RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Mt. Everest, the Mother Goddess of Earth...(18 posts)

Mt. Everest, the Mother Goddess of Earth...mr_spin
Jul 22, 2002 8:44 AM
What is OLN going to do if someone on their team dies up there, on live TV?

Having read "Into Thin Air," I can't imagine why anyone would really want to summit Everest. There doesn't seem to be anything fun about it. There certainly is no enjoyment at the time. No one has any energy to celebrate and not much time to reflect. You touch the top and then you get the hell out of there before you die.

I guess it's the bragging rights afterward that matter the most.

Would you join the OLN competition if you could?
Agree, it will be interesting to see...RhodyRider
Jul 22, 2002 8:58 AM
...if OLN will really stay "live" in the event of catastrophe up high. No pun intended, it would be in bad taste. Should be compelling TV, in any case.
I also think, as fascinating as it is to consider the extremes of endurance and willpower needed to conquer Chomolungma, it is prima facie absurd for "average" folks to attempt this summit. Tantamount to russian roulette, no matter how many precautions are taken. So, NO, I wouldn't do it, myself. I'd be happy to trek to base camp, over 19000', that'd be enough for this sea-level guy. *Gasp!*
you could say the same thing about a double centuryColnagoFE
Jul 22, 2002 11:49 AM
i mean do people really enjoy riding all those miles? sure there are high points, but if you are just out for kicks then a 10-15 mile ride should do. there is something to be said for the need for challenge in our lives.
My first rant...Bigburlymtnman
Jul 22, 2002 1:43 PM
In my opinion, this OLN Everest thing is stupid. I've climbed a few mountains-including Hood in June-and it just bothers me to see the media having no respect for Everest and its power. Placing average people who've never had any prior mountain expierence in a situation where you can barely think about where your feet are let alone properly clipping into a harness and climbing up precariously steep mountain slopes just for media attention and viewers, is not very appealing to me. In my mind, climbing a mountain just for bragging rights and money is not climbing a mountain at all. Climbing is a more personal matter, and it should be dealt with inside your mind and body, not on a TV screen with 20 million people watching. I too have read Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer, and surprisingly, that is what made me want to climb mountains. Not for bragging rights, not for money, but for personal achievement and inner satisfaction. Placing unqualified people on Everest just for viewer attention, to me, is very disrespectful towards the mountain. It's lowering the mountain's standard and saying that anyone can climb it who has lots of money. That's not true at all, but that's the message that OLN is sending out right now about Everest, and it ticks me off. And no, I'm not speaking out of jealousy; if OLN called me up right now I would refuse the offer without letting them finish their sentence. So flame me if you must, this was my first rant on this site. Give me any tips if I did something wrong:)
Thanks

End of rant
My first rant too.janson
Jul 22, 2002 8:05 PM
I completly agree with you. Everest should onlybe climbed by people that seek it out. Someone that makes it their life. The so called althetic participants won't have the passion.
It takes several years to get ready for Everest, mentally and phyiscally.
They'll probably die too. Its like OLN's Survior.
OLN should just shoot all the elements of their adventure as separate voyages with different people.
Thats some thoughts..

by the way, I am dayhiker mostly, working on the White Mountain 4,000 footers- 30 down, 18 more.
White Mountains?...Bigburlymtnman
Jul 23, 2002 3:53 AM
Where are they located? That's awesome that you're doing that. How many do you do in a month or a year? Congratulations, that sounds very fun!

Tootles
Chardin
White Mountains?...janson
Jul 23, 2002 5:55 PM
New Hampshire- It includes Mt Washington, known for its unpredictable and deadly weather. It's fun.
I don't know if you are familar witht he concept, but there is a club that everyone sends in a diary like form to when they are finished- then they send you a patch.
There is also the Adriondack 46er's in New York (I have 9 of those), and I think there is a club in the Rockies for above 12,000 or something.
I have only done one this year- but usually I will do about 10 every year. My hikes usually include 2 mountains at a time.
Have fun hiking/mountaineering yourself,
janson
I disagree, strongly.Len J
Jul 23, 2002 8:45 AM
What gives you the right to decide who should & dhouldn't climb Everest? How do you know what these people's motivations are? It seems a little presumptious of you to be the one to decide?

