RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Single malt scotch(16 posts)

Single malt scotchBikingViking
Feb 8, 2002 7:00 AM
I have only recently introduced to the fine world of Scotch, particularly the single malt variety. The Glenlivet and Glenfiddich are the only ones I have sampled so far.

Any recommendations would be appreciated, as I see the row of EXPENSIVE bottles in the liquor store.

Also, I do like it on the rocks, but is it a sin to mix single malt with club soda?

Just wondering...

Scott
re: Single malt scotchMJ
Feb 8, 2002 7:06 AM
Oban and Talisker are both great

single malt is very Hemingway
2nd the Oban. . .js5280
Feb 8, 2002 8:45 AM
Not much of a scotch drinker but I do enjoy the Oban. Skip the club soda unless it's cheap scotch. Some people flinch if you put even a single ice cube in single malt. I like an ice cube in mine though. Cheers!
Here's what you need to domuncher.
Feb 8, 2002 7:44 AM
Get, preferably for free (nice LWS?), a handle on the areas and tastes. Highland, Lowland, Islay, Sky, Speyside for starters. They all have very different characteristics and degrees of heavyness, peatiness and salinity. The lowlands tend to be lighter, working up to some really heavy,thick, smokey, peaty Speysides. Only rough guides though. Check out some of web-sites on whiskys - there are loads of them.

Here are a few of the basics to get you started:-

Here is a summary.

Distillery: Fairly obvious. The occasional entries out of alphabetical order
are different brands from the distillery immediately above.
Age: Ususally given as age in the cask or year when put in the cask.
Where a year is given, an age may be given as well if differs
from - .
Proof: Percent by volume of alcohol. Multiply by 1.75 to get degrees
proof. 40%=70, 43%=75, 60%=105, cask strength may vary but is
usually around 60%.
Cost: From Peter Green's Autumn catalogue (as I happened to have it
to hand).
Rating: From the book. Anything below about 75 he regards as flawed in
some way. 75-85 is acceptable to good, 85+ is very good indeed.
Comments: Islay and Jura malts are indicated as is anything which reduces
confusion about which malt is which.

Distillery Age proof cost/# rating, comments

Aberfeldy 1974 40 25.25
Aberfeldy 15 43 25.60 76
Aberlour 10 40 24.99 83
Ardbeg 10 40 20.75 85 (Islay)
Ardbeg 15 46 90 (Islay)
Ardbeg 1978 40 89 (Islay)
Ardmore 12 56.2 67
Ardmore 1977 59.4 66
Auchentoshan 10 40 85
Auchentoshan 18 43 86
Auchentoshan 1966 43 86
Aultmore 12 40 75
Aultmore 12 43 24.99 75
Aultmore 13 46 75

Balblair 5 40 70
Balblair 10 40 19.25 76
Balblair 1964,18 40 36.25 76
Balblair 1957 40 74
Balmenach 12 43 24.25 77
Balvenie 10 40 19.55 85 (Founder's Reserve)
Balvenie 43 87 (Classic)
Balvenie 15 46 80
Balvenie 1974 43 81 (Signatory)
Banff 1974 40 66
Ben Nevis 1966 40 55
Ben Nevis 22 46 56
Ben Nevis 1977 62.4 61
Benriach 1969 40 69
Benrinnes 15 43 25.65 79
Benrinnes 23 46 77
Benrinnes 1968,17 40 29.25 78
Benromach 1970 40 78
Blair Athol 8 40 75
Blair Athol 12 43 25.25 76
Bowmore 10 40 19.45 82 (Islay)
Bowmore 12 43 20.45 87 (Islay)
Bowmore (15) 43 87 (Islay)
Bowmore 21 43 89 (Islay)
Bowmore 1969 43 43.75 (Islay)
Bowmore 25 43 88 (Islay)
Brackla 1970 40 77
Brackla 23 46 76 (Royal)
Brackla 1972 40 27.25 (Royal)
Bruichladdich 10 40 19.95 76 (Islay)
Bruichladdich 15 43 78 (Islay)
Bruichladdich 19 46 79 (Islay)
Bruichladdich 25 46 74 (Islay)
Bunnahabhain 12 40 19.95 77 (Islay)

