RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


I don't like getting older. Just a complaint session(17 posts)

I don't like getting older. Just a complaint sessionPaulCL
May 28, 2002 6:49 AM
I turned 40 in February. Compared to my peers, I look young...all my hair, no grey, no gut, etc... But the aches and pain?? Isn't that supposed to start in your 60's??

I just suffered through two weeks of shin splints only to lapse into knee pain. HUH?? I haven't had to suffer through any aches and pains until the last few months. The shin splints came from walking to my new office - a fifteen minute walk from the car as opposed to 50 feet. I've now quit that 'up north' speed walking. Now a leisurely saunter. The knee pain..I have no idea where that came from. I noticed it after a doomed ride (mechanical) last week.

Next thing will be my eyesight, then my reflexes, then I'll have no interest in se...OH NO! Where's that fountain of youth when you need it??
re: I don't like getting older. Just a complaint sessionnetso
May 28, 2002 7:21 AM
I am two weeks from turning 60. This is a dreaded birthday. at least for me. I expect old age to strike like lightning. I know what I would like to do, but it is just so much harder to even attempt the feat. I also hate getting old!
Yeah, but consider the alternative....retro
May 28, 2002 7:40 AM
I'm 57, started cycling seriously (I'd been a casual rider for 30 years) about 12-13 years ago when my knees got too sore to keep running. A couple of years ago I thought I'd about reached my (age-rated) potential, but last year I dieted moderately, trained hard and set several PRs on rides I do often.
I let down over the winter, so I'm not in that condition now, but I'm working toward it from a higher starting point than last spring. I expect to slow down over the next five years or so, but I think I'll be better this year than last.
You can't do anything about getting older--it's not even worth thinking about. Any one of us might be diagnosed with prostate cancer or have a stroke tomorrow. Just control what you can, do what you're able and have fun. FWIW, my dad's 82 and bought a new bike last fall....
rage, rage against the dying of the light!ColnagoFE
May 28, 2002 7:49 AM
hey you gotta go someday so why make it easy on the grim reaper. just keep on riding and taking care of yourself (and an ibuprofen or two doesn't hurt once in a while either). i'm 37 and defintely have more aches than when i was 20, but what can you do? on a more serious note you might not be recovering properly and overtraining. often pushing yourself too hard too soon or too often is the cause of a lot of these ailments.
I feel much better than at 20DougSloan
May 28, 2002 7:57 AM
Through several years of consisent, progressive training, I feel much better than I did at age 20. Except for the ability to gain weight faster (likely a result of having more money to buy food, though), I can't tell any effects of aging here at age 41, almost 42.

I think the key is consistent and progressive training. Do it regularly and try to improve constantly, but not too fast.

Doug
who does?mr_spin
May 28, 2002 7:57 AM
I have a thing about dates. Several years ago (I'm not sure when!) I stop paying attention. Don't ever ask me what the date is, because I never know unless it is a fixed date holiday like Christmas or New Year's Day. I only know what day of the week it is, and more important, how many days until the weekend!

My feeling is that if I can't stop the march of time, I'm not going to worry about it. Sometimes I have to stop and think about how old I am. This is the truth--I actually have to calculate it in my head! (It's not true that I have to sing "Happy Birthday" in my head to remember my name...Happy Birthday dear _______....)

For me there is nothing magical or wicked about turning any age. Birthdays are just another day. There's nothing to celebrate that isn't going to happen anyway. I'm not 40, but when I get there it will be no big deal. The aches and pains won't automatically start that on day. If they do, oh well. I've led a good life so far, and I've known a few people who didn't make it out of their twenties.

I have plenty of regrets about opportunities missed when I was young, but no lasting regrets over the last 10 years. As Don Corleone told his son Michael, "This is the life we have chosen." At some point you realize you are no longer preparing for life, you are already there. You have a career, you have a group of friends you know you will know forever, you might even have a family. That's when time no longer matters, and regrets are few.

