RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Hot Deals


Archive Home >> Hot Deals(1 2 )


Best Place To Buy Record Groupo?(28 posts)

Best Place To Buy Record Groupo?cipolini2b
Jul 24, 2002 11:58 AM
I'm in the market for a new set of components. Campagnolo Record. Anyone know where to get a set for a good price?

Thanks
Aram
Try this http://www.abicibikes.com/frame_kits.asp (nm)davet
Jul 24, 2002 12:47 PM
Haven't heard? Abici are incompetent amateurs....sprockets2
Jul 25, 2002 8:28 AM
They never completed my order, and just blew me off, never returned my communication attempts. Sure, they have some nice prices, but if they screw the order up, or do to you what they did to me, is it all worth it?
Haven't heard? Abici are incompetent amateurs....robocomp
Jul 25, 2002 9:40 AM
Hey no company is perfect and not everyting is under their control....but I must say Clark is a very good guy and a man of his word and will deal honestly with you...great prices too......thanks
thats not an excuse......cyclejim
Jul 28, 2002 9:53 AM
....saying that no everything is under their control means nothing to me. If I am buying something from them I frankly dont give a rats ass if its "not under their control" That is a bunch of BS. If they messed up my order and then started giving me excuses like oh gee its not under our control I would have ZERO respect for them.
Look at this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Axle1
Jul 29, 2002 7:27 PM
You dont understand. Any internet dealer is going to have to go through a wholesale operation. They do not have the inventory in their garage. They cannot perfectly control shipping aspects to the day. Now I know this is not perfect, but this is not a perfect world. If you want the item tommorrow look elsewhere. If you can be patient, you will get a fantastic deal at a fantastic price. Again I have spoken with Clark and he is a man of his word.
thats not an excuse......maddog clark
Jul 30, 2002 12:33 PM
Hey Cycle Jim
What is your freaking problem? We have never made excuses
about our business. Every business makes mistakes, as do all people. I own this company, I do my best, and I accept
responsibility for all that happens here.

I support cycling in many ways. By advertising on this site, sponsoringg races and athletes, and promoting cycling
in general.

NOw, what POSITIVE things do you do in your life to promote
positive instead of negative?
Haven't heard? Abici are incompetent amateurs....maddog clark
Jul 30, 2002 12:26 PM
Hey Sprockets-3rd time-who are you? We have tried three times on this noard to contact to see what YOUR probelem is. We do and have always wanted to resovle whatever issue it is that you keep hacking at us for.

You are either very scared or a fake(competitor perhaps).
Haven't heard? Abici are incompetent amateurs....Axle1
Jul 30, 2002 7:38 PM
These guys are phonies with an axe to grind. If they had any spine, they would speak to Clark and he would deal with this. Again, I have found that Clark is very honest and upfront. What more could you ask from a business person?
The fact is that I HAVE SPOKEN TO CLARK.....sprockets2
Jul 31, 2002 9:36 AM
I spoke to him three times after the order was received incomplete, and I never had the problem resolved. Clark seems like a straightforward guy, I have NOT said that he is a jerk and the root of the problem, but Abici never solved my problem.

Check the complaints that have been posted previously-not by me-and one can see that Abici have had problems. Just because YOU have had good interactions, does it follow that EVERYONE will? Apparently not. Does it mean that those problems that do occur will be dealt with quickly and to the customers satisfaction? Not necessarily. How can you presume to be so all-knowing that you can speak for me and my situation? It was good for you, therefore it must be good for all others and sprockets is a liar? I don't follow that line of "reasoning".

I am not a phony, and I have no "axe to grind" other than if you count warning people that price is not the best way to shop. I understand that people have had their problems resolved, but, duh, why not shop where you won't have problems?

I spoke with Clark directly 3 times about the problem over a period of two months and nothing ever happened. Two subsequent attempts to contact them went unanswered. They had plenty of opportunity to resolve this, so I am calling this one as I see it.

