RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Career Choices(21 posts)

Career ChoicesI Love Shimano
May 22, 2002 9:57 PM
Ever since I was a kid. I've always wanted to be a pilot. Now is my chance, but there are a few matters that are preventing me from pursuing this dream.

1. It is extremely difficult to get a job at an airline. Most of those who graduated 4 years ago, just got airline positions last year.
2. It is very expensive (by my country's standards) to go through flight school.
3. In the event that I quit my job in order to fly, then try to apply for another job after flight school (while logging flight the hours needed to qualify for an airline), finding a new job will be very very hard given the economic situation here. Most companies have stopped hiring, some have already started firing, and I will be competing with thousands of other fresh graduates, jobless job hunters, etc.

Given the risk I will be taking by going into flight school, what advice can anyone give me? My parents have informed me that they will put me through either flight school, or graduate school. Have any of you taken the road less traveled and risked it all? BTW, I am only 23 years old, been working at this desk job for almost 2 years straight out of college.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Go with your dream........Dave Hickey
May 23, 2002 2:53 AM
You don't have to start with the airlines. Corporate pilots make good money. I have a friend that flys for an energy company in Houston(no, it's not Enron). He's never had a problem finding a job. Also, aircargo companies, such as FedEx and UPs are hiring pilots. Airlines still hire pilots. Two years ago, there was a shortage. It will happen again.
Go for it.Len J
May 23, 2002 4:21 AM
What's the worst that can happen? 5 years from now your back at a desk job knowing you gave it your best shot. Imagine if you don't try. 5 years from now you will be sitting and wondering, What if? and by then you may have other people relying on your income (wife, kids). If you do it now, the only one you have to take care of is you.

Life is too short & goes by too quick, for regrets.

Go for it.

Len
You have to do itPaulCL
May 23, 2002 5:13 AM
If your parents will finance your dreams, do it. There is nothing worse than being 40 and realizing that you didn't follow your dream - I see it everyday. Four years is a lifetime in this economy - meaning - jobs will be available.

I did the same thing, but in reverse. I went to medical school - someone else's dream. It took me three years of med school drudgery and pain to realize that I couldn't do it for the rest of my life. I hated it. I'm now a financial consultant - the perfect job for me. Go for it now, while your young. You'll NEVER regret trying.
You have to do itnetso
May 23, 2002 7:11 AM
I am now the Superintendent of Public Works for a small municipality, however like Paulcl I went to Medical school and finished because my mother wanted me to do it. I even went to graduate school and got a Ph.D. in Physiology. I did it for 2 years then had to follow my dream. Fortunately being a pro athlete worked for me, but I wasted a lot of time and money following someone elses dream.
OK, Netso...give it up..PaulCL
May 23, 2002 8:23 AM
"Fortunately being a pro athlete worked for me..."

What sport??
OK, Netso...give it up..netso
May 23, 2002 8:51 AM
I was a professional bodybuilder unti l991. Way too old now!
OK, Netso...give it up..PaulCL
May 23, 2002 9:14 AM
In a switch to cycling, how much muscle weight have you shed over the years? Hauling all that muscle up a hill would be tough.
OK, Netso...give it up..netso
May 23, 2002 9:29 AM
I weighed about 204# in contest shape, 215-220 in off-season shape. This was at a bodyfat of 2-5%. Now I weigh 198, less muscle, but too heavy for hills. I have been cycling since I was a kid, it is great fun and exercise.
How...mr_spin
May 23, 2002 2:17 PM
A professional body builder? How do you make money doing that?
How...netso
May 24, 2002 2:52 AM
Competitions ie., the Mr. Olympia have cash prizes. Also, you sell courses, write books, do seminars and exhibitions that generate income.
just curious, how hard are you on equipment?weiwentg
May 24, 2002 12:28 PM
I'd imagine that the result of you riding my bike (probably too small, though) would be folded wheels and a broken frame (and maybe even broken cranks).
From someone who's taken the road 'heavily' trod upon...rideslikeagirl
May 23, 2002 7:09 AM
DO IT!! You owe it to yourself to persue what you feel will make you happy for the rest of your life. Or at least until your mid-life career change.

You don't want to be behind a desk in 20 years and wonder why you're there and how in the hell to get out.

I was never taught or told that you could actually make a living by doing something you love.

It sounds like you have supportive parents and not many draw backs to this desire.

Best of luck!
From someone who's taken the road 'heavily' trod upon...Jon Billheimer
May 23, 2002 8:48 AM
I strongly second all the above advice. Although I've been successful doing what I "should" rather than what I wanted to do, I've paid a heavy personal price.

