RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attended(34 posts)

May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attended128
May 10, 2002 4:33 AM
not in order of course...

1-Jimmy Cliff '73-Orpheum, Boston, my first show...awesome.
2-Stevie Ray Vaughn (&Jeff Beck)- about 4 months before that damn helicopter ride- Providence RI. Spectacular.
3- Jack DeJonette-'83? UMass Amherst- 1st fusion show- permanently mind altering.
4- Living Colour- right up close on Vernon Reid's stage-He kills me...what a nut!
5- Joe Perry Project- right under his feet at the Orpheum- just after the Aerosmith split- he was pissed and just shredded that Strat for 2 and a half hours...

Notables:
The Tubes -way fun
Janes Addiction -way scary
Well Babies (local, long dead boston band) -wayward Bezerkleys
Santana
Arthur Fiedler and the Pops, July 4th, (1812 Overture!)

But the most amazing thing I've ever seen was Marcel Marceau perform, UMass Amherst, maybe '84 Masterful.

I wish I could say I saw the TdF leaders but when I visited my friend in So. France, she tells me as we're standing on the patio; the TdF went right past on this road 2 weeks ago...Howdya like that.
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedJS Haiku Shop
May 10, 2002 5:26 AM
soundgarden--the year they quit

walt mink--small venue

nirvana--before "nevermind" got really popular--small venue

rush--outside amphitheater, in the first ten rows, oooh!

live--musicfest, in the mud & rain

ben folds five--in a theater-type auditorium

barenaked ladies--always good showmen

henry rollins band--before he got lame and got good again

bob mould--most recently attended show. met the man. life goal.

and the list goes on, and on, and on...
more...JS Haiku Shop
May 10, 2002 6:22 AM
aerosmith--true "monster of rock" band, large venue

sting--several times through town, saw each

social distortion--in their rockabilly-look phase. several times through town, saw each. easiest *the loudest* show i've ever attended

rod stewart--had a good, long nap on the second row!

OH, I FORGOT! tool--three times through town. first was small venue, awesome. second larger venue, not so awesome. third, huge auditorium, A-W-E-S-O-M-E show. that was the latest release.

peter murphy (ex-bauhaus vocalist)--in a small town in uppere NY, in a small converted theater. most amazing.

springsteen--my wife was about 8 months pregnant. junior didn't like sprinsteen, but he sure did like about every other kind of music i played at home. "the boss" is a true rock diety.
Good Rush StoryBeaver
May 10, 2002 7:38 AM
Two of my friends and I saw Rush on the Roll the Bones tour at Blockbuster Pavillion in Charlotte. They used to do a canned food drive at their concerts..don't know if they still do it...but anyway, you give some cans to the food drive and you get a chance to win 2 front row tickets. So we each give a can of sucotash and lo and behold about 10 minutes before the show, they call my friends number. He won front row seats! Only problem was that there were 3 of us and only 2 tickets so I only saw half the show from the front row. I was right under Alex. Truly incredible.

But by far, the best Rush concert I saw was the Counterparts tour in Charlotte again. They played the whole 2112 album and then went into Natural Science. Now that was AWESOME.

Only other memorable show was back in 96 or 97 with Hootie and The Blowfish at a small bar in Columbia, SC. What made that memorable was Mike Mills from REM getting up on stage and then going into an all REM set for about 30 minutes...which included my all time favorite REM song, Superman!
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedTypeOne
May 13, 2002 7:28 PM
Ah, JS we may have crossed paths. As I was thinking of memorable shows, I had to include Soundgarden's last tour stop through Seattle and a Nirvana/Mudhoney show in 1989 at the Paramount. Incredible. I apparently "saw" Nirvana play a frat house at UW in '88 or so, but I can't (hic) say that I remember much about them except that they hated everyone there and told everyone so.
The best tour lineup I saw, although I didn't realize it at the time, was The Pixies, Primus and Jane's Addiction at the Seattle Arena.
Ah, the memories. Soon, I'll be taking a teenage daughter to see whatever boy band is hot at the moment...
west coast vs. tha southJS Haiku Shop
May 14, 2002 5:19 AM
we may have crossed paths if it weren't for the great boundary of states...i'm in the south, and you're not. sorry to hear about the threat of boy bands hanging over yer head! the only suggestion i have is to remove the laces from your scuffed combat boots, duct tape 'em on, and put some plastic in your ears to muffle the synthetic rhythms of the next flash in the pan.

