RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Hot Deals


Archive Home >> Hot Deals(1 2 )


Totalcycling.com?????(19 posts)

Totalcycling.com?????chops
Mar 16, 2001 1:55 PM
Has anybody ordered from these guys? They seem to have some good deals among their somewhat limited inventory. Unfortunately, I emailed them regarding an order I planned on placing about 4 days ago and still no response. It seems to me that their customer service sucks, anybody got any opinions? Thanks
re: Totalcycling.com?????Jamie Harris
Mar 16, 2001 5:09 PM
I checked their site and everything I saw I found somewhere else for the same price. I heard mixed rviews on this shop- so shop around. What were you looking for?

Jamie
re: Totalcycling.com?????gmoney
Mar 16, 2001 7:14 PM
Where did you match the price, because most of their prices are the best? Sdeals tryes prices are better. As dealing with them, 4 orders me and my friends and we have been very happy.
c-
re: Totalcycling.com?????Craig
Mar 16, 2001 8:13 PM
I ordered some Sidis and a pair of tires on Monday 3/12/01 from Totalcycling and it still hasn't been shipped. On about Wednesday I e-mailed them to check whether the stuff was even in stock, and still no reply 3-days later! I would say that so far the customer service leaves something to be desired. BUT... the prices on Sidi shoes can't be beat anywhere as far as I know. If I get the stuff even within a week from now, I guess the lack of responsiveness will be worth it. I'm just a little nervous becuase the charge went through on my card, but the gear is still not in the mail! I think I'll take the advice of someone on the 'old' Hot deals board who said that if you call them, they will respond and ship faster. I'll call tomorrow.

Craig
re: Totalcycling.com?????thom
Mar 17, 2001 11:56 AM
Yeah, Craig, that was me. You will get your stuff. I think they keep their site updated as far as whether they have stock or not. They don't seem to answer email though. I called to make sure they still had stock and it went out that day. They claim they are moving and are swamped with orders. Who knows. But it was obvious when i talked to them that they read the email, they just don't respond back to you.
re: Totalcycling.com?????thom
Mar 17, 2001 11:50 AM
My experience, they don't respond to email. I called them and it went out that day. Go figure.
re: Totalcycling.com?????ubimme
Mar 18, 2001 3:07 AM
I saw the negative reviews posted, so I wanted to post a rebuttal. I have ordered and received goods from TotalCycling, and I know of two others who are happy with their service. They ship by FedEx, so the goods get to you in two days. The only negative is your credit card company will charge you a small fee for an international purchase, so if you are considering one small item it may not be worth your while.
re: Totalcycling.com?????thom
Mar 18, 2001 11:54 AM
They ship by parcel force also, not always fedex, it depends on what you are buying. I bought a stem,bars,seat post, and headset and it took them almost three weeks and they don't reply to email. That doesn't mean i will not buy from them again, but people are not always going to recieve in two days.
re: Totalcycling.com?????cc
Mar 19, 2001 2:08 PM
Yes, I think it is misleading to say that they ship fedex. As
they definitely use parcel force too. And occasionally that can
take a long time. Especially if they are sloppy in their paperwork.

I would order from them again. Just be sure that you understand
that things may not arrive as quickly as you think.

But for the $$ sometimes it's worth the wait.
re: Totalcycling.com?????thom
Mar 19, 2001 4:16 PM
According to their website, they are now using DHL, not fedex. Intially, i don't see this as better, we will see.
Hmmm, my stuff hasn't shipped yet!Craig
Mar 19, 2001 8:27 PM
Well, I've been anxiously watching Totalcycling's website daily, but the shoes and tires I ordered a week ago still have not left their facility. And yes, I've e-mailed them a few times with no response.

I hope this turns out to be a good experience ... seems to be a mixed bag based on the reviews. I still have not called them because the 8 hour time difference means their business hours are when I'm usually asleep. If that's the only way I'm going to have my stuff before April, I'll get up before 4 a.m. to call!! Not to be pessemistic, but a little communication would serve this company well.

Craig
Hmmm, my stuff hasn't shipped yet!thom
Mar 19, 2001 9:12 PM
It was over a week before mine shipped so don't worry. You don't have to call at 4. I think it was 5 am or just a little later when i got a hold of them. I, like you, just wanted a response that they were coming. If your order goes like mine, you will still have in hand by 1st of April.
My stuff shipped!Craig
Mar 22, 2001 6:17 PM
Well, I called this morning and it turns out my items shipped Wed. the 21st and they hadn't updated their website for tracking info. Shortly after I called, they updated the site and I could see that the stuff had been shipped DHL and had just cleared customs in NYC.

I will trust that Total Cycling's service will improve when they get situated in their new facility.

I'll order again from them based on price and see how the shipping and response pans out.

Craig
My stuff shipped!thom
Mar 22, 2001 7:17 PM
good to hear, you will probably be wearing your sidi's by sunday, monday at the latest
re: Totalcycling.com?????Fuddinator
Mar 29, 2001 5:14 PM
I ordered a bib from TotalCycling and your right email service is no existant. I wanted shipping via FedEx but ended up with ParcelForce who's tracking, kinda sucks but received in about a week. Would probably order again, they would do well to reply to emails.
re: Totalcycling.com?????JohnG
Mar 31, 2001 6:15 AM
I recently got a big order from Total and Mike did a GREAT job for me. Everything was exactly as I requested!

However, he doesn't "do" email very often so don't get bugged about that.
Good luck JohnG
re: Totalcycling.com?????tonga
Apr 4, 2001 5:12 AM
What is their charge for shipping to the States? I read it was $22, is that correct? Seems a little steep to me.
re: Totalcycling.com?????runstevierun
Apr 4, 2001 7:51 AM
That sounds cheap to me.
Figure they have to send it via private service (think FedEx).
A shoebox shipped FedEX/UPS cross country (USA) would be about the same, I guess. Maybe order lots of stuff to bring the goods/shipping ratio down. I often order in conjuction with other riding buddies to save some $$.
re: Totalcycling.com?????esandvik
Apr 7, 2001 4:55 AM
I ordered some 4 tires (Conti GP 3000's which came with tubes for $26.50 apiece)and some Time titananium/ magnesium pedals for $162. The order shipped here (CA) in 4 days and only cost $22 (there was no duty on the package) using DHL as the carrier. I would definetly order from these guys again especially for tires which were greater than 50% off full retail.