RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Hot Deals


Archive Home >> Hot Deals(1 2 )


Best place to find Selle Italia Flite Gel Ti?(8 posts)

Best place to find Selle Italia Flite Gel Ti?Bill RHIT
Jul 19, 2001 7:24 AM
Where is the cheapest place this seat is available? Are those of you who have one happy with it? Any complaints?

Thanks
- Bill
re: Best place to find Selle Italia Flite Gel Ti?Happy Heiny
Jul 24, 2001 5:40 AM
I got mine at Pricepoint for 49.99. They usually sell them lower than anyone else. I am using it on my MTB an have no complaints. I have a Terry Fly on my Roadbike that is also quite comfy
re: Best place to find Selle Italia Flite Gel Ti?Jay H
Jul 26, 2001 9:07 AM
Ditto, I got my Flite Ti Gel from pricepoint for the same price. These are like 2000 models but other than looking a little different, i.e. the stitching, it's effectively the same as the 2001 models..

Great saddle, BTW..
Jay
Go for itPaulCL
Jul 20, 2001 9:38 AM
I have read some negative comments on these wheels, but for $219...go for it. Check out the Velonews tech board on Spinergy wheelsets for reference. These wheels might be reviewed on this site under the product review section. Just a note on reviews: The only ones who post on velonews board about these wheels will be negative, while on roadbikereview product review will be all positive. Go figure?

At 156lbs, you're not gonna hurt these wheels...unlike me at 186lbs!
Clarification...TJeanloz
Jul 21, 2001 9:56 AM
Supergo seems to be in the business of confusing people so:

The Supergo 'XARO' wheelset is NOT the same wheel as the Spinergy 'XAero' wheelset. The Spinergy wheelset is significantly more expensive than the Supergo version.

I've never seen a pair of the XARO's, so I can't comment on their quality, but they are not spinergy wheels as is widely thought.
Sneaky Bastards!PaulCL
Jul 22, 2001 1:58 PM
I missed that one completely. I assumed the first poster had a typo. Supergo is getting sneaky on us. And my darn drain bamage again.
re: Super cheap, light aero wheels!!!Woof the dog
Jul 21, 2001 12:03 PM
First off, its clearly read XERO not XARO. Secondly, they don't say what rim they use for the lighter version. Where did you see 1620gr? I see only: 744 + 948 = 1692 for light version and 1820 for Deep V, the one you are talking about. That is kinda heavy. More like shimano ultegra wheelset. Combine that with 16 spokes (front and back, I assume) and you got a cheap wheel that can't take the abuse due to low spoke count plus god knows what kind of hubs. Those hubs are probably very cheaply made, plus they are sealed bearings (probably needle bearings) which means they are a pain in the ... to adjust, clean (yes they sometimes do need that) and they can go on you any time. Oh, and you could get Ksyriums for 600 not 800 bucks I am pretty sure. So, don't kid yourself that you'll get cool stuff for 200 bucks. I wouldn't be surprised to find that actual wheelset weighs 100 grams more than they say. It seems to be always the case with not well known products advertised in catalogs the purpose of which is to sell as much stuff as possible.
Hope you find something that will actually last and will be lighter.

Sincerely,
Woof the dog.
re: Super cheap, light aero wheels!!!ridemytrek
Jul 28, 2001 9:21 PM
Crazyman,

Check out the closeout of Spinergy R2+ wheels at Supergo. They currently have them at $299 for the set, and mine included bags and skewers. Although not the most "Aero" wheels in the world, neither are the Ksyriums, which like you I was considering.

Keep a couple of things in mind. First, Spinergy has changed the spoke design. I personally will pick up several extra spokes and a few extra spoke nipples to be safe. Second, they have a higher spoke count than the new Xero wheels. Don't know if really makes a big difference, other than the look of consternation on the faces of other riders at group rides/races trying to count the number of spokes your wheels have, getting to ten and becoming confused because they've run out of fingers...

The difference between these wheels and regular R2's is that they've used the Carbon hub with better bearings, used in the top of the line R1's, and they are using a different semi-aero rim profile (much like Ksyriums). The rims are made by Sun (the same company that produces Ringle products).

I've only had mine for about 3 weeks, but the ride is wonderful, and so far this is one of the best investments in my bike I've made.