wish i'd seen the pixies. i had the chance, just before they called it quits, but it was 300 miles away, and i was broke. there's a big regret. otoh, i never was willing to drive someplace to see primus, but i do have all their CDs at home. didja ever hear the "les claypool and the holy mackeral" CD? very interesting...
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedLen J
May 10, 2002 6:06 AM
1.) James Taylor, 1975, Main Line Theatre outside of Philly, less than 100 people, Carole King comes out of the audience & plays with him for an hour. Show lasts 3 hours.

2.) Bruce & the E street band, 1977 Tower theatre, Upper Darby, PA 5000 people, 5 straight shows, 3+ hours each, worked the stage crew. WOW

3.) Billy Joel & Elton John on stage at the Academy of Music in Philly. Dueling pianos.

4.) Beach Boys, 1971, Sopomore in H/S Never been to a concert with more horny girls (or at least they seemed that way). Discovered that girls liked both the beach boys & guys that weren't afraid to let loose & dance, great life lesson. A memory captured forever.

5.) Any Eric Clapton concert I've ever been to, they seem to get better and better. His musical & life journey seems to have added so much texture & reality to his performances.

Len
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedmerckx56
May 10, 2002 6:23 AM
pearl jam at the 1313 club in charlotte n.c. in 1992, right after "TEN" was released. $5 bucks to get in and $5 more for all the keg beer you could drink. skipped a final exam and had to go to summer school to graduate from college because of it. probably 100 people there. they played for 2 hours, no breaks and blew everyone away!
pink floyd- 1995 at clemson university football stadium. driving rainstorm, about two too many magic brownies. i think i enjoyed this on a much higher plain than everyone else around me. the rain intensified the light effects!
u2 and public enemy- 1992 at williams brice stadium in columbia, sc. it was funny to see a bunch of white hillbillies watching public enemy bitch about the oppression of the white man! i worked security for this one a got used a brace for bono when he fell off stage.
it was pretty cool.
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedMJ
May 10, 2002 6:34 AM
Slobberbone - various gigs
Old 97's - December 1998 Austin Texas
Afghan Whigs - July 1998/February 1994 - London
Reverend Horton Heat - various dates 1987-2000
Paw - November 1993 - Dallas Texas
El Flaco - July 1997 - Austin Texas
Rocket From the Crypt - December 31 1996 - San Diego CA
Maria McKee - 2000 - London

many more...
some are almost lost in a hazelonefrontranger
May 10, 2002 6:47 AM
It's a good ten years or so since I've been a regular concertgoer. I saw a lot of 80's arena bands in my early teens (Duran Duran, Thompson Twins, etc..) but the ones that really stick out for me are:

The Dead Milkmen at Mr. Mustards in Columbus, OH, small venue and incredibly rowdy crowd. I've never worn so much beer in my life.

Ministry (with Jesus & Mary Chain opener) at the same venue a year later, almost got killed in the mosh pit, for those who were never part of the punk scene this is why you wore steelcaps and a leather jacket with spikes.

Skinny Puppy at some old theater venue I can't recall the name of in Lexington, KY; my best friend's car died and we got stuck down there for three days. Some college kids adopted us and we partied nonstop until my friend's brother showed up to take us home.

The Crystal Method a couple years ago at Bogart's in Cincy - incredibly psychedelic and intense show. Felt like my SO and I were the oldest ones there by a decade, and definitely the only ones with "straight" hair, no tattoos or radical piercings and so on. Guess we are no longer cool.