Cameron Brig 40 12.50 (Grain)
Caol Ila 12 40 77 (Islay)
Caol Ila 12 65.5 77 (Islay)
Caol Ila 1978 40 21.50 (Islay)
Caol Ila 15 43 25.99 80 (Islay)
Caol Ila 1977 40 77 (Islay)
Caperdonich 1980 40 19.75
Caperdonich 1968 40 73
Caperdonich 23 46 75
Cardhu 12 40 20.70 72
Clynelish 14 43 24.40 81
Coleburn 1972 40 66
Convalmore 1969 40 68
Cragganmore 12 40 20.60 90
Cragganmore 1974 40 25.25 88
Cragganmore 1972 40 85
Craigellachie 14 43 25.75 75
Craigellachie 1974 40 73
Craigellachie 26 46 72

Dailuaine 16 43 25.50 76
Dailuaine 1971 40 74
Dailuaine 22 46 73
Dallas Dhu 10 40 19.25
Dallas Dhu 1971 40 85
Dalmore 12 40 79
Dalwhinnie 15 43 21.75 76
Dalwhinnie 1970 40 76
Deanston 40 69
Dufftown 8 40 70
Dufftown 10 40 71
Dufftown 15 43 25.75 71

Edradour 10 40 24.60 81
Edradour 1973 40 85
Edradour 1968 46 80

Fettercairn 10 40 20.40 77

Glen Albyn 1968 40 71
Glenallachie 12 43 76
Glenburghie 1968 40 68
Glencadam 1974 40 68
Glencadam 21 46 68
Glencraig 1970 40 68
Glen Deveron 12 40 75
Macduff 1975 40 70
Macduff 21 55.5 76
Glencoe 8 57 22.50 (Vatted Malt)
Glendronach 12 40 19.95 (Original)
Glendronach 12 43 75 (Original)
Glendronach 12 40 19.95 77 (Sherry Cask)
Glendronach 18 40 30.50 (Sherry Cask)
Glendronach 18 43 79
Glendronach 1962 40
Glendullan 12 43 24.25 75
Glendullan 12 43 75 (cask)
Glendullan 22 46 74
Glen Elgin 43 76
Glenesk 12 40 66
Glenfarclas 10 40 20.25 86
Glenfarclas 105 8 60 26.95 88
Glenfarclas 12 43 87
Glenfarclas 15 46 25.40 88
Glenfarclas 18 46 88
Glenfarclas 21 43 30.85 89
Glenfarclas 25 43 88
Glenfiddich 40 18.95 75
Glenfiddich 18 43 78
Glenfiddich 21 43 81
Glenfiddich 30 43 86
Glen Garioch 8 43 18.45 76
Glen Garioch 10 43 77
Glen Garioch 21 43 80
Glenglasshaugh 40 76
Glenglasshaugh 1967 40 24.99 77
Glengoyne 10 40 18.90 74
Glengoyne 12 43 75
Glengoyne 17 43 28.99 76
Glen Grant 5 40 65
Glen Grant 40 74
Glen Grant 10 43 76
Glen Grant 15 40 80
Glen Grant 16 46 77
Glen Grant 21 40 28.75 81
Glen Grant 23 46 69
Glen Grant 25 40 32.85 81
Glen Grant 26 46 66
Glen Grant 1964 46 79
Glen Grant 1960 40 81
Glen Keith 1965 40 64
Glenkinchie 10 43 76
Glenkinchie 21 46 76
Glenkinchie 1974 40 76
Glenlivet 12 40 19.60 85 (Smiths)
Glenlivet 21 43 88
Glenlivet 14 46 86
Glenlivet 15 40 22.25 86 (Smiths)
Glenlivet 15 57 31.70 (Smiths)
Glenlivet 21 40 28.75 87 (Smiths)
Glenlivet 24 46 87
Glenlivet 1961 40 40.50 88 (Smiths)
Glenlochy 1974 40 70
Glenlochy 27 46 69
Glenlossie 10 43 23.95 76
Glen Mhor 8 40 18.95 64
Glen Mhor 8 57 27.00
Glen Mhor 15 40 66
Glen Mhor 1965 40 35.00
Glen Mhor 1965 56.4 76
Glenmorangie 10 40 19.85 80
Glenmorangie 10 57.6 36.90 80
Glenmorangie 18 43 31.85 80
Glen Moray 12 40 20.75 75
Glen Moray 1962 40 77
Glen Moray 1962,15 40 77
Glen Moray 21 46 76
Glen Ord 12 40 75
Glenordie 12 40 75
Glenordie 24 46 77
Glen Rothes 8 40 18.45
Glen Rothes 12 43 81
Glen Scotia 8 40 85
Glen Spey 8 40 73
Glentauchers 17 46 71
Glentauchers 1979 40 20.75 71
Glenturret 8 40 76
Glenturret 10 57.1 77
Glenturret 12 40 74
Glenturret 13.7 40 75 (5000 days)
Glenturret 15 40 81
Glenturret 15 50 86
Glenturret 1972 43 90
Glenturret 1967 50 86
Glenturret 1966 40 91
Glenugie 1966 54.8 70
Glenury Royal 12 40 76
Glenury Royal 13 46 75
Glenury Royal 22 46 77

