RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


You know you're in California when(30 posts)

You know you're in California whenDougSloan
May 15, 2002 9:43 AM
You know you're in California when...

1. Your coworker has 8 body piercings and none are visible.

2. You make over $300,000 and still can't afford a house.

3. You take a bus and are shocked at two people carrying on a conversation in English.

4. Your child's 3rd-grade teacher has purple hair, a nose ring, and is named Breeze.

5. You can't remember...is pot illegal?

6. You've been to a baby shower that has two mothers and a sperm donor.

7. You have a very strong opinion about where your coffee beans are grown and can taste the difference between Sumatran and Ethiopian.

8. You know which restaurant serves the freshest arugula.

9. You can't remember.....is pot illegal?

10. A really great parking space can totally move you to tears.

11. A low speed police pursuit will interrupt ANY TV broadcast.

12. Gas costs $1.00 per gallon more than anywhere else in the U.S.

13. A man gets on the bus in full leather regalia and crotchless chaps. You don't even notice.

14. Unlike back home, the guy at 8:30 am at Starbucks wearing the baseball cap and sunglasses who looks like George Clooney IS George Clooney.

15. Your car insurance costs as much as your house payment.

16. Your hairdresser is straight, your plumber is gay, the woman who delivers your mail is into S & M, and your Mary Kay rep is a guy in drag.

17. You can't remember...is pot illegal?

18. It's barely sprinkling rain and there's a report on every news station about "STORM WATCH 2002 ."

19. You have to leave the big company meeting early because Billy Blanks himself is teaching the 4:00 PM Tae Bo class.

20. You pass an elementary school playground and the children are all busy with their cell phones or pagers.

21. It's barely sprinkling rain outside, so you leave for work an hour early to avoid all the weather-related accidents.

22. Hey!!!! Is Pot Illegal????

23. Both you AND your dog have therapists.
sounds pretty similar to Boulder, CO (nm)ColnagoFE
May 15, 2002 9:45 AM
Yeah, but Boulder with ethnic diversity and star powerjtolleson
May 17, 2002 4:00 PM
you might be right about ethnic diversityColnagoFE
May 20, 2002 7:53 AM
there ain't much in Boulder...but you can keep the star power. i've never been one to worship hollywood stars anyway. they are like the american royalty these days. for the amount of money they take you think they could come up with some better movies. and i'm sure that the parts of california that are ethnically diverse are not generally where the hollywood stars live. they tend to stick to their gated communities.
Funny, almost all of those apply to Toronto.RoyGBiv
May 15, 2002 9:54 AM
Additionally, you know you're in Toronto 'cause the mayor has called in the army after two feet of snow have fallen.
did you create this?? it's really funny. nmAllisonHayes
May 15, 2002 9:57 AM
no, it is one of those email things that go around nmDougSloan
May 15, 2002 10:43 AM
....you have a pair of dress sandles.firstrax
May 15, 2002 10:27 AM
..........the tailgate of your import pickup truck says "YO"firstrax
May 15, 2002 10:29 AM
So, um...IS IT LEGAL?!?!?! :) nmrideslikeagirl
May 15, 2002 12:00 PM
Decriminalized in 12 states (??). Incl CA. i.e a civil offense128
May 15, 2002 12:49 PM
not a criminal offense. Still not legal, just not a crime.

The problem marijuana's having being decriminalized is, no one can remember where they left the petitions -G.Carlin
re: You know you're in California whenjrm
May 15, 2002 12:15 PM
It's 4 to 6', water's 70, it's 2 pm on a Monday afternoon and youve got the break to your self.
The list, with Boulder revisionslonefrontranger
May 15, 2002 1:42 PM
Some of these are kinda subtle.

You know you're in Boulder when...

1. Your coworker has 8 body piercings and most are visible.

2. You make over $300,000 and still can't afford a house.

3. You take a bus and are shocked at two people carrying on a conversation about Bush.

4. Your child's 3rd-grade teacher has purple hair, a nose ring, and is named Breeze.

5. You can't remember...is pot illegal?

6. You've been to a baby shower that has two mothers and a sperm donor.

7. You have a very strong opinion about where your coffee beans are grown and can taste the difference between Sumatran and Ethiopian.

8. You know which restaurant serves the freshest organic, free-range tofu.

9. You can't remember.....is pot illegal?

10. A really great parking space can totally move you to tears.

11. The cops have longer hair than you do.

12. The fine for smoking in a restaurant is $120. The fine for smoking pot is $35.

13. A homeless man gets on the bus with snowboard, snowshoes and/or skis worth more than your car strapped to his North Face backpack. You don't even notice.

14. Unlike back home, the guy in the Credit Agricole team kit standing next to you in line at registration actually IS Jonathan Vaughters.