I've seen Sting numerous times both in mega-venues and at a small, intimate theater in Oxford, Ohio. Must agree he entirely kicks ass.
Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedLO McDuff
May 10, 2002 7:15 AM
There's a bunch. Most of my favorite memories are from the early 1980's at Red Rocks. Park police would let you get in a line starting at about 4:00 AM and the gates opened at noon. Lots o' partying in the sun, usually an afternoon thundershower to cool things off, and great music in the evening. Getting there that early allowed for GREAT seats.

Here's my list (in no particular order):

1) Bruce Springsteen, Red Rocks, 1981 (Second show), 2nd Row)
2) Eric Clapton, Red Rocks, 1984, 5th row
3) The Who, Folson Field, 1982, Backstage Pass (met the band!!)
4) Crowded House w/Richard Thompson, Macky Auditorium, 1991
5) U2, Red Rocks, 1983 (Cold, wet, and lost a girlfriend because she wanted to leave and I didn't)
6) Rolling Stones, 1977, JFK Stadium (Memorable only because they came out, played three songs, and left)
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedjrm
May 10, 2002 7:29 AM
1. Grateful Dead
2. Who
3. "X"
4. UB 40
5. lalapoulosa (sp?)
I have a framed collage of ticket stubs to prove it.RoyGBiv
May 10, 2002 8:12 AM
At the late, great Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto, Ontario, Canada:
The Beatles, circa 1966
Beggar's Banquet, featuring the James Gang, Buddy Guy, Crowbar, summer of '70 or '71
Jethro Tull, June, 1972 (Thick as a Brick came out)
Elton John, September, 1972
Pink Floyd, March, 1973 (My girlfriend and I paid a total of $12 to a scalper for excellent floor seats.)

Other notables,
Renaissance and Gentle Giant at Ford Auditorim in Detroit, 1977
Pat Metheny, Thomson Hall in Toronto in that magical summer of 1987
Def Leopard, Copps Coliseum, Hamilton, Ont., 1989
Hawkwind, at a bar in Toronto, 1989

Funny, I didn't see anyone memorable through rthe nineties.
Wish I'd seen ....RoyGBiv
May 10, 2002 8:26 AM
The Doors (when Jim Morrison was still alive)
Led Zeppelin (when John Bonham was still alive)
The Who (when Keith Moon was still alive.)
MIles Davis (when he was still alive)

That reminds me, an addendum for the above list: I saw Janis Joplin (when she was still alive) in Festival Express, a travelling rock show in the summer of 1970 that also featured Ten Years After, Tom Rush, Mountain and others. Also I was that close to Felix Papalardi (sp?) (when he was still alive) when Mountain played a small venue in Toronto in the summer of '69.

Thanks for indulging me.
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedSpinchick
May 10, 2002 8:30 AM
My favorites seem to be fairly small shows:

Grateful Dead, City Island, Harrisburg, PA 1983
El Shankar, TLA, Philadelphia, 1991
Psychedelic Furs, Can't remember the name of the bar near Penn in Philadelphia, 1992
Web Wilder, Oak Mountain Ampitheatre, Birmingham, AL 1993

Several at the same venue, same year: City Stages, Birmingham, AL 1995
King Sunne Ade, Mud Honey, Iris Dement,
TLA, Jeez, I just had a flahback..............Len J
May 10, 2002 9:11 AM
Whoa, I'm better now.

1971, 16 years old, naive, ex alter boy. A couple friends and I go to the TLA for the Midnight Saturday night showing of the Rocky Horror Picture Show after killing a case of beer. Needles to son, no longer naive, no longer innocent but incresibly well entertained.

Thanks for the memory.

Len
Anytime...Spinchick
May 10, 2002 9:27 AM
just don't get too carried away with those flashbacks.

I've actually seen few good shows there: Brian Ferry, Cowboy Junkies, a few others. The acoustics seem to work better with fewer instruments.
You guys won't know this band.Sintesi
May 10, 2002 9:24 AM
Plasticland @ the Village Underground in NYC. Part of Cavestomp 2002. I f'cking laughed, I cried, I danced, I sang and hallucinated. Brainwaves like confetti. Big up to Glenn Rehse and John Frankovic!! Best of all time and may they rule like psychedelic princes always from their private valhalla located in Milwaukee. Great, great show! Pop OP drops with vodka martinis and manhattans (w/ two cherries) for everyone. Whooeee!! still high off that one.

