RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Any Thoughts on Daewoo's?(32 posts)

Any Thoughts on Daewoo's?Kristin
Dec 20, 2001 8:06 AM
I was surprised to find that some of the highest ratings on CarReview went to Deawoo's. Owners seem to be very pleased with their vehicles. But, I'm still hesitant about Korean cars and it sounds like getting parts may be an issue down the road, and repairs will probably be expensive.

Has anyone here had experience with these cars?
re: Any Thoughts on Daewoo's?nm
Dec 20, 2001 8:39 AM
This is what Consumer Reports Magazine says
The Lanos.about the size of a Hyundai Accent but a lot cruder, less nimble and more cramped. Like other Daewoos this car is priced competitively and comes well equipped.
no reliability rating-worse than average depreciation.

The Leganza.A basically middling midsize sedan. The Leganza rides and handles unremarkably. A redesign is due next spring.
no reliability rating-average depreciation.full report Jan 1999

The Nubira.The Nubira sedan and wagon offer more equipment and a lower price than most comparable models. The engine is relatively strong and interior ergonomics are ok. but the ride, handling and fuel ecomomy are so-so
no reliability rating-average depreciation.full report May 1999

most libraries have back copies of Consumer Reports and should have the ones referred to for the full reports. Consumer Reports reviews a number of the same type/size cars in each of their editions so the January and May editions should also include reviews of similar sized and priced cars.
repairsnm too
Dec 20, 2001 9:23 AM
For repair costs, pick a part .any part, say the drivers side door handle, call the parts department of the dealerships of the cars your looking at and ask for the price and if it is in stock(how long a wait if it isn't)..then talk to the service department and ask what the cost to install is.....remember to think about the warranty that comes with the car and it's length and what it includes.
re: Any Thoughts on Daewoo's?DINOSAUR
Dec 20, 2001 10:38 AM
Consider a VW Golf? My oldest son recently purchased one for around 14K. I took it for a test drive and liked it so much I considered buying one myself. They sell so fast you can't find one on a lot. For some reason I balk at Korean cars, perhaps because the first generation Hyundai's were notorious for mechanical failure and they came out very bad in crashes. I've read recently that Hyundai's are starting to give Honda competition. I'd do more research.. I've got a killer deal on a tricked up 66 Ply Sattelite that will pass everything but gas stations...
a second on the GolfHEY I'm nm
Dec 20, 2001 10:43 AM
It's also the highest rated one for it's catergory in Comsumer Reports
re: Any Thoughts on Daewoo's?gtx
Dec 20, 2001 11:09 AM
Dino, I still have your e-mail adress and I'm saving up! This economy right now is killing me, though...

Also check the new generation Civic--great reliability, resale value and crash tests. Golf is probably more fun, though. The Ford Focus is looking pretty good, too.
I've driven left-hand-drive, Asian market DaewoosAlex-in-Evanston
Dec 20, 2001 11:02 AM
Fit and finish was darn good, although as I recall you need to turn off the air conditioner before attempting to pass anything.

I'm racking my brain to remember the model name. It'll come to me. It was the model they were selling in India, where it was considered a luxury car.

Alex
Was it the Leganza?Kristin
Dec 20, 2001 11:26 AM
This is suposed to be their luxury wannabe car. It really got overwhelming reviews. Plus, the resale didn't do so good on them...which means I could fina a good shake on a 2001 rental turn in.
Thank You!Kristin
Dec 20, 2001 11:32 AM
I had been looking for a site like this. I just took a look at the results for the Laganza. Wow. Truely frightening. After seeing those pictures, you could pay me to drive one. Again...thanks.

Results: http://www.hwysafety.org/vehicle_ratings/ce/html/00003.htm
bookmark this site!gtx
Dec 20, 2001 11:05 AM
be sure to check the crash tests on the cars you are thinking of buying. Remember, you're going toe to toe with some 5000 pound SUVs. Daewoo doesn't look so good here...

http://www.hwysafety.org/vehicle_ratings/ratings.htm
Thanks was meant to be posted here...sorry (nm)Kristin
Dec 20, 2001 11:33 AM
I know that they have a low resale value...Bruno
Dec 20, 2001 11:18 AM
because its a new brand here in the USA. Thats no problem if you plan to keep it for a very long time.
I want to believe they're the Toyotas of the '00s, but...cory
Dec 20, 2001 11:25 AM
Most of the criticisms of Korean cars today are the same ones you heard about Japanese cars in about 1969, and they turned out all right (I worked for car magazines then, and still freelance for them). And I have to assume that anyone considering Daewoo is heavily influenced by price, so suggesting you buy a Civic or Corolla instead isn't really helpful--they're better cars, but they cost a lot more.
Another Daewoo-based assumption, maybe inaccurate, is that you're not really INTO cars--you just want something that will start, go and stop for as long as possible. In that case, you might want to look at Hyundai, which has God's own warranty (100,000 miles on the power train, last time I checked), or check Consumer Reports' reliability ratings to see who lasts longest.
Personally, if it were me, I'd either try to afford a new Honda Civic or look for somebody who's selling one 2-4 years old with, say, 40,000 miles on it.
Corolla & Civic still on the top of my listKristin
Dec 20, 2001 11:55 AM
I'm just not excited about it.

