RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Waylon Jennings... Is it true?(12 posts)

Waylon Jennings... Is it true?Spinchick
Feb 13, 2002 5:28 PM
I just heard that he died today in Pheonix. Say it ain't so! I remember seeing him in concert with Willie Nelson when I was 17. He was truly a legend.
sadly yesnm
Feb 13, 2002 10:39 PM
http://www.cnn.com/2002/SHOWBIZ/Music/02/13/jennings.obit.ap/
His passing is a remindermickey-mac
Feb 14, 2002 6:31 AM
of the sad state of country music today. Country artists today have to be pop stars to make it. Would someone like Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash, Merle Haggard, Hank Williams, or Patsy Cline be able to get a big record deal today? The world seems to be stuck with the likes of Garth Brooks, Shania Twain, the Dixie Chicks, and Tim McGraw.
Dukes of Hazzardjaybird
Feb 14, 2002 7:37 AM
Now who is going to narrate a Dukes of Hazzard reunion? If there ever is one...
Murder on music rowTxTarpon
Feb 14, 2002 8:39 AM
Alan Jackson complains that pop has killed country music. Funny, if that is true, Alan is driving the get away car. When the "Texas Outlaw Movement" started the Eagles and CCR were top pop music bands. Today those groups would be mainstream country.
I'll second that...Spinchick
Feb 14, 2002 8:51 AM
I've always been a big fan of Waylon, Willie, David Allen Coe, Patsy Cline, Marty Robbins, etc. I don't think the music played on country stations today should even be called country. Although I'm currently quite smitten with the Soggy Bottom Boys. "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow" just works me up like all the good ole' (real) country music does.
Oh come on!mr_spin
Feb 14, 2002 9:55 AM
Have we become our parents?

Styles change, music evolves. Do you think the Beatles could get a record deal today playing "Please Please Me?" Well they were 18, so they would have to sell themselves as a boy band and learn to dance. They are a great example for musical evolution. Could anyone imagine in 1963 what they'd be playing in 1968? I'll bet you can dig up plenty of articles written at that time complaining about the "sad state" of pop music. All because John and Paul bumped off Nancy Sinatra.

You could say the same thing about the "sad state" of classical music. Is there anyone writing music today that can compare with Mozart? As anyone even writing classical music today? I see Billy Joel wrote a piece. He's a pop crossover.

I'm a musician, so I like to keep an open mind by listening to all kinds of music. I don't claim to be an expert on country, but it's too easy to say country is in bad shape because there is pop crossover. True, some of these country stars like Shania Twain barely have any country connection beyond a two-step, but there are plenty of others who do.

I like The Dixie Chicks, because they can lay down authentic bluegrass and western swing, which is old school country. Good foot-stomping music.

Finally, Patsy Cline is timeless. She would get a record deal today for sure. Chances are, people would complain about her crossing over too.
Not memickey-mac
Feb 14, 2002 9:19 PM
I haven't become my parents. I like a lot of the music out today more than the stuff I listened to in my younger days. I'm generally not one to sit around and bitch about how bad things are compared to the old days. However, country music seems to be primarily about polished sounds and good looks these days. People who look and sound like Cash and Haggard don't fit into the 2001 scene.

In my opinion, the Beatles would get a record deal today because they'd be making music that's as important in 2001 as they did in 1964. Just as Merckx would be training differently today and would probably still be the greatest modern cyclist if he had been born in 1978.

All forms of music go through periods of little minimal artistic progress. I don't profess to be an expert on country music, but I do believe that the country music of the 50s, 60s, and 70s has held up much better than today's country music will hold up. I can't imagine many people 20 years from now pining for the good old when Faith Hill and Tim McGraw ruled the country scene.

On a final note, I agree that Patsy Cline would be able to get a record deal just about any time and place. I realized that including her was a mistake about 2 seconds after hitting the post button.
that great 70s countrymr_spin
Feb 15, 2002 10:34 AM
"ooo I'm driving my life away..."

"looking for love in all the wrong places..."

In the end, music is something you either like or you don't. Era, class, style, and whatever else don't matter all that much, unless you are a very close-minded person.

I love the punk kids who support bands with religious zeal, until they actually sell an album. Then the band is a sellout. The music is the same, but it doesn't sound good anymore?
Right,mickey-mac
Feb 15, 2002 11:29 AM
no decade has a monopoly on cheesy music.
Country music is alive and well, just not on the radio.MB1
Feb 14, 2002 11:00 AM
When I go throught my CDs I find all sorts of country. Bluegrass, Newgrass, Hillbilly, Cajun, CalCountry, Oldtimey...

There is lots of it out there. Who cares what they play on the radio? I only turn the radio on for traffic and weather. I think I'll listen to a little John Hartford AeroPlain music now.
Another one missing?The Walrus
Feb 15, 2002 11:58 AM
Every time people get started on the Outlaw Country musicians, they'll reel off a list including Jennings, Nelson, Coe, Kristofferson, etc., but no one every mentions Steve Young, a great writer and singer who just never got much notice. Anyone have any idea what happened to him?