Highland Park 8 40 18.45 85
Highland Park 8 57 26.25
Highland Park 12 40 19.95 90
Highland Park 24 46 87

Imperial 1970 40 76
Imperial 1979 40 20.75 75
Inchgower 14 43 25.75 76
Inchmurran 40 67
Old Rhosdhu 40 65
Invergordon 10 43 18.65 (Grain)
Inverleven 17 46 67
Inverleven 21 46 69

Jura 10 40 18.95 71
Jura 20 46 76

Kinclaith 1967 40 68
Kinclaith 20 46 65
Kinclaith 1966 40 69
Knockando 1975 43 76
Knockando 1965,25 43 77
Knockdhu 12 40 19.99 74

Ladyburn 20 46 57
Lagavulin 12 43 89
Lagavulin 16 43 22.40 95 (Islay)
Laphroaig 10 40 20.99 86 (Islay)
Laphroaig 15 43 89
Laphroaig 16 57 81
Laphroaig 1974 55 87
Linkwood 12 40 83
Linkwood 12 43 23.95 82
Linkwood 15 40 22.25 85
Linkwood 18 46 85
Linkwood 21 40 86
Linkwood 25 40 87
Littlemill 8 43 83
Littlemill 22 cask 83
Lochnagar 12 40 80
Lochnagar 43 83
Lochside 10 40 74
Longmorn 12 40 19.99 85
Longmorn 15 43 21.95 87
Longmorn 24 cask 85
Longmorn 1969 60 47.85 (cask)
Longmorn 1963,25 40 37.75
Longmorn 1962 40 86
Longmorn 1960 40 85
Longrow 1973 46 28.50 (Campbeltown)

Macallan 7 40 81
Macallan 10 40 19.85 87
Macallan 10 57 27.25 89
Macallan 12 43 91
Macallan 18 43 30.90 94
Macallan 25 43 69.50 95
Macallan 57.2 84
Millburn 1971 40 76
Miltonduff 12 43 19.75 76
Miltonduff 1963 40 76
Miltonduff 1975 40 76
Mortlach 16 43 26.60 81
Mortlach 12 40 81
Mortlach 21 40 28.75 81