Wow, this was a strange stream of conciousness.
I'm in better shape at 44 than 24 but...........................Dave Hickey
May 28, 2002 8:26 AM
I've made the following observations:

1. Ibuprofen really works. Never needed it until I turned 40. Aches and pains go away.

2. My arms aren't long enough to read small print. Reading glasses are a fact of life. I've always had 20/20 vision until about 2 years ago. Now, I cannot read without them.

3. I need a rest day once per week.

4. Sex- Still a great thing but I don't think about it 24/7.
I was in better shape at 20, but worse at 30PaulCL
May 28, 2002 9:10 AM
My post was just a rant. My mileage this year is way down due to nagging injuries and weather and illness and...just complaining.

Yes, ibuprofen is a wonderful drug
Don't need the glasses yet
I need a rest day weekly also. My wife forces several on me
Sex - a great thing, but I don't think about it 24/7 either

At 40, I think I enjoy my fitness more than I did at 20. At 20, while running track in college, it was expected that you are in great shape. At 40, I'm supposed to be bald (genetics) and fat. I enjoy people thinking I'm only 32 or 33.

I think my original post was me feeling sorry for myself. My work has moved and eliminated lunchtime rides. So I am down to 2 or 3 days per week on the bike. When I miss one or two of those days due to injury, I am a grouch. I feel my fitness slipping away making me want to ride more. Pushing to ride more will just cause conflict at home. Just complaining.
I was in better shape at 20, but worse at 30Dave Hickey
May 28, 2002 9:29 AM
Not being able to ride really used to make me grouchy. I started running at the first of the year as a backup to riding. I leave tommorrow for a business trip to the caribbean(it sucks, but someone has to do it). I can't take my bike, so I'll just run for a week. I've found as long as I can do some form of excercise, I keep my fitness and mental health high. Good luck on the injury's healing.
Welcome to middle ageMcAndrus
May 28, 2002 10:02 AM
Welcome to the age when something always hurts. I first noticed in my early 40s (I just turned 50) that every day something hurt and it was always a moving pain: yesterday a knee, today a neck, tomorrow an elbow.

That said, I wouldn't go back to 20 for all the money in the world. I don't mind getting older so much as I mind not being able to do all the things I'd like to do with the time I have left.

Oh, wait, there is one thing. I'd love to be 25 again, playing basketball with that great jump I used to have and that boundless energy. Other than that ...... I'll stay where I am.
Thanks. You just made me feel worse.PaulCL
May 28, 2002 10:23 AM
Middle age.

I would go back to 25 in an instant but only if I could bring a few things...my income, my knowledge, my experience and self confidence.

I would want to return to 40 quickly becuase I would miss my wife and children terribly.
You will get used to the aches and pains soon enoughLLSmith
May 28, 2002 10:34 AM
In the not to distant future they will probably just be normal.Right now I have a variety of pains from my neck to my knees. Thats just the way it is. The thing that really drives me crazy is going to get something and not having any idea what I was going for.You probably have 6-8 years before that starts.
re: I don't like getting older. Just a complaint sessionBikeViking
May 28, 2002 10:55 AM
I went in for my 40 year physical and they sent me back to the lab to have more blood drawn for my first PSA!!! (For you youngsters, that's Prostate Specific Antigen...a great way to catch the truly "EVIL" disease early) LoL

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
re: I don't like getting older. Just a complaint sessionnetso
May 28, 2002 10:58 AM
Wait until you get the senior discount - without even asking!
Hey Paul, after all of the above, are you feeling better? :-) nmDave Hickey
May 28, 2002 11:03 AM
NOPaulCL
May 28, 2002 11:15 AM
Particularly the post on the PSA test. Forgot about that one. Gives me something to look forward to on my next physical. So, does the doctor have to buy me dinner first?

I really don't feel "40". I don't feel much different than when I was 25 ... OK, I was a little bit hornier then, but other than that, not much different. Well, its' time to ice down that knee again....

By the way...the answer to your question is really "yes" Paul
How do you think I feel, my brain doesn't work anymore!nmOutWest
May 28, 2002 5:02 PM