There may be legitimate reasons for not being able to complete this transaction, but as I am not the only one to whom this type of thing has happened (search the forums here), I would think that Abici would be a bit more contrite. There are many small e-vendors who are working hard to get a foothold in their markets, and a big part of that effort is customer relations. Price helps but you have got to make folks happy.
The fact is that I HAVE SPOKEN TO CLARK.....maddog clark
Jul 31, 2002 11:08 AM
If this is true, why dont you call this very minute.
I would really like to know who you are.
You keep saying this and that, but we NEVER hear from you directly. You have our #, our e-mail etc.
So, I call it as I see it. You are full of boloney.

And how can you presume to be all knowing, all perfect,
and all righteous?

Like I have said many times, call me anytime. Then we can see what the real deal is.clark
I did not intend to...sprockets2
Jul 31, 2002 10:14 PM
provoke anger through my posting, only to share my experience with other cyclists, because my situation is real, and I was the one who was deservedly frustrated.

While the dollar amount is not huge, it essentially doubled because I had to pay another vendor for the same item. While you seem to doubt the veracity of my words, what I have written as my experiences are accurate. Please consider how would you feel if some vendor did that to you.

I don't usually get a chance to re-read the boards before they vanish, and I don't often check responses in a thread, anyway. I did so today because I had the time and you had responded. Before this time, I have not been reading anything you might have written intending to reach me. So, if when you say that you never hear from me directly, you mean in response to your posts to this board, that is why.

Again, please consider my position. I did try to resolve this. As I wrote elsewhere, after speaking with you several times and the order was not completed, and then having a call and email go unanswered, I just gave up.

I have since passed the situation along to my credit card company who in their methodical way may yet get to my case. I will contact them and see where they are with the case and when things have cooled down I will contact Abici.
response from abici-I did not intend to...maddog clark
Aug 1, 2002 6:24 AM
Dear Sprockets-
As we have stated over and over we have no idea who you are. Abici is a good company, we would never want to have an unhappy customer for any dollar amount. We work hard to make sure things get done right and that consumers are happy. Sure, we have had a few mistakes(shipping errors),
but we are talking about a few only. But those few happen to be very vocal on the boards at RBR, and this has hurt us personally and professionaly. You seem to have done your very best to hurt us. Thanks, you have succeeded.

Since we dont know who you are then there is no way to resovle the situation, unless you contact us, as we have asked for many times.

We look forward to resolving this with you Mr. Sprockets.
I really cant wait to see what the issue is.

As for all of you reading this, take a look at what we have to offer, and please read the many good things consumers have said about us.
response from sprockets...sprockets2
Aug 1, 2002 9:09 AM
I was thinking about your earlier response to my post, specifically the less than helpful tone, and it hit me that you were angry, and that I, too, was motivated by anger when I wrote about my experience with Abici. I had thought that I had mentally put the whole thing behind me, but apparently I had not let go. Duh. Anger can be a damaging thing.

A vendor would not intentionally do to customers what happened to me, so I cannot accuse Abici of being a thoroughly lousy vendor. In fact, because this was a small problem, and selling components is just one part of Abici's business, it is probably not fair of me to denigrate Abici based upon it. Maybe it never was, because this forum provides to me a bully pulpit that is out of proportion to my problem, no matter how wronged I feel. To the extent that I created angst at Abici, sorry guys, but please try to understand where I was coming from.

It is time for me to really put this behind me. In the future I will not post my cautionary tale. Abici will be rid of me, and finally, I will have this behind me.
Abici to sprockets...maddog clark
Aug 1, 2002 3:15 PM
That was thoughtful. I too, beleive the whole thing has been blown WAY out of context. A few mis placed words can cause great harm. At Abici, we have been thouroughly damaged by this personally(staff) and professionally.

As I have said over and over, we have no idea who you are or what the problem is. We will be more than happy to take care of you as we would with any customer. We take pride in our products and services, and we are more than passionate about road cycling.

We do a great deal to promote cycling for health and sport.
So, you can imagine how we may feel as well, when we offer so much for so many, to have a few just hack us to death.