North Port 1970 40 64

Oban 12 43 76
Oban 14 43 21.60 79
Oban 1972,17 40 26.50

Pittyvaich 12 43 24.25 69
Port Ellen 1971 40 79
Port Ellen 1974 40 25.25 (Islay)
Pulteney 8 40 18.95 77
Pulteney 8 57 27.00

Rosebank 8 40 76
Rosebank 12 43 77
Rosebank 15 50 77

St. Magdalene 1965 40 68
Scapa 8 40 76
Scapa 24 46.5 77
Scapa 1979 40 20.75
Scapa 1963 40 79
Singleton 1978 40 79
Speyburn 12 43 24.63 71
Speyburn 1971 40 71
Speyburn 22 cask 70
Springbank 15 46 25.65 88 (Campbeltown)
Springbank 21 46 34.85 91 (Campbeltown)
Springbank 1966 58.1 93 (West Highland)
Longrow 1974 46 90
Springbank 25 46 54.50 (Campbeltown)
Strathisla 8 40 18.50 79
Strathisla 12 40 79
Strathisla 15 40 22.50 80
Strathisla 20 46 76
Strathisla 21 40 76
Strathisla 25 40 75
Strathisla 35 40 75

Talisker 8 45.8 89
Talisker 10 45.8 21.85 90
Tamdhu 8 40 18.95 75
Tamdhu 10 40 75
Tamdhu 15 43 76
Tamnavulin (10) 43 76
Tamnavulin 10 40 21.95
Tamnavulin 20 46 64
Teaninich 1982 40 18.85 70
Teaninich 1975 40 24.50 72
Tobermoray 40 18.95 67
Tobermoray 18 55.2 79
Tobermoray 1973 40 76
Tomatin 10 40 75
Tomatin 13 60.5 74
Tomatin 1968 40 30.75 75
Tomatin 1966 46 75
Tomintoul 12 43 76
Tormore 5 43 75
Tormore 10 43 76
Tormore 10 40 18.99
Tullibardine 10 40 19.99 76

http://www.dcs.ed.ac.uk/home/jhb/whisky/spey.html

http://www.scotch-whisky.org.uk/

http://www.smws.com/

Remember the crucial detail - try as many of them as you can, then decide what you like.

On the soda point - I wouldn't, unless you are very rich or the scotch is awful. The flavours are too subtle. Get a bottle of Bells for that - save the good stuff for neat/water.

There is a saying in Scotland "never take whisky without water, and never take water without whisky". Sounds good to me.

Enjoy.
no club sodaColnagoFE
Feb 8, 2002 7:50 AM
You don't need to spend a fortune on single malt to get a good bottle (but some of it is really pricey). The "Islay" varieties tend to be more robust and smokey as a general rule. One that isn't too expensive to try is the Bowmore Islay. Give it a try. Lots different than the ones you mentioned. I think about $25 a fifth. I'm sure you can pick up a good book in the library about scotch that will tell you all you need to know to get started tasing scotch and not spend a fortune in the process. Purists say that a little water is OK to mix bu not club soda or ice (though I like a couple cubes of ice myself. Sabe the club soda for the J&B.
re: Single malt scotchnetso
Feb 8, 2002 8:08 AM
GlenMorgie and Glenfiddich are two of my favorites. Club Soda is a BLASPHEMY!
Scotch newbie says "Laphroaig"cory
Feb 8, 2002 8:38 AM
I'm actually more of a beer drinker, but I read a book about Scotch a few months ago and got interested in the process. A friend of mine thinks he's an expert, so I've been able to sample a lot of his stuff without springing for a whole bottle. My favorite so far is one of the Laphroaigs (if I really knew what I was talking about, I'd remember which one). Seems to have that peaty, smoky taste without harshness. Or some damn snobby thing like that.
Laphroaig 10MikeC
Feb 15, 2002 1:51 PM
There is no Single Malt that has the character of Laphroaig 10.
Now, some people think that there is such a thing as too much character, but you have to try it at least once. There's no mistaking it for anything else.
Lagavulinhms
Feb 8, 2002 8:42 AM
Lagavulin is one of my favorites. It is farily robust and smokey. I agree with others who have posted above, club soda is a heresy. Even though I drink single malt on the rocks, I know other people who think that anything, including ice, is heresy. The bottom line: if you like it with club soda, it's your business not someone else's.