Unlike many others, you have the advantage of having parents who will stand behind you; you're young; and you have no obligations such as a family to look after. This is a no brainer!!
hey at least you know what you want to do when you grow upColnagoFE
May 21, 2002 2:31 PM
I still don't have a clear picture at 37 yrs old. For now it's managing an Intranet site, but I can think of more exciting jobs if they only paid as well as this--or even close.
I'm 44 and still haven't grown up....... (nm)Dave Hickey
May 23, 2002 12:34 PM
DO IT, you only live once and when YOU take control, you benefitOutWest
May 23, 2002 4:07 PM
Take it from a guy who tried and tried to do things "properly". I achived very high academic-technical grades in school,went to university, dropped out and floated for long time. In hindsight I realize I was stalled because I had failed at what I "should" of done and it was frowned upon to do what I wanted to do. When my first son was born I decided it was time to aim for what I was going to do for the rest of my life so I could support my family. I decided to become an electrician. Some people will scoff and say I'm just a lowly tradesman but so what, we are in demand now. I have my own company, set my own hours and answer to myself, for the past 11years I have been in control.
The sad part of this story is that from age 4 I wanted to sing opera and play the violin but I was told this was not a way to make a living. When I was 14 to 28 I was in several bands, wrote and home-recorded several songs but was told I shouldn't waste time with this nonsense, I should be studying for a career. I struggled between doing what I was told and what I felt good doing. Now, at 46, my voice is clear and strong, I love to sing and I would love to know how it would of sounded if I had followed my early childhood dreams.
I guess what I am saying is that if you don't follow your dreams I will hunt you down and beat you up, deal?
OW
PS I am a very happy man who is making sure he listens to and encourages his three sons and their dreams. My parents, who loved me with all their hearts, tried in their own way to make sure I was successful by their standards. Even though I feel they were wrong in their approach I will always be grateful for the fact that they tried so hard for MY sake. Tell your parents that I think they are very trusting, they must love you alot.
OW
THANKS A LOT!!....I Love Shimano
May 23, 2002 5:01 PM
I will bring up the subject to my parents again soon. The last time I asked them if they would put me through flight school was one year ago. Hopefully, they still feel the same way about it as they did last year. Thanks to all those who posted. It truly woke me up. I don't want to be behind this desk 5 years from now, wondering about the what-ifs.

Cheers!
go for itweiwentg
May 25, 2002 9:04 PM
I recently decided to switch from engineering to psychology/sociology, simply because I enjoy it (as yet, no concrete idea about what to do as a psychologist/sociologist). however, I would have been unfulfilled studying engineering.

my father is a pilot. flying as a commercial pilot will entail long absences away from home. this may or may not be the best option for your kids - my mother was a homemaker, but you should not expect your wife to be. eventually, you'll move up to instructor pilot (barring spectacular incompetence) and stay home more. but your children will be grown by then.
you'll probably get to learn to use tasers ;)
and the pay is good. it's not easy work, but the pay is (generally) good, and you get priveliges like free tickets, hotel discounts, etc.
you have much to decide. by the time you finish flight school, the economic situation may be better. alternatively, you could seek work abroad. I never had any inclination to be an airline pilot, so I never considered this in depth, nor did I ask my father about this.
whatever you decide, make sure you can live with it, if not enjoy it. ultimately this is what is the most important.
re: Career ChoicesFender
May 27, 2002 12:00 PM
I'm in a similar situation to yours. I'm 21 and graduating in about a month. Although I presued an International Business degree, I picked the wrong school to do so. I live in Mexico, and although I am a u.s. citizen, I never considered studying in the States, because I kept on hearing how expensive education is there. Last year I went abroad and went to San Diego State (GO AZTECS) and just out of curiosity asked how much tuition was. Was I surprised.. $858 per semester, compared to over 3,000 U.S dollars in my Mexican university. Sure, there are living expenses and so forth, but there is also financial aid, grants, scholarships and such, many of which I could have applied for. Long story short, I regret not haven taken advantage of such an opportunity, mainly because I kept on listening to others peoples opinions without further investigation on my part.
so in conclusion, do what you want, even if it means making less money or more money. Currently I'm trying to get a job in San Francisco... classmates, friends, family, etc. have bashed me because I want to move to the U.S saying that the lifestyle is different (individualist society), less values and morals, etc.. sure, most of it is true compared to the Mexican culture, but hey, if I don't like it or can't handle it, I can always come back to Mexico.. and I'll know that I tried!!!
good luck bro, and I hope your parents pay for your flight school!!!!
Tanks for posting....(more)I Love Shimano
May 27, 2002 9:29 PM
Really appreciate it, I guess this is a part of life that most people our age must go through. I've already informed my mom of my intention of going to flight school in the near future. Her opinions have changed a little bit, but I think I can eventually puersuade them. I'm not in so much of a hurry though, since getting into flight school (given you pass the medical) is a hundred times easier than finding a decent job in this third world country I live in. Just to give you an idea of how hard...I have two friends (average students, just like me) who are STILL jobless more than 2 years after they graduated from college. Good luck to you and all of the others who are in the same position we are in!