RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


So you have a billion dollars...(17 posts)

So you have a billion dollars...mr_spin
Jul 2, 2002 6:15 AM
Would you try to fly around the world in a balloon?
No, but,TJeanloz
Jul 2, 2002 6:19 AM
It's not something I'd do, but I think it's commendable to do something other than sit on the beach and futz around on the golf course. You made a billion dollars, so you might as well spend it doing whatever you've always wanted to do, be it flying around the world in a balloon, visiting the international space station, or riding in the Tour de France (which could probably be arranged for enough money). Better that than jealously guarding your precious money.
How to become a millionaireAllisonHayes
Jul 2, 2002 6:36 AM
start with a billion and invest it in the stock market...

:)

I would lobby for separate cycling roads, not MUTs, not bike lanes, but entirely separate roads. Sorry, rollerbladers, runners, horses not allowed.
yesDougSloan
Jul 2, 2002 6:52 AM
Yes, and a minimum speed of 15 mph :-)

I'd build a cycling "Mecca". Buy about 20 square miles of hilly terrain. Build bike only roads, paths, mountain bike trails, and a velodrome. The velodrome would be fully enclosed and could be de-pressurized to simulate high altitude. I'd own a bike shop on site that sells at cost. There would be a wind tunnel, fitness testing, coaches, and sports doctors available.

It's my billion, right?

Doug
don't forget...mr_spin
Jul 2, 2002 7:00 AM
Make sure you hire spectators to fill the velodrome at all hours, and to pack the road tight on the climbs, just like in the Tour. You'd also need special electronic displays embedded in the road that could be programmed to show rider's names as if hand painted by fans. And that devil guy, too.
ok, we'll run with itDougSloan
Jul 2, 2002 7:05 AM
And all the roads would be cleaned every night, so no more flats!

Closed circuit video of all parts of the park.

Swedish Bikini Team offering bottles at the feed zone.

Hire several pros to ride with and humble us. Sort of like golf pros on staff at a country club.

Instead of the "19th Hole," we'll have the "22nd Stage" for Gatorade martini's after riding.

Doug
That is a great idea!AllisonHayes
Jul 2, 2002 7:19 AM
Where would you build it? Colorado? California? North Carolina? Texas? Canada? Mackinac Island?

Let's form a company. Tjeanloz can help take it public; you can provide legal advice; Gregg can build the web site; I will take on sales; LenJ can be CFO; we'll have a retro secor headed by Spirito; Ahisma can advise on nutrition & diet; Dinosaur for security; grzy for engineering; colker & harlett for cinematography...

Who did I miss? Any volunteers out there?
philanthropicDougSloan
Jul 2, 2002 7:37 AM
I doubt this venture could turn a profit.

I'd set up a not for profit corporation and be the sole member. I'd hire you all if you wanted to come on, of course.

I would have to be somewhere you can ride year round. California central coast would be good.

Doug
Site Planning/ Landscape Architect. I volunteer. NMBrooks
Jul 2, 2002 9:48 AM
That is a great idea!komatiite
Jul 2, 2002 2:12 PM
you can hire me as the consulting geologist...im graduating soon. heck, i could just volunteer and live under the velodrome in a limestone cavern and give tours of it
to make ends meet. wait...a billion dollars?
What aboutBeaver
Jul 2, 2002 11:12 AM
the kids. Gotta do something for the bmxers. Ramp park and dirt jumps. Bring in some pros to do clincs and you would have your very own Woodward...and some really happy kids.
I would bail out Consumer Review as well. nmAllisonHayes
Jul 2, 2002 7:23 AM
thanks, we need it. (nm)gregg
Jul 2, 2002 8:40 AM
maybeColnagoFE
Jul 2, 2002 8:00 AM
i can think of a lot of things i'd do if money were no object...unfortunately it is.
Get Rivendell out of debt & bail out consumerreview.comSilverback
Jul 2, 2002 10:51 AM
Then Grant would give me a bike, and I'd still have something to do all day at work....
No, wait, I wouldn't BE at work. I'd be out riding my Rivendell. Sorry, Gregg :>
...and don't forget to resurrect VooDoo while you're at it (nm)The Walrus
Jul 2, 2002 5:25 PM
No, but then flying around the world in a baloon isn't my thing.Twilight
Jul 4, 2002 4:32 PM
1. The LAF would never be short of funds. EVER.
2. Purchase Klein and move 'em back where they belong.
3. Maybe get a new pair of shorts and jersey.