RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Where is Do(u)g?(13 posts)

Where is Do(u)g?Tig
Mar 25, 2002 12:56 PM
Maybe I've missed something, but does anyone know what has happened to Doug Sloan? Perhaps he is busy attending his wife while she is preggers or doing something else. I'm not trying to pry at all, but am concerned since I haven't seen him post in months.

What I'm afraid of is he could have been hit while riding and is in bad shape, yet there is nothing we can do. You have to admit, we contributers may be separated by distance, but we are still real friends in a remote way.
He's posting under a new handle......Len J
Mar 25, 2002 1:08 PM
See the following:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.efa00cb/173

Len
Tanks, jus'wunderin' -NMTig
Mar 25, 2002 1:40 PM
Yea, I was too, then I noticed the above, glad he's OK. NMLen J
Mar 25, 2002 2:23 PM
Had to change my handle, too.RoyGBiv
Mar 26, 2002 1:50 PM
Seems it all began a couple of weeks ago, when the Real American controversy broke out. There was a requirement that you had to register and log in to the board. No problem there. However, for some reason my old handle, which had been registered a year ago - Brian C. - wouldn't take; for a while there I had to use brian. Now, I notice someone else has that handle, brian.

So, the cyclist formerly known as Brian C., then brian, is now RoyGBiv.
Sorry for the confusion.
At least you're a colorful character... nmSpinchick
Mar 26, 2002 3:01 PM
hanging outRideLots
Mar 27, 2002 6:31 AM
Wife is ok. She was on bedrest for a while, which required my full attention. She's still on track for a large baby boy June 18.

My mileage is way down to averaging about 108 miles per week since the 508 last fall. That's less than half the year before. I throw in some 300 mile weeks and it really hurts. I'm shooting for the Davis 24 hour race in April. That may be the end of my season, with the possible exception of the Central Coast Double in mid May.

I got very tired of personal attacks, and besides, I'm not "Dog" this year, as I'm not doing the 508 again in 2002. So, I thought a new moniker was in order. I'm going to lie low and chime in on the bike related posts only (except for this one). No more personal discussions or political arguments for me. Takes too much time, anyway.

Thanks for the kind thoughts.

Doug
Dude!MB1
Mar 27, 2002 7:36 AM
You gotta ignore the morons. A lot of us here are behind you 100% fighting the flamers and being opinionated but smart.

OTOH why make fun work. The board is supposed to be fun ain't it? And if you ever make it down to DC......although Miss M is talking about the Central Coast Double this year, could happen. Wanna ride with some slow old folks?
CCDRideLots
Mar 28, 2002 2:15 PM
Do you mean "slow" because that's just as fast as you can go, or slow in the sense that you want to enjoy the ride? Heck, I've never done that -- it might be fun for my last double before entering mandatory parental retirement. What sort of time are attitude you thinking about?
It would be nice to finish by 10pm.MB1
Mar 29, 2002 4:39 AM
I've done it 3 times, if memory serves CCD is pretty tough. Miss M and I pretty much average 13mph everywhere we ride regardless of the distance (that average includes all stops). We ride slow and don't stop much or long.

Our longest ride so far this year was 178 fairly flat miles-we were a little faster. On CCD we ought to be a little slower. Gotta remember we are well over 100 years old when we ride the tandem as a team. If we do CCD I am sure we will be on singles-don't think we would like Nipomo-Ferguson road on the tandem.

We probably won't decide till fairly late. We have tons of frequent flyer miles but my job situation is up in the air.
after that baby comesColnagoFE
Mar 27, 2002 8:50 AM
you'll wish the 508 was all you had to train for. Be prepared for some sleep deprivation! (just kiddin ya...enjoy the new addition and best of luck!)
Hey Ridelots, haven't talked to you for a long time, in fact...OutWest
Mar 27, 2002 10:25 PM
...the last time you were still planning for a baby. Congratulations and be prepared for a wonderful new turn to your life, you'll love it! Hope all goes VERY WELL! Encouragement to Momma and if you have any questions or just need to talk we're here for you!
Gord
I'll be in Davis in May...Kristin
Apr 1, 2002 7:04 AM
Exactly one month after that race. Bummer. I'd have stopped by to cheer you on! Best wishes anyway. Its been interesting to observe your journey over the last several months. Thanks for posting. I hope all is well with you and yours. God Bless!