RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


orbea orca or trek 5200(12 posts)

orbea orca or trek 5200speedyd
Jan 29, 2004 6:21 AM
I am wanting to buy a carbon fiber frame this year and was pretty much decided on trek 5200 but am now considering the Orbea Orca.It has killer looks but I am having a hard time finding reviews.Anyone have any expierenceor suggestions.Thanks
Orca is heavierandy02
Jan 29, 2004 6:36 AM
I looked at the Orca with record and ssc wheels and it weighted the same as my current 5200 with ultegra and race lights! I have seen some fudging on frame weights but I think orbea goes too far.

The Orbea starship alu/carbon stay bike is nicer IMHO
... naturally, it's a ''whale'' of a frame (nm)Akirasho
Jan 29, 2004 6:39 AM
Be the bike.
Manufacturers new to carbon bikes...orange_julius
Jan 29, 2004 6:54 AM
I'm a bit skeptical of the "traditionalists" entering the
(nearly) full-carbon foray. Chris Boardman had a great
commentary in December's Procycling when he was reviewing
the GIOS carbon frame. His comment was that the
traditionalists don't really get the idea behind carbon
fiber yet, and tend to overspec and end up with a heavier
bike than necessary.

He compared it to trying to explain to your nodding
grandmother how exciting Nike's new apparels are, and she
ends up knitting you a bowl hat that says "Nick" on it.

Of course, I have neither seen nor touched, much less ridden
an orbea, but I thought I'd share my skepticism.

The Orbea Starship and Spaceship frames are race-proven,
I would go with those if I were you, and pocket the
difference.
re: orbea orca or trek 5200Trogon
Jan 29, 2004 6:45 AM
I think you're going to have a hard time finding Orca reviews as it's so very new. I'm just now beginning to see them in stores. The 5200 of course is so popular you should have no problem. Price-wise they're in a completely different league - Orca is supposed to cost $2200 for frame whereas the 5200 can be had for $2500 (or less) for the entire bike. That might make your choice easier.
Depends on goallotterypick
Jan 29, 2004 1:55 PM
If you want a great bike, then get the trek.

If you want to make a statement, then get the orbea.

I have the 5200/5500 frame and it's great and wonderful.

I would have loved the orbea or merlin or other bikes, but they all cost hundreds of dollars more.

hard to justify, when a great, but common bike is so much less.
A review, if you haven't already read itwitcomb
Jan 29, 2004 6:51 AM
I don't know if you've read this review, but it might be useful

http://www.pezcyclingnews.com/?pg=fullstory&id=1914

- Neil
re: orbea orca or trek 5200Dropped
Jan 29, 2004 12:48 PM
The Trek is a great bike, but it is the Honda Accord of high-end road bikes. Nothing wrong with that -- the Accord is one of the best made cars in the world. But does anyone lust after an Accord?

I think the Obrea is beautiful. They have pretty good warranties too, don't they? (lifetime?)

Either way, you probably can't go wrong.
OT... go test drive the new '04 V6 Accord, you'll lust!russw19
Jan 29, 2004 8:27 PM
My long time family mechanic just got one in the 4 door and says it is by far the nicest car he has ever owned. That thing is just gorgeous. I am going to test drive a 2 door V6 with the 6 speed manual this weekend.

Russ
re: orbea orca or trek 5200al0
Jan 29, 2004 2:47 PM
I already have put this information 2-3 weeks back (may be in component forum, can't remember):

In Januar issue of German "Tour" magazine (this magazine is devoted to road biking) was a rewiew of 20 carbon bikes. Orca was second worst. Trek was not on review. Try to search for my 2 posts concerning this review.
re: orbea orca or trek 5200jmwbiker
Jan 29, 2004 8:24 PM
a10 What were the 20 bikes in the tour magazine and how were the rated. And was the giant included. I could not find your other posts.
thanks
i would agree...Bonked
Jan 29, 2004 4:00 PM
it depends on what you are looking for. i'm not sure what the reviews on the orbea are, am sure that the trek is a great bike, and don't know how you narrowed it down to these two frames (as mentioned before, they are pretty different in cost); BUT i do know, that for me at least, a frame has to speak to my soul...a bike needs to call to me. imho, whichever bike will get your a$$ out and riding is the best choice.

by the way, if you want a great bike and are looking for something interesting, don't forget to check out the maestro. great prices (even with the poor exchange rate...thanks george) on great bikes.