RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


The Big Game - whatsgonnahappen?(25 posts)

The Big Game - whatsgonnahappen?muncher
Jun 28, 2002 1:30 AM
Opinion down my corridor seenms to be split. Can the loose-knit Brazillan flair and flashes of genius overcome the well-drilled teutonic efficiency of the German machine?

What if it goes to penalties - have you got to fancy the cool Germans to pull it out of the bag when the chips are down, or will the B's rise to the occasion to recapture the past glory days of Pele and Socrates?

Personally, I'll be out on the bike, but I think I'd have to put my money on a 2-1 Brazil win, but then I don't really follow football.

Predictions?
prediction 1-0 "excitement"DougSloan
Jun 28, 2002 5:54 AM
My prediction is that 99.99% of Americans, including this one, won't have clue that the game even takes place; it's hard to get excited about a one dimensional game that mimics a bunch of children on a playground that ends in a 1-0 score. Sorry, I'm sure this is American ethno-centricity, but soccer is about the most boring sport on the planet. I'd rank it right up there with bowling.

Now, I'll offer a constructive solution -- no goalie. No one can enter an area near the goal. At least you might have some scores to make it more interesting.

Doug
Your prejudice astounds me...Wayne
Jun 28, 2002 6:10 AM
just kidding! I never played soccer, can't say I understand anything beyond the basics, so I'm sure I miss out on any of the nuances of the game, but damn if I didn't become addicted to watching English Premier league and Italian soccer when I had fox sports world. When they took it away I found I had nothing to watch. The excitement of the game has nothing to do with how many times you score, it's more to do with getting in position and taking your shot on goal than anything. A 1-0 game will be more interesting than a 5-2 came on any day!
Yeah, but you are missing the whole point.muncher
Jun 28, 2002 6:17 AM
Which is, that in order to achieve the spectacle you describe, you have to devote a sum of money to the sport that would feed, clothe and house every needy person on the entire Arfican continent (and, no doubt, beyond) well into the next decade, per week.

When you look at it like that, it all makes sense....
A question.Hap
Jun 28, 2002 7:01 AM
It's game seven of the Baseball "World" Series. Brasil is playing Germany, oh wait this baseball so in the World Series New York is playing Atlanta or some other US city, any way game seven of the world series. Which game do you think would be more exciting, a 13 to 5 game or a 1 to nil game? And what if the 1 run was in the bottom of the ninth?

99.99% of the world wouldn't care either way.

Hap
I agree most would not careDougSloan
Jun 28, 2002 7:18 AM
I'm with you. Baseball is darn boring, too. But, I must confess, I'm just not a good spectator. I'd rather be out doing something than watching others do it.

13-5 is vastly more entertaining than 1-0, though. At least something is happening.

Doug
OK, bad analogyHap
Jun 28, 2002 11:49 AM
So you're not a baseball fan either, then how about this. Which is more exciting Lance with a six minute lead for the last five flat stages of the tour or Greg overcoming a 50 second disadvantage on the final stage time trial to win the tour?

A 5-2 futbol game is like the six minute lead.
Doug, you continue to amaze....Silverback
Jun 28, 2002 7:40 AM
I'm only a modest soccer fan, but...do you ever question your own opinions? Wonder if maybe there's a chance you're mistaken and the hundreds of millions of people who enjoy the game are right? I mean, like it or don't like it, makes no difference to me. But I'm not sure the occasion calls for a denuciation of the culture.
sure, I'm "wrong" all the timeDougSloan
Jun 28, 2002 7:48 AM
It seemed like we are eliciting opinions here. Hey, that's mine. As they say, "opinions are like..., everyone has one."

Not denuciating a culture, just a game. I think it's boring. I'd bet 99.99999999% of the planet would think watching or even riding a double century is boring. It wouldn't bother me.

Doug
just you waitStarliner
Jun 28, 2002 7:59 AM
I think you're flat wrong to say 99.99% of us won't have a clue about the game.... it's more like 89.99%.

Haven't you ever heard of soccer moms? It's a bigger group than you may realize, because a lot of kids play in soccer leagues now in America, and the good showing by our national team this World Cup offers testimony to the effectiveness of the many local soccer programs in developing playing skills. 20-year-old Landon Donovan is an example; he has world-class star quality already.

