RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Any owners or VW Passat's out there(16 posts)

Any owners or VW Passat's out therePaulCL
Feb 28, 2002 8:43 AM
My wife and I were stuck on buying an Audi A6 until someone steered us to the Passat. Essentially the same car but for about $15,000 less. Those little cirles on the front grill of the Audi end up costing about $4000 each!

Any opinions on your Passat?? Reliability? comfort over time?? all that stuff . Thanks. Paul
re: Any owners or VW Passat's out thereDINOSAUR
Feb 28, 2002 9:15 AM
I don't own one, but I know someone who does. A guy I used to work with. A confirmed bachelor who main obsession in life is buying a new car every six months. One car he has kept ahold of is his Passat, not sure which year, probably a 97 or 98. Audi/VW/Porshe are all owned by the same company. VW has come a long way, my son and daughter-in-law recently purchased a VW Golf and I drove it and loved it. I was ready to sell my beloved Ford pickup and buy one, but I need the use of a pickup once and awhile.

I'm probably much not help, but have you checked Consumer Reports and back issues of car magazines such as Car and Driver, Road and Track for reviews?

15K is a big chuck of change.

Good luck, let us know what you do.

Dino
Just checked carreview.comPaulCL
Feb 28, 2002 10:16 AM
I checked the car version of this webpage.

The reviews love the car, but are questioning their local service. I think we are sold on the Passat. $15k is an enormous chunk of change particularly when it mainly buys a title or a label. I'd love the Audi label (we drove an Audi for eight years) but the Passat is a very nice car. My other choices were Acura, Volvo, Lexus, etc....too expensive. Besides, I like German cars. The Japanese cars will go forever, but they lack the...well...panache of a German car.
Service really not an issue..DINOSAUR
Feb 28, 2002 7:21 PM
We have a Toyota, Honda, and VW dealer in our town. The VW dealer also sells General Motors cars. The Toyota dealer has a bad reputation for service. We have delt with the General Motors dealership (our last purchase was a Buick) and they are lacking somewhat. The Honda dealer service dept. has a excellent reputation and has been in business longer than the other two dealers. Problem is the Honda won't deal much when it comes to price. But the dealership service really isn't a concern as you only have to take it to them if it involves warranty work.

I was fortunate as when I purchased my Ford truck I paid cash. It makes it a lot easier...
Service as a reflection of popularity...jtolleson
Mar 4, 2002 8:14 AM
I haven't found service to be a "problem" except that routine maintenance can be scheduled WEEKS out. The popularity of the Passat and the Beetle, with their free service for 2 years program, means that dealer service departments are a little slammed right now.
How About Quantum Mechanics?Me Dot Org
Feb 28, 2002 10:58 AM
...forget it... an old 'Car Talk' joke.

There are differences between the Audi and the Passat, but not enough to justify the price difference. The Passat is good bang for the buck.

If you're looking for good value in a similar sized front wheel drive car, check out the Saturn L series. Not sexy, doesn't get a lot of press, but excellent value for the money. Available with a 4 or a 6. The 6 doesn't have a lot of horsepower, but is very torquey so it responds well. Plus you get to deal with a Saturn Dealership. (I enjoy most visits to a car dealership slightly less than a root canal).
Love the namemr_spin
Feb 28, 2002 11:41 AM
The name "Passat" reminds me of the sound of a watermelon hitting the ground from high altitude. Passat!

A German friend tells me it is the name of a local wind, i.e., Scirocco, Chinook, Santa Ana
Love the namePaulCL
Feb 28, 2002 1:15 PM
Local wind...gas, fart, toot...great car names.
re: Any owners or VW Passat's out thereGone Fission
Feb 28, 2002 2:39 PM
When we were looking for a new car, we test drove the Passat wagon with the 4Motion (AWD) option. Nice car, handled well, and liked the interior space.

Here in Colorado, the VW dealers add a $4000 "Market Adjustment" to the sticker price. So we're talking about $36K total cost, and they weren't dealin!

We ended up getting a used (1999) A6 for a lot less than the VW. We were torn between the Audi and a 96 BMW 540 wagon (sweeeeet!).

Check out some of the lease returns for some pretty good deals on Audis.
Good ideaPaulCL
Feb 28, 2002 6:05 PM
We've checked on the lease returns. One of my neighbors has an auto wholesale business. Just a desk, a phone, a car, and a lot. He's found several Audi's just off lease for us - but a two or three year old leased Audi with 20,000+ miles is still $5000 more than a brand new Passat. Easy choice.