Electric Prunes weren't bad either.
The infamous "Who" concert in CincinnatiPaulCL
May 10, 2002 10:15 AM
A bad memory, horrible event (11 kids died) but it was an awesome concert.

Bruce Springsteen. Nashville 1981. I stood/sat in line for 48 hours for tickets. Ended up buying 8 front row and 8 2nd row seats. Made $400 profit, got a girlfriend, sat in the front row of a great concert, patted Springstein on the head, girlfriend spent the money, girlfriend dumped me.

Jimmy Buffet in Cincinnati (5 times). Always a party. We, grey skied, repressed parrotheads just love Buffet. Start with a tailgate party of seafood, alcohol, steaks, alcohol, junk food and more alcohol. Get dressed up in your favorite island wear (flowered shirts, thong bikini's, etc..) and dance and party throughout the show. The last show I attended, Don Johnson and Melanie Griffith showed up on stage. He was into it, she could care less. If you remember the second half of the concert, you didn't have enough margarita's.
I saw Buffett first time in 1974. I've seen him 23 times (nm)Dave Hickey
May 10, 2002 11:31 AM
1973....A new opening act named Lynyrd SkynyrdDave Hickey
May 10, 2002 11:06 AM
Lynyrd Skynyrd in 1973. The were the opening act for JoJo Gunn and Country Joe and the Fish. They blew every one away
Bitchin. Reminds me Van Halen opening for a wilting Black128
May 10, 2002 11:18 AM
Sabbath in the late sweventies. Eddy kicked their ass so hard as openers they finally fired VH, quit the tour, or refused to go on at all...Don't mess with Ed: the only guitarist who can play 64th notes with the melodic complexity of Bach. Of course as Ed would have it: "Alan Holdsworth can do everthing I can do with one hand."
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attended4bykn
May 10, 2002 12:16 PM
My first concert: Brownsville Station opened for Foghat, 1975. B.S. blew, but Foghat was cool.

Bob Dylan last summer at Illinois State Fair, he did All Along the Watchtower(great), Masters of War(unbelievable), and a whole bunch of other old songs of his.

Neil Young at Redbird Arena, Normal Ill. Opening acts: Sonic Youth and Social Distortion. My ears rang for hours. They played a recording of Hendrix's "Star Spangled Banner" while setting up the stage for Neil....Cool.
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedempacher6seat
May 10, 2002 12:37 PM
Smashing Pumpkins - on their farewell tour

Foo Fighters - BC Place... kick ass show

Deftones - almost crapped my pants in fear of being ran over by what appeared to be 20 pro football players starting a brawl.

Finger Eleven - Seen 'em three times now... they're not big in the states, but anyone who's into the hard rock/alternative scene should really check them out, they're amazing.

Big Wreck - besides the fact that they come on stage so drunk they can't say their own names, they're pretty fun to watch!

Gob - ...

U2 - An amazing band... I just love it how the whole band stays pretty much motionless they whole show and Bono just runs across the stage a bunch of times =).
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedDINOSAUR
May 12, 2002 8:37 AM
This will show my age but....

1. Cal Tjader
2. Miles Davis
3. Modern Jazz Quartet
4. Mongo Santamaria
5. Santana
6. Pablo Cruise
7. The Spinners
8. George Winston
9. Willie Nelson
10. Ambrosia
11. Sammy Davis Jr.
12. Charlie Daniels

That's all my old dinosaur brain can remember at this time..
Hmm, I always pictured you as a rabid Alice Cooper fan.Sintesi
May 13, 2002 7:26 AM
Maybe a little Deep Purple and David Bowie on the side. How was the Mosh pit at the Cal Tjader show?

