RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


I have a question(14 posts)

I have a questionnothatgullible
Jan 14, 2002 10:11 PM
If a woman that is one month pregnant is run-over by a drunk on a city street and dies, should the drunk be charged with one or two murders? If she is your wife, would you feel that your wife and your child were killed?
One. Yes. (nm)FinnishLion
Jan 14, 2002 10:34 PM
It's usual to call it two murderscory
Jan 15, 2002 8:59 AM
We've had a couple of cases like that locally in the last few years, and there have been some nationally reported ones. In every case I can think of, the driver was charged with two killings, whether murder or manslaughter.
Personally, I have two children, and I love them more than life--but I'll admit they didn't really exist for me until I saw them. In that case, I think my grief for the child would be insignificant compared to my grief over my wife. I'm sure that if some weird incident had killed ME and the unborn child, though, my wife would grieve for the baby, too.
sounds like a lead in to an abortion debate....PdxMark
Jan 15, 2002 9:23 AM
I think I'll pass on the bait...
One murder. Please.Sintesi
Jan 15, 2002 9:41 AM
Roe V. Wade. Not an abortion until the fetus is viable out of the womb. If it can't live without the mother then it isn't an infant yet.
One murder, wrong.SSgt Jeremy in Germany
Jan 17, 2002 12:42 PM
You stand your moral opinions on a legal case? I just had to ask that since nobody else had.
This particular case, yes.Sintesi at home
Jan 19, 2002 2:58 AM
It's a good compromise. Probably the only one that can be made here. Otherwise, you have many, many doctors who have committed murder. They should be brought to justice. And while we're at it, lets prosecute all pregnant women who miscarry for manslaughter because they didn't take adequate care of their health and put the unborn human under intolerable risk. To be moral you have to deal justice fairly and evenly to all. True or not SSgt Jeremy? What do you base your moral opinions on?

That said I don't want to get into an abortion debate. I'm not a rabid pro-this or anti-anything. Sorry if I offended.
Ask a pregnant woman...ACE-
Jan 19, 2002 11:38 PM
who or what she's carrying.
Before or after she's had an abortion? (nm)Sintesi at home
Jan 20, 2002 6:40 AM
Thanks for the responsesnothatgullible
Jan 15, 2002 9:53 AM
I was just looking for instinctual reactions. It's not bait, It's a question. My follow up would be: If It's considered two murders or you feel in the second question that, yes, your child was killed, then wouldn't the same woman be commiting murder if she aborted the baby. I was thinking about that yesterday and just wanted some responses.

The reason being, even though I'm not a father, I think if somebody kills my pregnant wife, not matter in what month, they have taken my wife and child away. That's what lead mean to think about the abortion question.
apples and orangesDog
Jan 15, 2002 11:48 AM
Don't confuse terms. Murder and killing are not the same.

The Supreme Court has ruled that in the first trimester, the mother may chose to terminate (kill) the fetus. In the second trimester, the states may regulate it.

Murder is the willful and unjustifed taking of another human's life. While a mother may legally kill her fetus, you cannot choose to take the life of her fetus. One is legal abortion, the other is murder. There are many examples of justified and unjustified/illegal killing. The death penalty is legal, however, you can't kill a person on death row, though, even if he is to be put to death five minutes later.

Dog
Does that make spermicide murder?matt
Jan 15, 2002 11:46 AM
Or how about the day after pill? At what point is it murder? What about masturbation? Sperm cells are alive until you kill them, so you are killing the potential for life.
Does that make spermicide murder?nothatgullible
Jan 15, 2002 1:35 PM
That's the point. It would be my instinct to think that somebody killed my wife and child if she was killed while pregnant, no matter if she just found out she is pregnant.

But legally if she decided to abort the baby, it's okay. Even though under the circumstances above I would consider it a killing.

I know this is a very difficult topic. Like I said, something got me thinking about it yesterday and I wanted to know what you all thought in the light of the above circumstances.

As far as spermicides and masturbation, etc. my instincts don't make me think that somebody comitted murder. There isn't a pregnancy at that point.
Legally..jrm
Jan 15, 2002 3:24 PM
The child isnt a child until the fetus reachs the first trimester. i doubt it would a murder charge, probuly manslaughter. No just my wife..who was 1 month prego...