RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Non-Cycling Discussions


Archive Home >> Non-Cycling Discussions(1 2 3 4 )


Holy cow, gas is 87¢ a gallon here (Fresno)(34 posts)

Holy cow, gas is 87¢ a gallon here (Fresno)Dog
Dec 19, 2001 2:37 PM
Gas hasn't been this cheap since the 70's. What's going on?

Dog
now, if we could do something about beer prices in TN. nmJs Haiku Shop
Dec 19, 2001 2:45 PM
what's a six of Bud runnin' there? nmDog
Dec 19, 2001 2:55 PM
cheap gas makes me think about this kind of 6-packgtx
Dec 19, 2001 4:54 PM
real dollarsDog
Dec 19, 2001 5:12 PM
Yup, in "real dollars" (adjusted for inflation), I'd imagine gas is about 15 cents a gallon right now compared to when that car was made. Woo hoo!
440 6 pack torqueTig
Dec 20, 2001 9:02 AM
I had a friend in high school that owned a '69 Challenger R/T with a 440 6 pack. He would get a kick out of blowing away the 6.6 Trans Am's that were supposed to be so hot back then. I've been in only one street legal car that was faster. My brother's friend's Mustang Shelby Cobra GT 500 with the 428. These cars had enough torque to pull a house, or desolve the back tires in seconds. Ahh, the days of 37 cent gas!
440 6 pack torquegtx
Dec 20, 2001 10:37 AM
very cool (you mean 1970, right?--first Challenger was 1970. There was a 1969 Charger R/T but you could "only" get a regular 440 or a 426 Hemi). Those cars are worth quite a bit now. I had a 1970 Fury with the 383 4 barrel for a while, and I can only imagine what a bigger engine in a smaller car would do! I doubt I'll ever be able to afford one of those desirable low production cars, but sure wouldn't mind another big block Mopar!
I miss the old daysmickey-mac
Dec 20, 2001 10:49 AM
I'm no motorhead, but those old car ads make me realize how safe and homogeneous cars and advertising have become these days. Can you imagine even the most daring car company using a bad-ass picture like that in its advertising today? I can just picture some dude behind the wheel with a Camel filterless hanging out of his mouth and a can of Schlitz Malt Liquor between his legs. O.K., maybe I don't miss everything about the old days.
this one is my favoritegtx
Dec 20, 2001 10:56 AM
That's greatmickey-mac
Dec 20, 2001 11:15 AM
Have you seen this site:

http://www.beaterz.com/

Lots of funny cars.
That's greatcioccman
Dec 21, 2001 9:35 AM
Good stuff. Torque talk. Real. Am motor man here, always have been, always will be.

Check out

http://www.ricecop.com/

for some serious laughs!
lol--yup, all show, no go nmgtx
Dec 21, 2001 10:35 AM
like i'm supposed to know that...Js Haiku Shop
Dec 20, 2001 5:43 AM
a 6'er of PBR is $2.89.
I'd like to see Guinness for under a dollar a gallon - (nm)Erik W
Dec 19, 2001 6:07 PM
While we're on the subect of stout,mickey-mac
Dec 19, 2001 10:01 PM
I would highly recommend North Coast's Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout. It's not as thick and creamy as Guinness, but this stuff will knock you out. Here are some reviews:

http://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/review/112/412/#412
damned teaseJs Haiku Shop
Dec 20, 2001 5:47 AM
http://www.northcoastbrewing.com/distlist.html

sold nowhere even close to tennessee.
Bummer . . .mickey-mac
Dec 20, 2001 5:51 AM
want me to send you a 4-pack?
we should orchestrate an exchange. let me think...Js Haiku Shop
Dec 20, 2001 6:52 AM
what do we have 'round here that you don't have 'round there?...hmm...
we should orchestrate an exchange. let me think...peloton
Dec 20, 2001 8:23 AM
Gas here is around a 1.09- not bad compared to what it has been. The last time I was in CA, gas was close to $2 a gallon and over in some places.

You can get a sixer of McGovern's Oatmeal Stout for around $7 though. Another quality choice.
Moonshine?mickey-mac
Dec 20, 2001 11:54 AM
Seriously, you live in the land of quality bourbon. I've got a hankerin' for a bottle of Knob Creek, Baker's, or Booker's, but I can pick those up at most good liquor stores out here. In fact, we're having our Christmas lunch today at a downtown restaurant with a very well-stocked bar. I haven't had any hard alcohol in months, so I may have to cut loose today and order some bourbon. You may see some pretty wacky posts from me after about 4:00 p.m. Pacific Time.
Huh?!? Kentucky & Georgia are on the list, J. I smell a...RhodyRider
Dec 20, 2001 6:33 AM
...ROAD TRIP!!
Gas is 87¢ a gallon, but go into the same mini-mart and...Straightblock
Dec 19, 2001 10:39 PM
...a 20 ounce bottle of water is $1.09. That's what, about $7 per gallon???? for water!!!! And they sell plenty of it!