15. Your car insurance costs as much as your house payment.

16. Your hairdresser makes more than you do, your plumber is a World Cup downhill racer, the woman who delivers your mail is Wiccan, and there are no Mary Kay reps because practically no-one in Boulder wears makeup.

17. You can't remember...is pot illegal?

18. It's barely snowing and there's a report on every news station about ski conditions.

19. You have to leave the big company meeting early because it's a powder day.

20. You pass an elementary school playground and the children are all busy with their cell phones or pagers.

21. It's barely snowing outside, so you leave for work an hour early to avoid all the weather-related accidents caused by the Californians and Texans who've moved here and can't drive in snow.

22. Hey!!!! Is Pot Illegal????

23. Both you AND your dog have Columbia jackets.
Works for Park City, too! nmBrooks
May 15, 2002 3:22 PM
so Boulder is a micro-California? nmDougSloan
May 16, 2002 5:22 AM
more like Venice Beach Eastlonefrontranger
May 16, 2002 6:29 AM
with less water and better scenery.
here's another colorado list i foundColnagoFE
May 16, 2002 8:20 AM
http://pub59.ezboard.com/fmordor69452frm26.showNextMessage?topicID=144.topic
Not quite that easy to characterizeLO McDuff
May 16, 2002 8:45 AM
Yes we have our share of "interesting people". Its a college town, what do you expect? The town is really diverse in the type of people. While the town is arguably the most liberal in the state (Aspen may be more liberal), it is interesting to note that we have a lot of conservatives and libertarians. For example, Dave Kopel (who writes for National Review and is a 2nd Ammendment expert)lives here in town. We even have a city councilman who used to work for (gasp) Reagan. Parts of town are very family oriented, middle class, and (dare I say) right-leaning. It makes for a town that is never humdrum.
re: You know you're in California whenbic
May 15, 2002 10:12 PM
They make you pull over and ask if you have yada, yada, yada!
After reading about California and Boulder..All I can say is:PaulCL
May 16, 2002 5:38 AM
Thank God I live in Kentucky!

Where the people are normal
the pot IS illegal
coffee is just coffee
George Clooney is spotted occasionally becuase he was born five miles from my home and his parents still live here
A Gay hairdresser or a person with purple hair still gets tarred and feathered
$300,000 income will get you one BIG house
Insurance still sucks but its' reasonable
People have no clue what arugula or tofu is

and

the people are very friendly and down to earth

and

the cycling is beautiful
So what you're saying isdsc
May 16, 2002 11:36 AM
Kentucky is a very friendly, down to earth sort of place, so long as you're a straight, white, middle-class, meat & potatoes-eating, toe the company line kind of a guy? In other words, *normal*.

Hmmmmm... glad I live in California. At least I'll never get bored :o)

-Debi
So what you're saying isDougSloan
May 16, 2002 12:14 PM
"Kentucky is a very friendly, down to earth sort of place, so long as you're a straight, white, middle-class ..."

no, no, no -- they are perfectly accepting of low class people in the midwest and south, too. :-)

Doug
Hahahahaha!!! (nm)dsc
May 16, 2002 12:56 PM
So what you're saying isPaulCL
May 17, 2002 5:32 AM
OK..just a joke. We have our fair share of kooks, wacko's, avant-garde (sp?), etc.... As someone mentioned, just head into one of the "hollars". Of course, California leads in the race for % of population who are "different". How's that for politically correct?? (Remember,"different" is being defined by this straight, upper middle-class, married, 40yr old, white married guy who lives in the 'burbs)

My reference to tar and feathers was just a joke on the Kentucky reputation as being backward. KY has three main urban centers: Louisville, Lexington, and Northern KY across the river from Cincinnati. The rest of the state is very rural. We have it all. Peace. Paul
yup...i agree with ya there (nm)ColnagoFE
May 16, 2002 12:19 PM
oh, come on outDougSloan
May 16, 2002 12:28 PM
There are plenty of pockets of back-woods, redneck, jacked-up pickup driving folk. The "interesting" characters are mostly in the big metro areas. Head up into some of the mountain territories and you'd think you were in the Appalachians, banjos and all.

Doug
oh, come on outdsc
May 16, 2002 1:02 PM
And you don't really have to go THAT far out of the city to find them, either (cue theme music to "Deliverance" now...)
a lot of those sound like UT...dustin73
May 16, 2002 5:27 PM
no, not Utah, University of Texas.
re: It is Vancover BCsctri
May 16, 2002 6:51 PM
and all that legal pot... we probablly grew that...
Not my thing at all, but it, which is technically an illegal narcotic was, by gross dollar amount, one of our top ten exports, perhaps even top 5... I'll check on that.

rc
California is all about freedomStarliner
May 19, 2002 10:27 AM
One may not like or agree with what one sees and hears in California, but that's what choice is all about. Without what California is, freedom would just be a meaningless word. So I replied to the boorish guy next to me an Irish midtown bar in NYC who had just finished sneering at us flaky Californians.