Although I would not recommend doing the following, I can't resist telling the story of the first time I had sincle malt scotch. In 1979, I was a college junior spending a summer in Europe (backpack, scraggly beard, etc.). While I was waiting for a train in Inverness, I went across the street to a pub for a drink. When I asked for something (I can't remember what it was), an elderly man heard my American accent, aksed if I was a "Yank" and proceeded to regale me with WWII stories. The man asked if I had had any "Whiskey." I said that I had not and he insisted that I could not leave Scotland without my having had a proper drink. He ordered several whiskeys for me, each of which we followed by a pint of bitters or ale. Although my memories of the event are clouded by the amount of alcohol we drank that afternoon, it left me with a taste for single malt scotch and very pleasant memories of Scotland and her people.
Second this one as well. . .js5280
Feb 8, 2002 8:48 AM
Not one of my favorites (I like Oban the best so far) but my scotch drinking friends speak very highly of this one. Couldn't remember the name in my post above for the Oban.
LagavulinIAM
Feb 8, 2002 1:26 PM
I have a bottle of 16 year old Lagavulin, and it is wonderful.
Some people don't enjoy peaty scotch but this one is sooo smooth as it should be at $85 up here eh.

I also enjoy Glenlivit and Glenfiddich but have found that if it isn't good scotch I would rather not drink it. I am neither a snob nor have the budget to be, but you just learn what you like.

The funny thing is, I always thought I hated scotch until I met my wife who was born in Scotland. Well actually I guess it was really her dad that made me realize that good scotch is a wonderful thing, but bad scotch can be horrible. I just wasn't drinking the right ones.
Oh and small (picky) point....muncher.
Feb 8, 2002 9:12 AM
There is no "e" in scotch whisky - there is in Irish whiskey.

Just letting you know before some other smart-ass does :-)
4 recommendations and a good bookterry b
Feb 8, 2002 10:06 AM
If you're interested in expanding your knowledge, I highly recommend "Michael Jackson's Complete Guide to Single Malt Scotch." I received it for Christmas this past year and have really enjoyed digging into the minutiae of this world. He claims that it covers every Single Malt that has ever gone into a bottle and rates them on a scale covering taste, nose, finish, etc.

The first SMS I tried was Laphroaig. Good peaty scotch albeit not as full as some of the others. Currently on my shelf I have a Glenfarclas 25 yr., a The Balvenie 10 yr., and a Lagavulin 16 yr. The Lagavulin rates a 95 in the book, second highest. It is very deep, heavy and peaty. The Glenfarclas and The Balvenie are much less earthy and depending on my mood, more interesting. The next two I intend to try are The Macalan and a Highland Park. Both rate in the 90s per Jackson.

You might also think about trying an Irish Whisky. Same chemistry but they don't malt the barley over an open grill so the peat is not as overpowering. I have a Bushmills 10yr. that's pretty nice.

And then there's single barrell Bourbon.....
re: Single malt scotchBikingViking
Feb 8, 2002 11:30 AM
Thanks for all of the advice. I knew there was a certain following for SMS, but I never realized how much of one existed. The websites are very helpful and I am going to look for that book the "King of Pop" wrote! :o)

I think this is going to be a lot of fun indulging this newfound hobby!
re: Single malt scotchFr Ted Crilly
Feb 8, 2002 6:49 PM
Lagavulin and Talisker. The true drink of the Gods.
Fik Aff - Bushmills Black Label. Nuns-arrrrgh!Ft Jack Haclett
Feb 11, 2002 7:40 AM