: )
Hmm, I always pictured you as a rabid Alice Cooper fan.DINOSAUR
May 13, 2002 8:18 AM
I saw Cal Tjader live when I was a teenager back in the late 50's at the old Black Hawk Night Club on Eddy Street in San Francisco. I learned how to play the congas and bongos by locking myself in my bedroom and listening to his records by the hours. I still play the congas to this day and have a pair in our living room. I think somewhere I have some latin blood in me.
Probably the best show I saw for the money was Willie Nelson. He just gets up on the stage and starts singing one song after another for hours...
Congas and Bongos? Definitely no slam dancing there.Sintesi
May 13, 2002 10:37 AM
One of the most brilliant men of the 20th century was a bongo enthusiast - Richard Feynman AKA "the best mind since Einstein." So I guess you're in good company. Personally I don't get it daddio.

However, I'd turn up for Willie and the boys just about any time.
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedharlett
May 13, 2002 11:55 AM
when i was almost 5 my parents took me with them to the band's last waltz concert in san fransico-- very fuzzy memories but i do remember dancing to joni mitchell singing coyote and i have a white sweater with the signatures of mitchell, emmylou harris, muddy waters, bob dylan, neil young, charlie keagle, eric clapton, garth hudson, robbie robertson and rick danko on it-

the best with more detailed memories...
rage against the machine. may 1994 at the landgraff holland pinkpop festival
dave matthews. august 1995 at red rocks
macy gray. new years eve 1999 at the arcadia in santa monica
diana krall. july 2000 at the montreux jazz festival--
I hope you have that sweater protected.Len J
May 13, 2002 2:23 PM
To listen to that group jamming, would be incredible.

What's the story on the sweater? How did it happen & how did you get it?

Len
it isharlett
May 13, 2002 8:12 PM
len..two of the cinematographers, vilmos zsigmond and laszlo kovacs, that filmed the concert were family friends-- i was too young to remember much-- i have stronger memories about san francisco than the concert (one of my favorite cities now)--
.i was wearing the sweater and i can barely remember people signing it backstage-- the way my mother tells the story. the musicians saw this little girl enjoying herself so much that once joni mitchell signed it others wanted to-- laszlo says he was holding me while dylan and clapton signed it--
my mother framed it in a double sided plexiglas frame-- i think it's a more important memory for my mother than for me-- i've always enjoyed the stories about the concert and appreciate the meaning of the event and the sweater--
.i too think it would have been an incredible experience to really listen to all that music that night-- i have the original lp's of the concert and the cd's, nothing like a live event thought-- wishing i was older than i was then--

lauren
catch 22...Len J
May 14, 2002 4:31 AM
if you were older, they probably wouldn't have signed it. Knowing what kind of "shape" they were in at that time in their lives, I wonder if they remember it?

Kids natural exuberance does tend to remind us all of the implicit joy in things. I would guess that you, in the midst of what for them was a business, reminded them of the joy in music, which is why they gave you such a gift. The greatest gift I ever got from my kids was seeing the world thru their eyes, re-glimpsing that wonder at a new discovery, that joy of being totally in the moment.

BTW, Clapton is one person that I would like to spend a day with. He seems to have taken everything that life has thrown at him and used it to grow.

Thanks for the story.

Len
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedhrv
May 16, 2002 11:30 AM
From my childhood in N.Y., when my older sister took me:

Temptations, 4 Tops, Wilson Pickett, James Brown, sometime between 1965 - 1967.

From my college days in Madison, WI ( '73 - '77)

The Who, Eric Clapton, Grateful Dead, J. Geils, David Bowie, Bob Marley, Burning Spear, CSNY, Santana, many others whose memory has vanished in a cloud of smoke!
re: May I induge? Favorite/memorable live shows you've attendedbic
May 27, 2002 9:44 AM
All between 69-72 All on east coast while in Navy.

Yes
Led Zepplin
The Who
Black Sabbath

On one weekend saw Yes open for Ten Years After at small college. Williams Mary? can't remember :( then The Who in Charlotte the next day. Six of us in two Bugs and only money for the tickets and a few other things.

Youth it's a shame to waste it on the young :)