RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


What do you think about these "exploitation" shows?(15 posts)

What do you think about these "exploitation" shows?DougSloan
Jul 23, 2002 9:14 AM
The Everest thread made me think about this. We have all these shows now based essentially upon exploiting people and airing it. Whether it be eating bugs, bad dates, starving on an island -- it all seems a bit unseemly. I worry where they'll go next, too.

Sometimes I feel really badly for these people. I especially don't like the ones where serious relationships are potentially developed, then people's hearts are broken in front of millions of viewers. Puking up bugs and worms is pretty disgusting, too.

But, people do this freely, usually for money or notoriety (publicity). Of course, that doesn't mean we can't weigh in on our opinions about the shows or not watch.

Me, I'm pretty fed up with them. Sort of like the old days at the colliseum.

Doug
I don't watch them...Spinchick
Jul 23, 2002 9:21 AM
for the reasons you mentioned. However, if people are idiotic enough to do those things to themselves without being coerced in any way, more power to them if they end up making a few bucks. It reminds me of junior high school where peer pressure was at it's worse. Most of the contestants remind me of teenagers - self absorbed, self-conscious, low self-esteem, wanting to fit it...

God, I'm starting to sound like a crotchety parent.
Hey, how's things with you?Kristin
Jul 23, 2002 11:19 AM
Baby news is on the way soon I hope. ~K
Great now that I'm no longer pregnant :-)!Spinchick
Jul 23, 2002 12:31 PM
I posted a couple weeks back. Had a girl (Shelby) 8 pounds, 6 ounces on July 3rd. Ended up back in the hospital for three days due to complications from the c-section but I'm on the mend now. In fact, I'm planning my first real ride this weekend. We'll see if I can make it 15 miles...

Thanks for asking!
My goodness, how did I ever miss that?Kristin
Jul 24, 2002 6:32 AM
I must've been in California!!! Congrats, congrats, congrats. I'm glad you and your baby girl are well!
Give em bread and circuses!ColnagoFE
Jul 23, 2002 9:28 AM
If these shows weren't watched they would go away. I have to admit I like watching Fear Factor on occasion. The Osbournes can be a real hoot as well. For something really bizarre and disturbing how about Pro Wrestling? And KIDS watch that!
don't forget wine!DougSloan
Jul 23, 2002 9:34 AM
I tried watching the Osbournes, but can't do it. Between the bleeps and inability to understand their accent, I can't even follow what's going on. Those have to be some of the nerdiest kids on the planet, too.
The OsbornesKristin
Jul 23, 2002 11:21 AM
What nastiness. I can't deal with them. I think they should rename it to "Dyfunction Junction"
Remember this all started when the writer's went on strikeAllisonHayes
Jul 23, 2002 12:32 PM
So the producers found a way to make even more money at the expense of the writers. Just find a whole bunch of dupes who agree to do stupid things that will air to a whole nation of dupes.

i(The whole thing seems pretty (st)duped to me. Maybe that is what the French were saying to Lance on Mt. Ventoux: dupe, dupe, dupe???)
Y'all are better people than I amjtolleson
Jul 23, 2002 2:44 PM
Seriously. I know that as an active and educated person, I'm supposed to look down on shows like Survivor. But they entertain the hell out of me. Watching real people's reactions and interrelationships in real situations I actually find pretty interesting. And I would already predict that I'd be glued to the Everest thing.

Do you love to watch the Eco-Challenge? If so, why? For me, I can admire athletic achievements, but I love the interactions under pressure, the personalities that emerge under sleep deprivation, the valor of the people working together. Survivor offers some of that minus the athletic achievement.

OK, I do have my standards. I haven't watched Big Brother, Temptation Island, or the Bachelor.

Do you think less of me now?

: )
re: What do you think about these "exploitation" showsmickey-mac
Jul 23, 2002 5:50 PM
I watched 10 minutes of Fear Factor and reached my limit. I know one of the participants on the first season of Temptation Island and couldn't even bring myself to watch it. I have to admit, however, that I'm completely hooked on Ozzy and his clan. Yes, they can be nasty at times, but their love shows in the most bizarre and funny ways. I guess I like their show for the same reasons I've been hooked on the Simpsons since it was part of the old Tracy Ullman Show.
Survivor junkie hereStarliner
Jul 23, 2002 7:27 PM
I got hooked on the first Survivor and have religiously seen the sequels as well. Aside from it being a fantastically filmed and edited show, I'm a people watcher of sort, and it's fun to see how each person plays off each other and predict what will happen next. The fact that it is unscripted, has a start, a finish, and a lot in between appeals to me in a way a regular series show with scripts and actors cannot.

That's about it for me, though. I saw the first Big Brother but was bored to sleep; I haven't gotten into the rest. But if you want to discuss Survivor, I'll join in.
if they go for the shows ...weiwentg
Jul 24, 2002 4:16 AM
then I don't think (this is just mho) that they're that serious about the relationship anyway. if you don't want to watch them, don't ... I certainly don't, it's quite embarassing.
was referring to stuff like temptation island only. nmweiwentg
Jul 24, 2002 4:18 AM
Well, I'm dead sick of sit-coms and TV dramas.Sintesi
Jul 24, 2002 10:35 AM
Those embarass me because professional people actually put a lot of thought into their creation. I won't name names but yelcch. Pretty much 95% stink ratio there.

One thing about those "reality TV shows" and the reason we see so many is that they (relatively speaking) cost nothing to produce. No stars, no writers, no elaborate sets for the most part. How much does it cost to followy Ozzy around with a couple cameras? A million dollar investment (peanuts) can turn into a huge commercial hit. Hell a modest success is huge by these standards. Be seeing plenty more of those.

I like the Discovery channel, the Hitler channel (err, History channel), a couple pundit shows and Star Trek reruns. Ohhh yeah, Star Trek reruns is my weakness. I guess that pretty much bankrupts most of my criticisms. ; )