I appreciate your input, especially considering that you have some expertise in this area. I must confess that the Leganza caught my eye because of the $14,000 price tag. Its got mid-sized luxuries. I only have $10-11K borrowing power. I'm just haveing a hard time warming up to the small car idea. For the past 6 years, I've purchased all 3-5 year old midsized used cars so that I could drive something roomier and comfortable inside. I have quite long legs and hate the cramped feeling in the Corolla. But I put on 25K a year, and need something that can go the distance. Its the old addage: "Unlimited options with limited rescources." That is the American way, no?
Corolla & Civic still on the top of my listthe real nm
Dec 20, 2001 12:17 PM
For reliable used cars Consumer Reports recommends
$8000 to $10000
Honda .Accord 93-94.Civic 94-95.
Toyota.Camry 93.Corolla 95-96
Nissan.Altima 95-96.Sentra 96-97
Mazda.Protégé 96-97

$10000 to $12000
Honda.Civic 96-97.
Mazda.Protégé 98
Nissan.Altima 97.Sentra 98
Chevrolet. Prizm 98-99
Saturn.SL/SW 98
Toyota.Corolla 97-98
One more comment re small cars...cory
Dec 20, 2001 12:18 PM
I'm a small car fan, even though I'm 6'4" and 220 lbs--I just don't like all that idle sheet metal around me. And I drive around 40,000 miles a year (everything in Nevada is a long way from everything else, and all our relatives are in the SF Bay Area, 250 miles away). Nobody can argue with how you feel in a car, but if there's room for me in a Civic, there might be room for you. And both the EX and SI are lots of fun to drive.
re: long legsJs Haiku Shop
Dec 20, 2001 12:45 PM
i'm 6'2" and not cramped by the civic ex ('97). i sat in a cavalier z24, neon (yech!), geo metro (yech!), and some other small cars, and this was the only one that fit, and the only one that didn't seem like it was made without care.

have you considered a used saturn? my wife drove one (new) for 4+ years. i hated to see that thing go. we called it "the tank."
more cars to considergtx
Dec 20, 2001 2:45 PM
others to consider are a '98 or newer Accord (though they will be priced a bit high), a '97 or newer Camry, or a '95 or newer Subaru Legacy. The Legacy Wagon is especially cool, and probably the cheapest of the three.

Finally, I'd also consider a 96 or 97 Volvo 850 (sedan or wagon)--you can find those for around $12 or $13k. The maintenance will be a bit higher but they are great cars, and incredibly safe and comfortable. Try to find a one owner car and be sure to have it checked out by a Volvo mechanic. Good luck!
more cars to considerBecky
Dec 21, 2001 5:47 AM
second that on the Legacy wagon! My fiance and I just bought a '97 Legacy wagon and, with 100K+ miles, the thing runs like a champ. My last Suburu (now returned to my dad) is still kicking with 225K miles on it. Buying used may put you further ahead cost-wise, especially if the dealer knows his product...

Good luck with the car search!
more cars to consider - Volkswagon diesel?Dog
Dec 21, 2001 8:08 AM
Dino got me looking into Volkswagons. A Jetta wagon turbo diesel gets 49 mpg highway! That might be the perfect "going to cyling events" vehicle. I imagine it's a slug, but 49 mpg?

Anyone have experience with VW diesels?

Dog
never mind, n/a in Calif. nmDog
Dec 21, 2001 8:20 AM
Ewww...Hate DeiselKristin
Dec 21, 2001 9:08 AM
My family owned a Deisel Chevette when they were new. What a horrible car--in many respects--but the engine definately added to its charm. Sure, I sometimes look up longingly at the deisel pricetag. But I quickly recall torturous hours cramped up in the back seat, inhaling deisel vapors and listening to the defining hum of that motor as our family drove up the coast of New England. Trust me, the pro's don't out weigh the con's.
check out the Passat wagongtx
Dec 21, 2001 9:38 AM
the 1.8T should get pretty good mileage and has proven to be very reliable in the Audi A4. Fantastic car, available in AWD, too (in the V6).
I'd go with a Honda Certified used Accord or Civic.STEELYeyed
Dec 21, 2001 7:08 AM
Although Toyotas are pretty good,I have owned 3 Hondas and 3 Toyotas and they are very similar,my wife just leased a new Corolla LE it is a nice car but I still prefer the Accord,my 97 Accord EX fits me like a glove,and at 103K it still looks and drives like a new car.
Absolutely no thoughts on anything called a Daewoocioccman
Dec 21, 2001 9:30 AM
Not now, not ever. :) If it don't say Chevrolet on the motor, I promise you, it's not mine.
honestly, though...gtx
Dec 21, 2001 10:40 AM
except for the full sized trucks and Corvette, I find the current Chevy/GM lineup somewhat depressing. They killed the Impala by making it front wheel drive, and the Malibu is just a weak Camry wannabe. Chevy/GM needs help. At least Ford has the new RWD LS chassis, which will be the basis of the upcoming Mustang redo.
honestly, though...cioccman
Dec 21, 2001 11:33 AM
You're personal likes and dislikes are perfectly fine and acceptable. I can't think of a huge number of exciting or non-depressing vehicles. Just like movies, most are let downs. I do not find a Corrolla or Daewoo or Sentra or Saturn or Quest van or Hyundai Excel any less depressing. Perhaps more depressing though! This is not to say there are no reasons to own any of those cars. I'm sure they're all fine automobiles and serve a purpose. So does the Taurus.

