RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New US Postal Team Kit!(17 posts)

New US Postal Team Kit!kushogun
Feb 2, 2004 2:08 PM
Check it out @ lancearmstrong.com So what do you think? Keep the rubber side down!
Here's the pic (nm).kushogun
Feb 2, 2004 2:12 PM
Here's another.kushogun
Feb 2, 2004 2:13 PM
no uglier than the bikesBonked
Feb 3, 2004 9:39 AM
hey - just my opinion and no need to flame...just stating what i think. imho, the new dura-ace cranks are the ugliest thing i have ever seen hung on a bike, followed closely by the shifters and r derailleur. (fwiw, i thought the old da crank was beautiful.)

again, just my opinion ;)

ps - totally agree with the comment about the arm bands.
not badmohair_chair
Feb 2, 2004 2:16 PM
My favorite is still the 1999 version, followed by 2002. If nothing else, the 2004 edition should be easy to spot in the crowd, because those horizontal red/white stripes really stand out.

Lance and Ekimov have rainbow stripes on their sleeves, and that's too noisy. As a former national champion, George started wearing red/white/blue stripes on his sleeves, and that's got to be even noisier.
Looks like it could be hot under the French sun. (nm)Mariowannabe
Feb 2, 2004 2:21 PM
Looks like it will soak up the sun! n/mDeRosaOrBust
Feb 2, 2004 5:44 PM
No more than the last couple years.thebadger
Feb 3, 2004 11:20 AM
I liked the 2003 uniform more... nmkevinacohn
Feb 2, 2004 2:44 PM
re: New US Postal Team Kit!yeah right
Feb 2, 2004 3:08 PM
not that anyone should care what i think, but...

the blue is too dark, doesn't show contrast.

the bands on the sleves are a bad idea, and should be reserved for ex-national/world champs.

the bands are too thick.

the outfit looks too nautical, not athletic.

i'm interested to see what the back looks like, i hope the incorporated the red better.

my .02
agree 100% nmJS Haiku Shop
Feb 3, 2004 6:03 AM
Go postal!Drone 5200
Feb 2, 2004 4:11 PM
looks good to me.
I like the shorts...cydswipe
Feb 2, 2004 4:32 PM
.. the jersey kinda makes them look heavy in the gut. I should know because I am heavy in the gut. Come to think of it, now when I see all of the Postal jerseys out and about this summer I won't feel so bad. I might fit in with the cycling crowd instead of being the fat kid on a bike. I like 'dem new jerseys boys! :)
Red & white band -- Austrian champ?Mordi
Feb 2, 2004 4:39 PM
The red & white band looks like something a former Austrian national champion would wear. I doubt we'd see new Fassa kit with a red, white & blue band . . .

All in all, the new unies are not too bad looking.
Where's the Trek logo? nmPdxMark
Feb 2, 2004 5:17 PM
re: New US Postal Team Kit!pina
Feb 2, 2004 9:28 PM
More red and less blue would have been nice. Too much blue and too dark. Red bibs would have looked better and been a little cooler in the hot sun. No contrast, everything is dark blue.
umm.....Sao
Feb 2, 2004 9:59 PM
I don't know. I always found the Postal kits to be rather conservative and boring looking. Then again, it's the US Postal Service.