RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Gregg We have a problem Please Read.(14 posts)

Gregg We have a problem Please Read.Len J
Mar 7, 2002 6:37 AM
Someone is posting Gay & Lesbian bashing posts under other users names.

See the following examples.
cory. "Any owners or VW Passat's out there" 3/6/02 7:47pm

Harlett. "2 Dozen Crispy Cremes! Me birthday set me back $11.95!" 3/6/02 7:41pm

jtollesen "Thoughts on hate crimes" 3/6/02 7:32pm

MJ. "Shimano Flightdeck" 3/6/02 8:00pm

MJ. "Ex-wives and kids (Caution: rant ahead)" 3/6/02 7:35pm

They have recently turned off thier e-mail link but it was something like f**kfags.com

They appear to take a users name, add a period to the end and then post anti gay/lesbian bashing with strong religious overtones. If you look at the posts and compare them to the actual poster, the tones are different.

This behavior is unacceptable, I thought we were a forum that tried to stick by some human principles.

Len
Correction.Len J
Mar 7, 2002 6:42 AM
That's f**kfags@kill.com

Scary.

Len
re: Gregg Here is another one.Len J
Mar 7, 2002 6:51 AM
Harlett. "Thermogenics...safe for short term use?" 3/6/02 7:57pm

Len
re: Gregg We have a problem Please Read.MJ
Mar 7, 2002 6:57 AM
yeah - Gregg I emailed you earlier about the first one I saw today

thanks Len J - glad somebody else is on this too

BTW he's added a full stop (period in American) to my user name and Harlett's user name
ActuallyLen J
Mar 7, 2002 7:00 AM
It was his post using your initials that I (so emotionally) responded to below, that got me thinking that something was wrong. I was shocked that you would post such trash. Glad I was right, the post certainly didn't reflect your normal well thought out posts.

Len
ActuallyMJ
Mar 7, 2002 7:13 AM
I was worried that he'd been able to actually use my username - I almost missed the full stop!

and I don't imagine Harlett would have posted that stuff either

thanks for the compliment :-)
re: Gregg We have a problem Please Read.BikeViking
Mar 7, 2002 7:35 AM
As offensive as the troglodyte(s) who are doing this, we know they are there. Gregg will clean them up appropriately I am sure.
Thanks Len and MJ for the detective work...gregg
Mar 7, 2002 9:20 AM
...and thanks BV for the vote of confidence.

Yes, I have been working on solving the problems and I have found the cause and hopefully the remedy. Somehow, the mandatory registration to post on the RoadbikeREVIEW forums was turned off. I don't know when exactly this occured, (or how exactly) but it seemed to occur about the time our friend Cherry1 appeared.
I had been trying to track Cherry1 in an effort to effectively ban him.

Once we started having problems with other new aliases on the board, I started to track those as well. The current perpetrator of the above problems are from our friend Real American. Apparently, in some kind of retaliation for the thread calling for his banning (which would explain why MJ was one of the targets). RA has now been banned.

Mandatory registration to post has been turned back on.

Sorry to all the regulars (you know who you are) for having to put up with this rubbish.

Thanks to you guys for the alerts and the links, they really help.

To Mr. "Real American", please stop wasting everyones time. There is so little time in this world, it is a shame to waste any of it on such trivial matters.

-gregg, Site Manager RoadbikeREVIEW

p.s. Len J please email me (gkato@roadbikereview.com)
fantastic stuff GreggMJ
Mar 7, 2002 9:31 AM
if you look back, particularly on political threads that I got mixed up in - 'Real American' has posted before, usually similar stuff but never that far gone - sadly it appears to be a long time posterusing an alias to troll

thanks for effective moderating and trying to keep this a place where people will want to keep visiting/posting

happy hunting
Stay away for a day and miss all the fun!jtolleson
Mar 7, 2002 1:54 PM
And to imagine that one of the brilliant posts was in my name (sort of!). I missed the hoopla, but I can only imagine.

Thanks to everyone for their diligence!
You da, man, gregg! -NMTig
Mar 9, 2002 2:13 PM
Don't look now, they're using your name as well.Sintesi
Mar 7, 2002 10:38 AM
I thought that didn't seem like you. Thank God. Gregg check out under the probikejersey thread in the general forum.
got it, thanks. (nm)gregg
Mar 7, 2002 10:54 AM
Good man. (nm)Sintesi
Mar 7, 2002 12:34 PM