RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


RBR rides and/or jerseys?(22 posts)

RBR rides and/or jerseys?4bykn
Apr 5, 2002 2:24 PM
This was mentioned in another thread and warrants a thread of its own. How many of us are interested in one or both? Anybody willing to do design work on jerseys? Anyone willing to host a regional RBR ride? Any thoughts from Gregg and staff? I think jerseys could be done with no cost to RBR, if enough people are willing to do some of the work, and enough are willing to buy one.
Both!Spinchick
Apr 5, 2002 2:45 PM
I would buy one for sure. It would be really cool if they had our screen names on the back.

As for the ride - as long as it's after September 2002. Otherwise I'll end up as designated SAG driver (which wouldn't be too bad I suppose).
Both for me!IAM
Apr 5, 2002 3:35 PM
Depending on the time of year and the availability of holidays, I would love to get together for a ride. I think geography would be a great concern, at least for those of us in North America( it's a pretty large continent).If we were to hold it in the fall, Spinchick would be able to join us and I might be in good enough shape by then so my fat a$$ doesn't get dropped on every ride.
As for the jersey, I only have one right now and it makes me look like the pilsbury dough boy, so anything that fits would be an improvement. It's a team jersey and we only had one xl and another guy really needed it worse than I did, I had to take the large.
So anyway if everything works out you can count me in for both.
I'd buy a jersey.look271
Apr 5, 2002 4:27 PM
Ride would be cool, too. Make it late for Spinchick. Regional rides would be good.
Of course, its' yes. Since it was my earlier threadPaulCL
Apr 5, 2002 6:59 PM
4bykn...thanks for taking up the cause. I'll help in any way I can.

How about asking Voler?? If I remember correctly, they (meaning Voler) were working on a jersey design for us once before. The jersy idea comes up about once a year then it dissappears again.

Hosting a ride? Any idea of what kind of work it would involve? I would be more than happy to help or even be the "midwest" point man. Any input? Paul
Sounds like fun....Hey Gregg!4bykn
Apr 6, 2002 6:20 AM
The ride(s) would be geographically challenging to set up. A member from "the midwest" could conceivably drive over 500 miles to attend a ride, and remain in the midwest. We may need to divide to smaller geographic areas, which almost defeats the purpose. So, Paul, where in the midwest are you located? Central Illinois here.

If this doesnt work out logistically, perhaps a "virtual group ride" could be done. A few of us in small groups all on the same day, and we could post notes, observations.

I like the jersey idea, we could wear them to centuries etc and identify each other. With our screen names on the back, maybe we could add a surcharge for members to have their name on it, to help cover the design costs. I know this has all been said before, but it bears revisiting if there is enough support.
Sounds like fun....Hey Gregg!PaulCL
Apr 6, 2002 2:12 PM
I'm in Northern KY just across the river from Cincinnati, Ohio.

Regrettfully, I think organizing any group rides would almost be impossible. But, not to give up hope, I'll do what I can.

As for the jerseys...I'll email Voler myself and ask them. Maybe they have some sort of "stock" design that can have the RBR logo added on with our handles somewhere on the back. I'll post any successes. Paul
Sounds like fun....Hey Gregg!4bykn
Apr 7, 2002 5:41 AM
Cool, and thanks in advance for your work.
Good idea...dsc
Apr 7, 2002 10:27 PM
holding a "virtual group ride". Although I'd definitely show up for something in the SoCal region.
And it would be fun to wear the jersey to events, etc. Count me in to buy one if the idea actually makes it into production.

-Debi
re: RBR rides and/or jerseys?netso
Apr 8, 2002 3:12 AM
I would like to see both!
re: RBR rides and/or jerseys?netso
Apr 8, 2002 3:39 AM
I know setting up a ride would be almost impossible, virtual rides might be the way to go.
Sign me up for a jersey!Kristin
Apr 8, 2002 6:32 AM
I hear what everyone is saying about organized rides, but I know that MTBR sponsors rides that have a fair amount of success. So I know it could be done. MTBR hosts about 4 rides a year right?

I'm not going on RAGBRIE this year. I've book several weekends of hiking in Wisconsin instead. But somone doing that ride should organize a little RBR party spot along the way! I do my first RAGBRIE next year. The trip would be more appealing if I was a beer enthusiast.
Oh Kristin.....PaulCL
Apr 8, 2002 7:35 AM
...if you post over on MTBR, why not ask them how they organize the rides?? Who does it?? Is it sponsored by MTBR or is it independent??

I'll handle the jersey part. I've already been in contact with Voler about producing a custom jersey for us all. My concern is that Voler will want someone to buy, say, 50 jerseys then "distribute" them to members. I'll be in touch on this board with any update. Paul
Don't post on MTBR - I don't fit in thereKristin
Apr 8, 2002 7:56 AM
I hate blood and gore and have two left feet. But I know somone who has gone on organized rides thru the board. But your right, I don't know much more than that there are a few a year. I figured Gregg would know what I'm talking about.
I'll be leading a couple of rides this year.MB1
Apr 8, 2002 9:04 AM
The 5th occasional NSA/OCE Century (with Snowcone option)near Manassas, VA in June and September. Spinchick can make the snowcones.
Dates please! Links?!look271
Apr 8, 2002 4:53 PM
I'm looking for a century in June and I'll eat a snowcone or 2!
We are deciding on the dates now.MB1
Apr 9, 2002 4:38 AM
There are a lot of rides happening in June we are trying to fit ours into a very busy schedule. I'll post the info here by the end of April.
Thanks (nm)look271
Apr 9, 2002 5:03 PM
i'm in on both counts (and one knee). nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 8, 2002 9:04 AM
Let's all meet in Kansas this October.RoyGBiv
Apr 8, 2002 9:46 AM
It's centrally located, including to the more-populated areas of Canada.
And, to save on shipping charges, we could pick up our RBR jerseys then and there.
Can we make sure the shirts come in XL and XXL sizes, please.

Brian C.
Let's all meet in Kansas this October.funknuggets
Apr 9, 2002 11:24 AM
Im with ya on Kansas... thats TWO!!!

Chris
Jerseys sound great, and a RoadbikeREVIEW Gathering hmmm???gregg
Apr 10, 2002 10:39 AM
It's all good to me. Don't know 'bout the RoadbikeREVIEW staff, there's just me!

If we could raise the funds, I'm all for the jersey.

For the 1st Annual RoadbikeREVIEW Gathering, really all it takes is getting a volunteer/organizer and a date(s) and location together. I can easily and readily promote the ride here and hopefully get some swag for prizes.

Just don't make it too far from Cali!

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com