I say, if they knowingly accept the risks, have the time & money, Why not?

If you don't like it, don't watch.

Len
I do see your point...nmjanson
Jul 23, 2002 5:57 PM
Yeah, butWayne
Jul 23, 2002 7:23 AM
anybody who does it knows what they're getting themselves into, it's not like OLN is tricking them. OLN gets ratings, the contestants get a chance to climb Everest, both win.
I thought part of the explanation for so many deaths on Everest recently was because there are so many inexperienced/unqualified people up there anyhow? Hasn't it become so costly that it's largely rich playboys (girls), or guides leading too many climbers just to cover the cost of their own climb who are on the mountain?
facts about everestDougSloan
Jul 23, 2002 7:48 AM
Not good chances of making it:

Facts About Mt. Everest

Tallest mountain in the world.

Number of people to attempt to climb Mt. Everest: approximately 4,000.

Number of people to successfully climb Mt. Everest: 660.

Number of people who have died trying to climb Mt. Everest: 142.

Height: 29,028 feet, or 5 and a half miles above sea level. This is equivalent to the size of almost 20 Empire State Buildings.

Location: part of the Himalaya mountain range; straddles border of Nepal and Tibet.

Named for: Sir George Everest, a British surveyor-general of India.

Age: approximately 60 million years old.

Other names: called "Chomolungma" by Tibetans and Sherpas, which means "Mother Goddess of the Earth."

Countries visible from the summit: Tibet, India, and Nepal.

First to climb to summit: Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay on May 29, 1953.

Notable dates:
1921 — Dalai Lama allows British reconnaissance party to visit Tibet and the northern side of Mt. Everest.
1924 — British explorers George Mallory and Andrew Irvine disappear near the summit, along the Northeast Ridge. It is possible that they may have actually been the first to reach the summit, but they never returned.
1949 — Nepal opens its borders, making access to the mountain's southern peak possible.
1953 — Hillary and Norgay reach summit.
1963 — First Americans reach the summit.
1989 — First two women, both American, reach the summit.
1990 — Sir Edmund Hillary's son, Peter, reaches summit.
1996 — Eleven people die during spring expeditions.

http://teacher.scholastic.com/hillary/archive/evefacts.htm
Did you know that's where Noah's ark landed too?Kristin
Jul 23, 2002 7:54 AM
I couldn't resist. No don't go gettin' yer panties in a bunch! I'm just kidding.
I think Jimmy Hoffa is there too (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 23, 2002 8:10 AM
Maybe Geraldo needs to climb it and tell us what's there nmDougSloan
Jul 23, 2002 9:34 AM
Blame it on the cubit - not a good navigational unit! nmmr_spin
Jul 23, 2002 11:25 AM
Actually it's 29,035 feet. Recent GPS measurement. nmBrooks
Jul 23, 2002 2:24 PM
While we're on the theme of making corrections....Fr Ted Crilly
Jul 23, 2002 3:27 PM
....way more that 660 people have summited Everest. I believe the 1000th person reached the summit a couple of years ago.
Also, the first woman to reach the summit wasn't an American in '89, but Junko Tabei of Japan on 16th May '75, via the South-East Ridge.

I don't get OLN, so I don't know the details of this quest, but are they really planning to follow people with no previous big-mountain experience as they attempt to climb Everest? Sounds like a recipe for disaster.
"average" people?ColnagoFE
Jul 23, 2002 8:07 AM
that's what i don't get. these aren't average people. maybe not experienced mountaineers, but at least as well trained and prepped as someone like a sandy pittman who could buy her way onto an everest expedition. if they really mean average people they'd get bubba whose only workout is getting up from the couch to get a bag of chips and a beer.