RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Thanks for the comments on the Passat, I bought a car..(10 posts)

Thanks for the comments on the Passat, I bought a car..PaulCL
Mar 10, 2002 7:24 AM
..and it's not a Passat. I bought a Nissan Maximan GLE. Once I test drove the Nissan, the Passat had no chance. More power (255hp vs 190hp), bigger inside, better mileage, nicer amenities like in dash 6 disc CD player, etc... And about $2200 cheaper and lower finance rates. At 3.9% for five years, it's almost 'free' money. Not a hard choice.

Thanks to all that responded to my Passat thread below. The only dissapointment is that I can't pick up the car until Monday or Tuesday. They didn't have my color choice in stock....I want my new toy....
re: Cool..jrm
Mar 11, 2002 12:54 PM
Maxima's are fast and handle..and dont cost a fricking fortune.
Sweeeeet! I'm thinking about a 2002 Maxima SE here soon. . .js5280
Mar 11, 2002 2:52 PM
255HP, Six speed transmission, isn't it unverisal that more gears are better? ;-) I hate automatics. Have to admit though, no car payment is a pretty nice thing though for now. Registration is coming up on my 95 Altima and my taxes won't be such a big hit in the wallet this year so it's probably that time. . .
Got the toy tonightPaulCL
Mar 11, 2002 7:01 PM
Wheeeeee.....lots of power. Yeah, its' an auto, but still rocks! Black, with frost leather interior, spoiler, whoa
Shibby!js5280
Mar 12, 2002 8:59 AM
The black is sweet. I'm leaning toward the silver, have a black car now so looking for something different. Watch those speeds or you'll be biking everywhere w/ a revoked license. . .
at least you bought something after all the advice you got....Starliner
Mar 12, 2002 10:33 PM
....somebody else on this board had people falling over themselves providing info and advice on buying a new car, only to end up keeping the old one.

I saw an Altima and thought it looked good - why didn't you get one of those instead?
AltimaPaulCL
Mar 13, 2002 7:21 AM
My wife liked the car, but I didn't. I just did't like the body style - too boxy. Personal choice. I didn't like the interior either as compared to the Maxima.

I liked the price difference - I could have saved about $2000 for a comparably equipped car. But since I will drive my Maxima for 6 -8 years, the extra bucks don't add up to much over that term.

Per your note on other posters....I think it is common for folks to post questions on this board (or others) just to start a thread or see their name on the screen. There's too much garbage already, we don't need any more fluff.
re: Thanks for the comments on the Passat, I bought a car..DINOSAUR
Mar 14, 2002 7:33 AM
I'm not too familiar with this car, however I've seen a couple on the road and they are nice looking. I was stopped behind one at a red light once and remarked to my wife that it was a nice looking car.

It pays to shop around and test drive. One of the best cars I've ever owned was a '85 Mazda RX7. It was purchased after test driving a bunch of cars and the price was hard to pass up. I wish I would have kept ahold of that car.

It's actually nice to see people let us know what decision they made when they ask for opinions. As opposed to people who ask advice and you never hear what the outcome was.
Your opinions...PaulCL
Mar 14, 2002 11:47 AM
I posted my final purchase becuase:
1. Since I asked the question, it would be rude not to give an outcome.
2. I truly wanted everyone's opinions to help me make a decision and I might ask for opinions on another matter someday.
3. I was guessing those who posted before might be interested in the outcome.
4. Most importantly...I'm thrilled with my choice and I want to tell everyone about my new toy!

Thanks. Paul
I was interested..DINOSAUR
Mar 15, 2002 9:40 AM
I was interested (or curious) in what your outcome was. The problem with internet forums is that people are always asking for advice, but seldom let anyone know which suggestion they followed. This is typical of the cycling general forum, people often encounter the same problems.

Enjoy your new car.