As your boy grows up, you'll possibly change your view about things. Both my daughter and my son played soccer, and I coached and played off and on as well. When someone like your own child is playing, I think you'll find the game suddenly becomes more interesting and understandable.
oh, noDougSloan
Jun 28, 2002 8:25 AM
While I'll certainly let him if he wants to, I'll not encourage the soccer. I just don't care for the game. Especially at the early levels, it appears to be a bunch of kids just running around kicking at a ball toward the other end of the field. Almost a random series of collisions. It develops few skills. There's not a whole lot of thinking going on. I'd rather see him playing baseball, football, basketball, wrestling, or cycling. In any event, I'll surely not coach it.

I realize it's a "politically correct" game these days. Not only does it have a certain "international flair", but it's also seen as a relatively safe alternative to American ball sports. It is easy on the kids' egos, as they don't have to stand up to a plate and risk striking out all alone. It takes all of 2 minutes to learn. Heck, from the games of my nephews I've seen, they don't even keep score, to avoid hurting any feelings (my little nephew who made about 15 goals in one game sure as heck was keeping score). That may appeal to lots of people these days, but not me.

Sorry if that's not PC and I sound like a 1950's gym coach. I was raised by one.

Doug
A little harsh...muncher
Jun 28, 2002 8:38 AM
I'm not a great fan of football either - though I quite enjoy playing it, but I don't think it's fair to say it "develops few skills". It does develop co-ordination, spacial awareness etc, as well as working on fitness, flexibility and reactions. Then on top of that you have all the atributes that team sport developes.

As you may have to see from the touchlines at great length soon, there are few kids games that get much beyond the "random collisions" level, at least not until they've played a fair bit.
ok, I guess it's meDougSloan
Jun 28, 2002 8:46 AM
Troglodyte is an aggressive Philistine who categorically disdains all new-age enthusiasms and politics, and has a particular animus against "homos", "tree huggers", " hairy-leg lesbo feminists" and artsy types. His loud brandishings of "common sense" and "reason" are nothing more than conceits to justify his close mindedness. Troglodyte's fierce, but predictable attacks are easily parried by more nimble Warriors. Sometimes, just for fun, Weenie or Issues will taunt him into a towering rage.

PC?Starliner
Jun 28, 2002 5:31 PM
I sense you have encountered left leaning people who never showed interest for organized sports, yet presently talk like experts on why soccer is so much greater of a sport than the dreaded American football. Many of these kinds of people are proficient with a hacky-sack. But, and I think you sense this, their promotion of soccer doesn't always seem honest; it's as if they've an ax to grind over the heavy emphasis upon, and big business aspect of American sport.

Watch out you don't mirror this sort of dishonesty in your anti-soccer stance. Just because there are some people who advocate soccer on a politically correct basis shouldn't mean a line has been drawn and you've got stand up and counter them.

Forget about the "PC" programmed puppets and take the game for what it is, because it's a lot different than what you have written it off as being (collisions, few skills, etc.)
how about this?nova
Jun 28, 2002 9:30 AM
An uncle of mine died of cancer in February. While he was undergoing treatment late last year, I suggested to my mother that she loan him her copy of "It's not about the bike" by Lance Armstrong.

If you've read it, then you probably understand why I suggested it.

He didn't read it - and who could blame him? Anyway, after the funeral, we are all sitting around, and my Aunt gives the book back to my mother. EVERYONE in the room says something to this effect: "Lance who? Never heard of him".
And no, they weren't doing it to tease me.

Perhaps sometimes being ethno-centric and oblivious is just unavoidable.
My Prediction...AllisonHayes
Jun 28, 2002 6:49 AM
Game is tied 1-1 with 2 minutes left. Suddenly, a bomb explodes under the stands, killing 8000 and injuring another 20,000.

The world is outraged. Germany partners with Caterpillar and builds the world's largest bulldozer. Al Queda terrorist camps worldwide are leveled and replaced with golf courses.

The world returns to peace; former Al Queda terrorists send their sons to the Tiger Woods Golf Academy and they dominate the sport like nothing else.

