RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:(12 posts)

Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:128
Jun 21, 2002 12:35 PM
- Bugs Bunny
-Danger Mouse
-The Moth (what happened to that?)
-Flintstones
-Underdog
re: Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:SLB
Jun 21, 2002 2:24 PM
maybe not political, but don't forget:

sealab 2021
space ghost: coast to coast
pinky and the brain
re: Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:peloton
Jun 21, 2002 2:44 PM
Top five from prime time list?

-Simpsons
-South Park
-King of the Hill
-Ren and Stimpy
-Beavis and Butthead (Beavis signs in here as RadicalRonPruitt)
re: Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:mickey-mac
Jun 21, 2002 3:39 PM
Simpsons
Spongebob Squarepants
Bugs Bunny
Beavis & Butthead
Rocky & Bullwinkle
re: Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:4bykn
Jun 21, 2002 4:21 PM
South Park. How many times did they say a word that would get censored on many internet forums in last week's episode. The favorite for me was when they ran the "rich" people out of town.
He's Back! The one, the only, the original:AllisonHayes
Jun 22, 2002 3:53 AM
b Speedy Gonzales

The Cartoon Network is bringing back Speedy Gonzales who was banned for PC due to constant references to drinking, laziness, drug use, and womanizing. Ted Turner stopped showing the cartoons due to racial stereotyping. But Latino groups protested that Speedy was a "cultural icon" and not one Hispanic organization objected to him.

The Speedy cartoons took no prisoners. Mexican stereotypes were everywhere, and they were wonderful fun. Many people in today's world choose to look at the stereotypes in a negative light, but the more one pays attention and watches each of the Speedy films, it becomes evident that only the villains are portrayed as 'stereotyped' or 'racist', and even these are quite tame. In fact, Speedy is actually a virtuous, caring and heroic character, a mouse superhero of sorts who uses his speed to help others. Perhaps he was even ahead of his time. Speedy himself is never seen smoking, and only two cartoons show characters consuming alcohol, and in both of these Speedy cuts them off and, in one, the Academy Award-nominated Robert McKimson classic, "Tabasco Road", escorts them home.

Speedy is only one in a list of now-controversial cartoons that have been archived. Reflecting changing notions of political correctness, many older cartoons rarely, if ever, now get television airplay, including the "censored eleven" an infamous group of shorts focusing on black stereotypes.

Other censored cartoons include those with Indians, and cartoons from the WWII era, such as the Bugs Bunny short Bugs Nips the Nips, which has spurred protest from Japanese groups.

Speedy fans point out that the character itself is not the problem. "I think it's mainly the OTHER Mexican mice in the cartoons that they are afraid of and not loveable Speedy." "What they don't realize is that Speedy breaks this stereotype by being a smart, hardworking, fast Mexican."

Speedy is only one in a list of now-controversial cartoons that have been archived. Reflecting changing notions of political correctness, many older cartoons rarely, if ever, now get television airplay, including the "censored eleven," an infamous group of shorts focusing on black stereotypes.

Other censored cartoons include those with Indians, and cartoons from the WWII era, such as the Bugs Bunny short Bugs Nips the Nips, which has spurred protest from Japanese groups.

Not to mention big-hearted. Endowed with street smarts that match his lightning speed, Speedy has a strong sense of justice and a healthy sense of humor. He can always be relied on to come to the rescue, despite his amorous pursuits:

b "Speedy knows your sister, Speedy knows EVERYBODY's sister"

(Mexican mouse #1: "You know Speedy Gonzales? Weel you get heem?"

Mouse #2: "I know Speedy Gonzales. I weel get heem. Speedy Gonzales, in love with my seester."

Mouse #1: "Speedy Gonzales, in love weeth EVERYBODY's seester!"

http://www.hispaniconline.com/a&e/people/speedy.html
re: Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:BikeViking
Jun 22, 2002 7:25 AM
My No. 1 is THE TICK!!!!!!! (I am MIGHTY!!!!)

2. King of the Hill

3. Simpsons

4. Bugs Bunny

5. BEavis and Butthead (MTV episodes)
Doh. I said'moth' I meant 'Tick': the last great cartoon??...nm128
Jun 24, 2002 4:49 AM
Doh. I said'moth' I meant 'Tick': the last great cartoon??...nmBikeViking
Jun 24, 2002 7:40 AM
I would agree...I have been downloading some of the episodes from KaZaA, but the quality is less than stellar and I am having tech difficulties burning them to VCD. I would buy a DVD compilation set of all 36 episodes in a NY minute!

Scott

"VILLIANS! I say to you now, KNOCK OFF ALL THAT EVIL!!!"
re: Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:I Love Shimano
Jun 23, 2002 5:38 PM
Bugs Bunny (no one can ever beat Bugs and co.)
Johnny Quest (old and new versions)
South Park (hilarious)
The Adventures of Tintin
Speed Racer

If I were back when I was 12, the list would look like this:

Bugs Bunny
GI Joe
The Transformers
M.A.S.K.
The Simpsons
in no particular order, except...JS Haiku Shop
Jun 24, 2002 11:19 AM
except "p & the b" are the top choice:

pinky and the brain
dexter's laboratory
cow and chicken
anything road runner and coyote
pinky and the brain (counts twice, of course)
re: Speaking of politics: Top 5 tv cartoons:DougSloan
Jun 26, 2002 6:10 AM
Simpsons
King of the Hill
Bugs Bunny
Road Runner
Mr. Peabody (so bad, it's good)