Thanks for the suggestion. Paul
Good ideacory.
Mar 6, 2002 7:47 PM
Because fags can't reproduce naturally, they resort to recruiting children. Fags can be heard chanting "TEN PERCENT IS NOT ENOUGH, RECRUIT, RECRUIT, RECRUIT" in their fag parades. A group called the "Lesbian Avengers" prides itself on trying to recruit young girls. They print "WE RECRUIT" on their literature. Some other fags aren't as overt about this, but rather try to infiltrate society and get into positions where they will have access to the malleable minds of young children (e.g., the clergy, teachers, Boy Scout leaders, etc.) (8). See the DC Lesbian Avengers web page. Also, see AFA Action Alert.
What the ??? is this? (nm)PaulCL
Mar 7, 2002 5:50 AM
nm
what happened to the leaking tranny in the jeep?slow-ron
Mar 1, 2002 7:28 PM
The passat is more like the A4 than an A6. It's still a lot more cash for an A4 but an A4 has a lot more features than a passat and I think it's a better car.

I'm biased towards Audi, however, because my last Audi had 250,000 miles on it before I junked it. I only did it then because I couldn't stand to look at it any longer, car still ran fine. My wife has a newer A4 that's exceeded all my expectations. The biggest difference, Quattro. We've driven that thing through a foot of snow without spinning a tire.

If you're stuck on passat you should still shell out $1,500 more to get the 4 motion option. Even if you don't live in a cold area it's worth it for wet roads and handling.
Jeep TransPaulCL
Mar 2, 2002 4:53 AM
There was no problem. It doesn't leak - the fluid was just low or never filled. The local Aamco was trying to scam me into replacing the tranny. I've driven the car for over two weeks since Aamco said I should replace the tranny - and there hasn't been even one hesitation. Scumballs. And the fluid hasn't leaked. I have two different sets of people scheduled to come look at the Jeep today to buy it - I hope.

As for the Audi bias - I'm with you on that one. My wife drive a 1990 Audi-90 for eight years before trading it in on a mini-van. Great cars. Super cars. The passat is actually an A-5 body/frame style. The A5 is sold only in Europe. So the car is a couple inches wider than an A4 but a little bit narrower than the A6. Put an A6 and a Passat side by side (as sits in my parking lot at work everyday) and its' hard to tell the difference. I'm sure there are engine, tranny, interior differences, but in our minds, its' not worth the extra $14,000. Those four little circles cost a lot!

As for the 4wd..in my area, we get a real snow about three or four times per year. I just don't think the 4wd is necessary. Besides, neither of the dealers in my area has one on the lot becuase there is no demand for them here.

Unless my friend in the wholesale car business comes up with a screaming deal on an A6, we will probably buy the Passat GLX. Funny, it's going to be 'my' car but my wife is choosing the color. Black with biege leather interior. I'm not overly fond of black cars (always dirty), but marriage is a series of compromises. Choose your battles.

Thanks guys. I'll let you know the outcome. Paul
Jeep Transslow-ron
Mar 2, 2002 6:22 PM
re-read your post on the jeep. at the end I posted some things for future consideration with regard to transmissions. My dad was a mechanic for 30 years and I've learned a lot from him about proper maintenance and home wrenching.

now the audi again. interesting learn that there's an A5. I've seen A3's in France but never an A5. Doesn't sound like I'm going to convince you into the quattro but there's still hope for the color. Our A4 is black and I hate the color. It looks nice 6 times a year after I wash it but that only lasts for a day or so. Every scratch shows. I'd go for silver or grey just because the car looks cleaner even when it's dirty.
Own it and Love Itjtolleson
Mar 3, 2002 3:13 PM
I have a 2001 wagon with 4Motion with all the bells and whistles, and it has the fit and finish of Audi and Beemer, I say.

I had been in an SUV for about 10 years (4Runner, Pathfinder, and Cherokee) and this thing (the 4Motion Passat) is HANDS-down better on slick and snowy roads. Sure, it won't be offroadin' anytime soon, but I don't do that anymore like I did in my twenties. The 4Motion system is the same tranny as the award winning Audi Quattro and I'd pick it in a snow storm over the BEST 4wd.

Not only is the Passat a nice car, it is also a good investment, thanks to solid ratings from Consumer Reports. OK, cars are never "investments" per se since they don't appreciate, but it is nice to know that resale could be decent 6 years from now.