Oil is pumped from thousands of feet underground, then much of it is shipped via supertanker halfway around the world, it goes thru a multimillion dollar refinery, then gets trucked hundreds of miles to your local station. The bottled water, for all most of us know, could be coming out of a tap right down the street, run thru a simple filter, & put into a bottle with a fancy label.

How come many of the same people who were complaining last spring when it was hard to find gas under $2/gallon can't make it thru the day without a bottle of $7/gallon designer water? Personally, I'll pass on the dubious benefits of bottled water & put the $ into a new set of Axial Pro's, thank you.
BTW, Dog,Straightblock
Dec 19, 2001 10:51 PM
I'm in Fresno, too. Another baby boomer with a Bianchi and a track bike. We've probably crossed paths quite a few times. If you're interested in hooking up for a ride sometime, let me know.
coolDog
Dec 20, 2001 6:26 AM
What Bianchi do you have? I've probably seen you a hundred times and never knew it.

If you want to recognize me, here is my website with some photos from events: http://www.midcalracing.com/bikes.htm

Up for a longer fat burner over the holidays?

Dog
Fat burner?Straightblock
Dec 20, 2001 8:35 AM
I'll need it after all the See's candy & pastry that's been around the office the last few weeks! I don't know what a guy who does the 508 considers a fatburner, but I want to get in a few more miles before year's end. E-mail me at cmonty15@hotNOSPAMmail.com (take out the NOSPAM, of course) & we'll work it out. I'm off work next week but have jury duty, so I don't know my schedule yet.
routesDog
Dec 20, 2001 9:27 AM
A fat burner for me is 60-100 miles (4-8 hours) averaging around 15 mph in the foothills, cruising around 18 mph on the flats. My coach these days has me restricted to Zone 3, even for climbing, which is a 148 bpm hr when my threshold is around 168 bpm. Essentially, it means never breathing hard and climbing pretty slowly.

Here are some of my routes: http://www.midcalracing.com/routes.htm

I'll email

Dog
George Carlin says . . .mickey-mac
Dec 20, 2001 5:54 AM
Do you wonder why some people spend $2 for a bottle of water? Spell Evian backwards.
It's $6 here in the UK. nmBitter
Dec 20, 2001 1:35 AM
Got it for a bargain yesterday...$1.08Kristin
Dec 20, 2001 6:29 AM
I might be able to find it somewhere for $1.03. I'm livin' large with these prices. Last week, I paid $6.99 for a six pack of Miller. So I'm curious...what is the most you (anyone) paid for gas this past summer?
Alright! Hey Dog...PaulCL
Dec 20, 2001 6:40 AM
...let's rev up our gas guzzling, environment killing, tree-hugger hated SUV's 'cause gas is cheap. Afterall, I need my Jeep Grand Cherokee to drive all the way to my office a mile away!

As Lee Greenwood sang "I'm proud to be an Amerian, where at least my gas is cheap...." or something like that.

Sorry. I couldn' resist. I love my 13mpg Jeep. Before I get flamed, the Jeep is almost eight years old with only 70,000 miles on it. I need it in the snow and to haul around three kids and their stuff.
Ya' just had to rain on my parade...4bykn
Dec 20, 2001 9:25 AM
I WAS pretty happy with my 1.04 purchase earlier this week, especially since later that day the price went to 1.18.

Six-pack? Ya' gotta buy beer in bulk to get a good price. Got a case o' Bud for 12.99 plus a 2 dollar rebate. Comes out to about 2.75 a six.

I think the most I paid for gas was this spring, about 1.80 or so.
still 1.07 in BoulderColnagoFE
Dec 20, 2001 9:37 AM
they rip us off mercilessly for gas here.
but no one in Boulder drives, do they?Dog
Dec 20, 2001 9:54 AM
I had the impression that to live in Boulder, one had to be an enlightened, out-doorsey, intellectual, pure athlete-type. I didn't think cars were even allowed. From my dealing with cyclists, it seems than about half the serious cyclists in the country live there. If only it didn't get cold...

Dog
but no one in Boulder drives, do they?ColnagoFE
Dec 20, 2001 2:03 PM
Not true. Most drive big SUVs and the like and the traffic problem is only getting worse. Though that could be the influence of all those people from California moving here ;) There is a pretty good system of trails and bike lanes though. Not too hard to get around by bike in Boulder. It really doesn't get all that cold here either and is sunny some 300 days a year, but I suppose cold is relative if you're used to southern california weather. most weekends in the winter you can just put on some tights and go.