Camry *wannabe*? LOL Now that is funny. I believe the Malibu is quite similarly priced to the Civic. A co-worker just bought one. 0% financing on his daughters new Malibu. I cannot comprehend the thought of anything anywhere anyhow ever wanting to be anything a Camry is. That is absolutely completely opposite of me and as I said, incomprehensible to me.

I find no excitement in any of this whatsoever. This is not to say that any car is not at all worth owning. Aerostars have uses and huge markets, just like Civics. People bought Yugos and Hornets and buy Exterras and Aztecs. People pay absurd amounts of money for something called a Mercedes SUV. There is more *utility* in a screwdriver without a handle than there is in a Mercedes *SUV*. LOL

Exciting? SS SLP package, ls1 engine, Hemi, 454, Weiand, 4:11, Corvette anytime anywhere, Viper 600, Z71 package, 840ci, Diablo, Ruf, Posi/limited slip, AMG, Saleen, belt driven blowers, duallies, Mopar, Holley, Flowmaster, Edelbrock, roller rocker.

Not exciting: Toyota, Nissan, Subaru, Volvo, Daewoo, Kia, Saturn, Acura, Honda, Infinity, Buick.

Just my thoughts and opinions.
honestly, though...gtx
Dec 21, 2001 12:08 PM
no, I agree with you. And pricing tends to be very good on American cars these days. I'm just disappointed that they killed the Impala so brutally--the SS RWD version of the mid-90s was pretty awesome. And their NASCAR tie-in car (Monte Carlo) now is FWD and ugly as sin (to me). And they need to redesign the Camaro (there are rumors, of course). I just want to see more RWD American cars and more horsepower!

Volvo can be exciting--check out the T5 v70/s70. And the new Subaru Impreza will embarrass most BMWs. And the new Nissan Altima is a little hot rod--why can't Chevy do that with the Malibu?
Agree completelycioccman
Dec 21, 2001 12:26 PM
I saw that new Altima dealy. I can't say I know much about Volvos and Audis and Subarus and stuff so I can't comment. One thing for sure, this is new ground for them. Faster and sleeker than they have indeed EVER been. I agree, why can't the Malibu do that? Well, perhaps that's where the Camaro RS and Mustang 6ers come in. Maybe even the GT and Z28. Are they much more than one of those Altimas? I don't think so. I'll go check it out and price compare. The Malibu is Chevy's Civic or Corolla or Sentra, not in the same class as the Altima.

I loved and still love seeing those Impala SSs around. Are you familiar with Tim Allen's? LOL One serious auto. There must be some stuff on the web about it, though it's very old news. Just so you know, the Camaro will be out of production after the 2002 production year. Not sure how long, but it will be gone, presumably for 3 or so redesign years.

Bang for bang, pound for pound, buck for buck, handling, power, torque, in it's class it is very hard to beat the Z28. I'm a Motor Trend man, if you are, this is a very familiar concept to you.

Happy motoring!
yes!gtx
Dec 21, 2001 12:45 PM
I've seen an article on Tim Allen's car. I think he did a similar treatment to a Caddy. Very cool! I'm a Road and Track guy (like old Mopars AND Alfa Romeos).

Yes, the Mustang and Camaro are nice, and yeah, not much more than the Altima, but I'd love to see a return to the grocery getter concept--drop a big engine in a basic car, keep the price down. The Civic Si seems to be the current model for this, but it ain't my idea of cheap fast fun (cause it ain't that cheap and it ain't that fast). Problem is, there aren't any decent RWD platforms out there now in the American car lineups. Perfect example of what I'm talking about it the 1970 Dodge Dart GTS. That car was cheap AND fast.

This photo says it all!
Cool! LOLcioccman
Dec 21, 2001 1:16 PM
Reminds me of my high school days. Street racing in my 70 1/2 Camaro. Split bumper. Double bored 350, Torker manifold, Holley, much fun!!!

Happy holidays, outta here.
Daewoos are pieces of $h!t !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(nm)Rusty McNasty
Dec 22, 2001 12:45 PM