So Sprockets, why dont you pick up the phone, or drop an e-mail. We will send you some free waterbottles and a jersey!
I did not intend to...Axle1
Aug 1, 2002 9:48 AM
Now it is obvious that Sprokets is a phony. Rather than contact Clark as he suggested to determine who this person is and what the situation is, Sprokets has decided to let things cool down. It is clear now that Sprokets has no beef, that there has been no previous transaction with abicibikes.com, and that he is just trying to seed bad info to hurt a competitor in business. Sprokets, you should be ashamed of yourself.
The fact is that I HAVE SPOKEN TO CLARK.....Axle1
Aug 1, 2002 9:42 AM
Clark has a legitimate point here. He has no indication who sprockets is and has said to call his 800 number now. If sprokets does not want to do this then it is his own fault. It appears that a number of anonymous individuals are trying to assassinate others characters and businesses to build up thier own. This is pathetic and you will get what is coming to you....
Axel 1....Shut Up!!! You are embarassing yourself. (nm)gogene
Aug 1, 2002 3:21 PM
CritUSA@aol.comrobocomp
Jul 24, 2002 8:46 PM
Danny at CritUSA@aol.com is a great guy and offers great prices on many campy components. Just bought complete Record group and came as ordered. Danny was very helpful.

Clark at Abicibikes.com is a very good guy as well and he can get excellent deals on many, many other brand components when you buy the campy or shimano group.
CritUSA@aol.com is a good guy...................gogene
Jul 24, 2002 9:25 PM
.........unlike Robocomp who uses innuendo and almost slanderous remarks to asuage his feeble attempts to make himself feel good.
CritUSA@aol.com is a good guy...................robocomp
Jul 25, 2002 9:38 AM
appreciate the warm and fuzzies. i think i have a 2:00 slot i can fit you into?
I'd look into ExcelB2
Jul 25, 2002 1:33 PM
They list the Record Grouppo at $1300 and let you delete any two items at full retail. If you take off the headset and front and rear hubs (OK so that's 3 items) you get $1,040. They might bump you up a little since that's three items being deleted?? Still pretty competitive. If you use the same formula with Colorado Cyclist, it works out to $1,019, but I don't know if they would let you delete any items.

I just bought a frame and build kit from Maestro and they were very good to work with. If you figure 1.5 for the conversion of Pounds to Dollars (not sure what the rate is now), the Record Grouppo without headset or hubs is $1,012 from Maestro. Although for just a grouppo (and such a small difference in price), I think I might stick with a "local" order.

Abici lists the Record Grouppo without headset or hubs for $950. My personal opinion, based on a small sampling of negative feedback, is that the price difference should be a bit more to make it worthwhile to venture there for a purchase approaching $1,000.

My .02 cents,
Bryan
Go abici!!bigdeal
Jul 25, 2002 2:42 PM
I've ordered two complete groups through Abici (one Ultegra group for my tri bike and one dura ace for my road bike) and had absolutely no problem with communication or the order.
buyer beware!cyclejim
Jul 28, 2002 9:54 AM
I've just casually browsed the posts about abici and it seems they have some problems, usually blamed on things "not under their control". I'd be careful about buying from them personally.
Clark at abicibike.com is decentAxle1
Jul 29, 2002 7:22 PM
Clark happens to be a very decent guy and will give you a great price and he is absolutely honest. I have dealt with him before.
yes he isweiwentg
Jul 30, 2002 1:17 AM
he was with me, at any rate. hopefully he has worked his problems out. if not, you might have to be patient; they did take a while to get my order settled.
most of the people who posted on this board about abici have had their complaints settled. I know some have not, but overall I think they're honest (but have poor communications).
re: Best Place To Buy Record Groupo?jdj
Jul 25, 2002 4:44 PM
Try www.wisecyclebuys.com, I just purchased a Centaur group,wheels and some other parts from William and he was helpful and responsive. All parts arrived as promised and when promised. Shipping was free on everything but the wheels. And best of all his pricing is some of the best out there. Call and give him a shot.
re: Best Place To Buy Record Groupo?Texas Spinner
Aug 1, 2002 7:14 PM
I bought a Dura-Ace Group and all components from Abici. All came complete, two-day delivery. Made changes that i screwed up and that Clark called to ask me about. Abici was good for me.