RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Problems getting RBR jerseys(18 posts)

Problems getting RBR jerseysPaulCL
Apr 9, 2002 4:53 AM
I talked to Voler yesterday. They would want a minimum order of 50 jerseys. The would not keep them in inventory, I (or someone) would have to buy them then distribute (read:sell) them to RBR members.

I don't have the $2000 to risk on that one. Any takers? Any other ideas??
I have some ideas on how this might happenKristin
Apr 9, 2002 8:48 AM
However, I have some questions on legalities. Can we, the board contributors, design a jersey that incorporates the RBR logo without the express permission of RoadBikeReview.com???
Hey Gregg...a RBR jersey question for youPaulCL
Apr 9, 2002 9:17 AM
Kristin: I think the legalities of the situation may have halted this once before. Let's ask gregg....

Gregg: Can we have RBR jersey's produced?? Can RBR do it?? Any suggestions?
You totally have my blessing!...gregg
Apr 10, 2002 8:37 AM
...and I'll even kick in something for the fund. This would be my own personal contribution, seeing as how we have no marketing budget. 'Course, I'd like a coupla' jerseys myself!

I have hi-rez versions of the logo if someone needs it.

Don't worry 'bout the legal eagles, I totally approve and will submit that in writing if needed.

-gregg
(ps sorry for the late reply)
re: Problems getting RBR jerseysnetso
Apr 9, 2002 9:21 AM
Why does RBR not sell the Jerseys after a suitable design. Once they have collected the funds, they could order. I certainly would order one or two.
good idea....Oh Gregg....PaulCL
Apr 9, 2002 10:25 AM
Voler.com has a template on their webpage for designing your own jersey. First of all, we should have a jersey design contest (winner gets a free jersey).

Once the design is chosen, I would happily pre-pay for a jersey as I am sure, others would too. Putting our handle on the jersey would more than likely be up to the individual because there is no way to mass produce individually customized jersies. Perhaps we could incorporate space within the jersey design for each of our handles to be sewn or written on.

Gregg...how about it?? Jersey design contest. Followed by requests for pre-payment on a RBR jersey? I'll help anyway I can. Paul
Paul, please email again....gregg
Apr 10, 2002 10:36 AM
...I missplaced your email somewhere, and now I can't find it.

Please email me again at gkato@roadbikerview.com

Thanks,
-gregg
Agreed, and that was my idea toKristin
Apr 9, 2002 10:26 AM
I'm willing to pre-pay for my jersey. I've done it before.
will never happenzooog
Apr 9, 2002 1:31 PM
not to be a downner but it will never happen. RBR will not allow individuals to design and sell a jersey and will not sell one on there own. Nice idea but not a big enough market out there for this.
Bicycling.comjtolleson
Apr 9, 2002 3:41 PM
is allowing it and the jerseys for that forum have perhaps even been ordered.

Of course, I have no interest in buying a jersey that advertises how I spend time online. No offense to you nice people, but this is not an idea that interests me in the least.
Bicycling.comPaulCL
Apr 10, 2002 5:00 AM
I view the jersey purchase not as a way to advertise for RBR or how I spend time on line, but to meet other RBR members at various big rides. I do at least a half dozen 'big' organized rides per year, and would like to meet some forum members. Besides, I can always use another jersey.
I disagree...gregg
Apr 10, 2002 8:42 AM
...as Site Manager of RoadbikeREVIEW I have absolutely no problem with our online community wanting to help fly our colors (and market our site), and some are even willing to pay to do it! I think it's an excellent idea!

I also think having an online vote would be great, too! If I'm not mistaken, Francis did a similar thing with the Mtbr jerseys way back when. And I don't see why the design winner shouldn't get a free one.

I am willing to kick in $200 of my own money towards the cause.

-gregg
I'm in. . .js5280
Apr 10, 2002 12:07 PM
Sounds like a great idea. I have no problems advertising this forumn because I do support it and it would be cool to be able to pick out other memebers on rides. If only to stick my frame pumps in their spokes as retribution for their flame posts ;-) Hell I have a Trek jersey and don't even own one.
RBR jersey timingHap
Apr 11, 2002 7:54 AM
I'll take a jersey.

Did Voler give any estimate on production time? After a similar thread late last May I contacted Voler. At that time they were taking orders for fall production. So, we should act quickly to get RBR jerseys this year.

I'd "hap"ily prepay.

Hap
Question's for Gregg??Kristin
Apr 11, 2002 9:50 AM
So is this going to be a private party deal then? RBR will not be buying and keeping any jerseys for later sale or making a profit on this??

If that is the case, then the whole thing would hinge on making at least 50 actual sales. If 50 people say yeah, then 20 cheese~out, someone is stuck with alotta jerseys. Could you create some kinda jersey order form online? No money would be collected at that time, but they would be required to put in a valid shipping address and phone number. If we don't even get 50 orders then its a bust anyway, no need to spend time designing a jersey.
i'll prepay for one. nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 12, 2002 6:36 AM
Good idea! I would like one.Mike P
Apr 17, 2002 9:23 AM
I think it would be nice to have a way to recognize people we know from here and haven't met yet.

Mike
I'll take one please. nmKen of Fresno
Apr 17, 2002 11:23 AM