RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


How much is too much? (Sorry cycling related)(27 posts)

How much is too much? (Sorry cycling related)MB1
Oct 27, 2001 5:01 PM
I thought I would post this subject here to see if I could avoid some of the flames on the other board.

Today was probably the coldest day in months-windy too. We started riding before sunrise and finished well after dark. We have good lights and all the equipment we need so that part of it is no big deal. It was a fine ride and we rode well-sure it was cold, hilly and windy with a bit of rain but we did get a nice 45mile tailwind section coming home.

As far as Miss M is concerned she wants to do this kind of riding forever. I usually enjoy it too but sometimes I think we ought to get a life. I'll be pushing 15K this year, Miss M usually gets a couple thousand more than me.

Am I living the good life and thinking too much? Are we nuts or just charmingly eccentric? Or am I just tired from a long ride? Ideas anyone, Doug what do you think?
re: How much is too much? (Sorry cycling related)Allen az
Oct 27, 2001 6:58 PM
15K???!!! Thats a lot of miles! Are you retired or something?

-aLLeN az
Nope, both mid level managers.MB1
Oct 28, 2001 6:40 AM
No kids though. When we ride the tandem we are 100 years old.
re: How much is too much? (Sorry cycling related)Jon
Oct 27, 2001 6:59 PM
A) You ARE living the good life!

B) You two are also charmingly eccentric.

C) You're definitely physically and mentally battered from the weather.

D) You're also the only guy on this planet blessed with a woman who could probably ride
the legs off your average Cat 1. Most of us in our fantasies would kill for a woman like
this. But I'm betting, when faced with the reality, we'd probably shrivel up and die in a
corner. Whether you "ought to get a life" is of course purely a matter of personal choice.
Consider how fortunate you are to be faced with such choices! On the other hand, you and
Doug could swap spouses for awhile just to get a taste of how the other half lives! But then,
that might not be such a great idea: Miss M just might have met her match in Mr. Sloan!

E) We all know that there is no definitive answer to the question of how much is too much.
This is kind of a rhetorical existential dilemma. Why don't you ask Miss M? Could become
the basis for a marital fight: Her, "What do you MEAN how much is too much?" You, "I was
just asking, honey." Her, "Well don't ask. That's a stupid question." And so on, and so on,
and so on.
Never too much !Patricia
Oct 27, 2001 10:04 PM
My husband and I are riding half 15k only...One thing is sure : we would really love riding as much as you do. It seems we never get enough of it !
And there's nothing like the two of us coming back home mentally and physically battered !

So don't worry. If it's too much,one of you will come to understand it in time !
two questions...Spinchick
Oct 28, 2001 5:45 AM
1. Do you enjoy riding as much as you do?

2. Is there something you would rather spend more time doing that you are not (because of cycling)?

If the answer to 1 is yes and 2 is no - go for it! Nothing wrong with being charmingly eccentric (and in better shape than 90% of your cohorts).

If the answers are the other way around you may want to have a nice, serious talk on your next ride together.
2 answers....MB1
Oct 28, 2001 6:37 AM
1. I'm not sure. It is kind of cool but sometimes I am pretty worn out. Last night for instance when we got home from our ride at 7:30.

2. Sleep-it's a guy thing. Actually I am not sure but there are a lot of things out there we have not tried-yet but we are young.

BTW how can you talk when you are gasping for breath??? ;-)
ComeuppanceJon
Oct 28, 2001 8:13 AM
That's what you get when you partner with an aerobically superior being!
She can go forever. Good thing she draws the line atMB1
Oct 28, 2001 9:10 AM
riding overnight. So the 508 is out.
Is that 15,000 miles or Kilometres?Dutchy
Oct 28, 2001 3:37 PM
Miles! nmMB1
Oct 28, 2001 8:08 PM
re: How much is too much? (Sorry cycling related)DINOSAUR
Oct 28, 2001 5:20 PM
I always have trouble adjusting to winter. It kind of shows up with a vengeance after enjoying beautiful indian summer riding conditions. I have to get a different mindset to get out there in the elements. And my riding conditons are mild in the Sierra Nevada foothills compared to other spots in the country. My take is that it is more of a mental thing. With all the new high tech cold weather riding gear it's possible to ride out the winter. In the past the bike went on the hook in the garage until spring.
I started to cross train with a Concept2 rowing machine as I had other obligations, then my rear rim went south. After getting back on my bike I discovered that it's true when they say there is no subsitute for cycling, accept cycling.
15K is a lot of miles, I usually average around 5K a year, and that is riding through the winter. Perhaps you need to taper off a bit. I guess the bottom line is if you absolutely enjoy riding then do it. If you are having trouble with motivation, I'd back off a bit. Your body and mind needs time to rest. All work and no play makes Dick a dull boy.
So... how many hours a week.....dirtbag
Oct 29, 2001 7:32 AM
...do you devote to riding and how do you get anything done besides riding?
Commuting, ride all day Saturday, 1/2 of Sunday. Usually.MB1
Oct 29, 2001 7:47 AM
Get what else done? We do what ever needs doing around the house weeknights. We have a row house in a nice established old area behind Georgetown. A very small yard. Shop on the commute home from work and mailorder.

