycling: talent; skill; attitude; fitness; experience; and, savvy.

i That sooner or later...somewhere...somehow...we must settle with the world and make payment for what we have taken.

i That all things change but truth, and that truth alone, lives on forever. In my Creator, my country, my fellow man."
Thanks Allison :-)lonefrontranger
Jul 25, 2002 12:35 PM
I still got the slow-motion effect; this is probably what allowed me to "right" the bike from the initial skid. Unfortunately it resulted in what a motorcyclist would term a "highside", meaning I flipped over too quick and tumbled the other way...

The long and short of the matter is that I was in over my head with that field, at that speed, on that technical a course. I'll eventually get used to the higher speeds, but geez that's a hard lesson learned!