Hey, you asked...:)
No - I was going to mention that theory toomuncher
Jun 28, 2002 7:31 AM
but I just wasn't certain that Caterpiller would go through with the deal, after their massive accounting fraud led to "Omar's Dozers" unexpectedly dominating the market, and turning the whole of the Eastern German planes into a giant Al-Quidditch pitch......
Sports EthnocentricityJon Billheimer
Jun 28, 2002 7:59 AM
You guys! You go on occasionally about how no one except a few velophiles appreciate bike racing, then come on with these kinds of comments about the world's most popular sport.

In case in your North American sporting myopia you missed it--which you probably did--Ronaldinho treated everyone to moments of rare athletic virtuosity in the Brazil-England game when he set up the first goal and scored the second.

At any rate, my prediction is Brazil 2-0. Could be higher. Just in case anyone was watching, the Brazil-Turkey game could have easily been 2 or 3-1. Brazil has superior individual skills and their defense is tighter and more mobile than they're often given credit for.
Brazil's advantage:DougSloan
Jun 28, 2002 8:42 AM
Need anyone say more????:)- (nm)Jon Billheimer
Jun 28, 2002 9:11 AM
why did the USA invent Baseball ,Basketball and Grid ironpukka
Jun 28, 2002 10:48 AM
because they cant play football (yes the sport you play with your feet,),long may they continue to hate it we dont want you at our party
basketball how dull is that, a team runs up and down and takes turns at shooting and it all hinges on how many points you dont score,they play 3500 games a year but we all know its only the last 7 that are worth watching(even that didn't happen this year)
The global aspect of the gameFr Ted Crilly
Jun 28, 2002 2:57 PM
One of the many reasons that makes football and the World Cup so popular across the of the planet is that it is one of the few occasions that everyone in a country can get behind the same team and support them as their country tries to make an impression on the world in an event that will be watched by billions. You can support your players as they battle against much larger or more powerful footballing nations or old foes. Even those who don't watch football on a regular basis get drawn into the patriotic excitement. It's about so much more than 22 players running around the field chasing "a bag of wind". We could argue forever on whether football played on a small, local level is more or less exciting than any other sport played on the same level, but the World Cup is the highest level of the biggest sport on the planet and I think that's why it draws the fascination of so many. Sport doesn't get any bigger than this. Let's face it, if previous World Cup finals are anything to go by, Sunday's game will probably not be a classic. But even knowing that doesn't stop so many from getting excited about it.
For whatever reason, the people of the US seem a lot more reluctant to grasp the global issues that make this such a great sport. They seem quite happy to keep to themselves and not bother with what the rest of the world is interested in. I'm not having a go at the US here, but is this the same attitude that others on this board have hinted at? That the US is quite happy to go it alone if necessary and not worry too much about world opinion?

Going back to the game, I hope that Brazil win, if only because they have played the better football over the past four weeks.
I like Stanford over CalMe Dot Org
Jun 28, 2002 2:32 PM
...wait a second, you mean there's another big game?
re: The Big Game - whatsgonnahappen?empacher6seat
Jun 28, 2002 7:51 PM
Brazil 2-0.

The reason football is so popular world wide is because all you need to play it is a ball. Now, you can learn some VERY basic skills in 2 minutes, like passing with the inside of your foot, but you can also learn the equivalent beginner skills of baseball (swinging a bat, throwing) or basketball (bouncing a ball up and down, shooting) in 2 minutes. I think watching football is like drinking wine. I find it's an acquired taste. If you dont know the rules or anything, of course it'll be boring to watch!!

Another reason I think North Americans don't like football is because they are only exposed to World Cup soccer. If you are only exposed to the best of the best duking it out every four years, how can you appreciate a regular season game that's of lower caliber? If we were only exposed to playoff basketball or baseball, no one would bother watching those regular season games.
Brazil, Brazil, Brazil, Brazil!OutWest
Jun 29, 2002 12:15 AM
cycling - always loved it,always will,most others don't
soccer - always liked watching it,never got a chance to
play,wish I had,middle son loves it and the games
are getting pretty interesting
hockey - played it,didn't like it,others do,fair enough
baseball - thought it was dumb,watched my oldest play Pee
Wee level,understand it now, started playing
myself,much better workout than I thought
basketball - thought it was dumb,went to a collegiate game
with youth group,I'll go again, anytime
football (USA) - won't judge,not for me,works for others
lacrosse - wicked! ever seen it? played it?
curling - broom,ice,rocks,hmmmmmmmmmm!
Every sport has a virtue,to somebody!