We can do almost everything via bicycle. Sometimes the car sits for weeks (we got a minivan so the tandem and bikes could fit inside). The key is no kids, good health and a wife who wants to ride and can't stand to be still. I haven't used the hammock in 2 years.

Seems to be going ok but sometimes I get tired for a while. Like Saturdays 130 miler-did I mention we had a nice dirt section too just before it started to rain.
Aaaah so thats how you do it...dirtbag
Oct 29, 2001 9:24 AM
...I do about 16 hrs per wk on the bike. When not on the bike, I grab something off the "job list". I have a 2500 sq ft home on a 1 acre lot, actually I think I'm lucky to be able to ride as much as I do. We only have one child, he just turned twelve and comes home with er...sweet mother earth all over himself and his BMXer just like dad. He and mom are soccer fanatics, he plays on 3 teams and mom plays on 2. I tried it for a season but it was cutting into my ride time...can't have that! Needless to say, we dont spend much time in the "hammock" either. I'v been getting by on 5 or 6 hrs of sleep per night for years, big waste of time as far as I'm concerned.

Me and 4 other guys did 33 miles of SICK technical singletrack yesterday, took us 5 hrs, my legs are toast today! I finally made it over a narrow bridge that always had me spooked. It's about 16 ft long, 10" wide over some fallen trees with a 5 ft drop on either side (careful Robin, it's a long drop!).

Y'know you can get that tandem in the bed of a nice pickup.
Hmmm, I think Ford has a color something like celeste...

Enjoy!
ups and downsDog
Oct 29, 2001 7:32 AM
You all ride more than I do (I'm envious). But, you are doing it together. Bonus points for that.

Do you ride for a purpose, or do you "just ride." In other words, are you training for something in particular? Do you have a training plan? Those things help to keep focused.

There is a difference between just putting in miles and doing some quality miles. You might have more fun, get in better shape, and save some time by doing some shorter, more intense rides. I have no idea how you train, so that's just speculation.

Everyone gets burned out now and then, but especially this time of year. I did 104 miles Saturday, and was hard pressed to figure out why. Seems like every little thing hurt, irritated me, or just didn't feel right. But, when I got home I realized I had done the ride, a mountain loop I do fairly often, at a faster average speed than I ever have. Go figure. But, yes, burnout is normal. Try something different for a while. Go to some different places, ride a different bike, anything.

No matter how bad the burnout, you'll always bounce back. It always happens. Knowing that makes the burnout more tolerable.

No one can tell you if you and your wife ride "too much." It's a very personal thing. I'd be very envious of you, while many people might think you're both nuts. We live in America, where we have the Freedom to be eccentric, do stupid things, and make bad decisions. Ain't America great?

Doug
Right now we are just riding. Our only current goal is to see ifMB1
Oct 29, 2001 7:58 AM
we can ride every day for a year. Funny thing is we actually have friends who ride more than us-on weekends anyway.

We probably need to pick some rides for next year soon. Miss M likes to do centuries every day when we go traveling so organized rides other than the PAC Tour are not usually a good fit. Been thinking about John O'Groats to Lands End-1000 miles in 10 days.

We usually arrange to have a friend come along and drive from hotel to hotel so we don't have to carry much on the bikes. This also frees us from organized trips.

I have enjoyed riding fixed gears lately-I hope to get more than 1000 miles on 6 different bikes this year. Sometimes though I get to thinking about all the riding we do and shake my head in amazement/bemusement "How did we do that?".
how about the mileage challenge?Dog
Oct 29, 2001 8:23 AM
You might enjoy this: http://www.ultracycling.com/standings/jmcstandings.html
Chuck & Crista do it. To many rules for us. We often just likeMB1
Oct 29, 2001 10:25 AM
to roll out the back door in the am and ride all day. Typical Friday night discussion "Where would you like to ride tomorrow, what is the weather like, which bikes shall we ride?"
Too much for me ...tarwheel
Oct 29, 2001 10:03 AM
Whew! That makes me tired just reading about it. I've ridden nearly 6,000 miles so far this year and don't see how I could find time for much more. But I've got a wife who doesn't ride (anymore) as well as a darling 12-year daughter, so I've got no complaints.

I find that I often feel burned out and tired of riding after high-mileage weeks, century rides, etc. Taking it easy for a week always restores me. Lately I've been alternating high-mileage weeks (150-200) with shorter weeks (75-100) and notice that I feel much better.

Back to your question, though, I think as long as you're enjoying yourself and your spouse doesn't mind (or actually enables your addiction), that's great. Myself, I've got other hobbies and interests that compete for time with biking. As it is, I'm feeling guilty for letting my painting drop because I've been riding so much. The ideal situation for me would be able to commute to work on my bike and get in my daily rides that way. However, the roads where I live just aren't safe for commuting.
Risk of overdoing it and burnout....DINOSAUR
Oct 29, 2001 12:24 PM
Perhaps I might be talking up my sleeve here. I'm an over achiever and have a tendency to over do whatever endenvor I have participated in. I burned out running (actually ran myself into the ground until I sustained a lifetime injury). Swam laps in the pool until I started to grow gills. Lifted weights until my cloths didn't fit me anymore and slapped on 50 pounds over my running weight. Took up walking until I got bit in the hindquarters by a dog. Rowed on a Concept2 Rowing Machine until just looking at it made me sick. I dabbled in between all of this with cycling on and off over the past twenty seven years or so. Cycling is one sport I havn't burned out on. I always try to leave a little bit for tomorrow. If it starts to be a grind I take a few days off. My wife says I don't know the meaning of moderation, and she is right. I try to make it fun and enjoyable. You know the answer, however since you asked this question it is a problem lurking on the horizon. I'd say you are at risk of burnout, but only you know the answer. Or if none of this applies and you enjoy what you are doing then you are an eccentric and I wouldn't worry about it....
If it's worth doing, it's work over-doing.Dog
Oct 29, 2001 12:31 PM
I think a lot of us share that mentality. I don't want to do something at all unless I can do it well, better, faster, longer - whatever. Is there any other way?

It does come with a price, though.

Doug
If it's worth doing, it's work over-doing.Jon
Oct 29, 2001 1:36 PM
Dino,

Sounds like we've got twins for wives!! Or maybe we're the psychological twins. As Doug says, a
lot of us share the same mentality. I like your response to MB1: since you asked the question,
you know the answer!!

Given your history, Dinosaur is not an appropriate moniker. More like Intrepid?
goals. oh, and beer, too!Js Haiku Shop
Oct 29, 2001 1:07 PM
my goals have changed over this year after doing my first centuries, double metrics, and--now--that duathlon this weekend.

the mountain century in may was a shot in the dark. i knew i would stick it out no matter what, but down in there under the skin i thought i'd bonk miserably going up toward the sky 60 miles into the ride and either limp home or catch a ride. not so...my outlook changed at the top of the first climb, and, though i walked the last one, there was no stopping, no matter what.

goals this year, though the overall goal was to ride 3000 miles, were ride events spaced throughout the season. at the beginning of the year, i wanted to ride the local century, ms-150, and start group riding. over the course of this year, i've actually done the mountain century, a couple longer than century rides, and an additional century, as well as surpassing my mileage goal (eyeing 5000 now). i learned that group riding can be a good way to push your own limits, but i'm going to have to throw myself into some of the faster groups about town next season, have my arse handed to me, and recover, to make any headway.

all this to say that my goals aren't set (anymore) to be those i can attain, but those that are questionable, at best. next year: double centuries, more intense/*hard* mountain centuries, a 12-hour challenge, and either the 12-hour version of a 24-hour challenge, or the full duty. mind you, i'm not to the point of riding to find my limits, but i might reach that wall at some point next year.

for you, i'm not sure what your goals would be. there is no comparitive qualifier between us, as you're riding easily thrice my mileage without much thought. of course, anything you devote ALL your spare time to is bound to become tiring. it probably all comes back to what's in your head. is this what you want to spend all your spare time with? i think, were i to have that option, i'd force myself to back off a bit--if for nothing else, for the sake of yard- and housework. it's theraputic.
So, where's the beer?mickey-mac
Oct 29, 2001 2:04 PM
It's missing from your post, but here it is:

http://www.beeradvocate.com/

I know you're partial to the PBR, but if you ever decide to expand your options, you'll find all types of beer reviewed on this site.
actually, i quite like good beers (non-PBR) [gasp!], but...Js Haiku Shop
Oct 29, 2001 2:46 PM
i'd rather spend my dollar bills on "bike crap" and my spare change on cheap beer. :o)
15,000miles/24,000 kilometers is too much.Dutchy
Oct 29, 2001 3:13 PM
With all due respect. You stated "but sometimes I think we ought to get a life".
I think you should take some weekends off and go see a movie or maybe a food festival
or some other event that most cities put on during weekends.
Like most people here I ride quite often.There are weekends when I plan not to ride at all, eg. Melbourne F1 GP, Bathurst 1000, Indy 300 at the Gold coast.
These weekends I invite some friends over and we just sit there drinking some beers and eating pizza, watching car racing.
You NEED to have time off the bike to recharge your body and to keep yourself motivated.
Most of us aren't training for the Olympics, a lot of us don't even race at all.
So slow down a little and go for some shorter "50mile" rides on the weekend instead.
Also if the weather is crap, don't ride, you're body will thank you for it.

Moderation is the key. It's like eating your favourite food EVERYDAY eventually you WILL get sick of it.

Keep riding, just not so much.

CHEERS.