RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What is up with the Madone?(11 posts)

What is up with the Madone?hammer_cycle
Jan 27, 2004 5:48 PM
I might have missed some posts on it, but I keep seeing it mentioned. What is the big deal about this bike? The 04 5900 is not only lighter, but it also fixes the achilles heel of the 03 model (headset). I'm just curious how the Madone stacks up to the 5900 besides it being slightly heavier.

Thanks in advance.
unless you have already order a Madone your not getting one!andy02
Jan 27, 2004 6:34 PM
trek shops aren't getting anymore madone unless they are already on order. So if you want one I hope your bike shop has one already!

However, I am getting a 5900 not a madone so I agree with you
unless you have already order a Madone your not getting one!Maddux_MJ
Jan 27, 2004 7:14 PM
I am not a Trek fan at all. There are too many of them on the road and in test driving one it felt like I was riding a 2x4. My local shop carries Fondriest and their carbon frames ride much better. In my opinion I would look at Fondriest as opposed to Trek. I believe you get more for your money.
Aero advantage...BergMann
Jan 27, 2004 8:28 PM
I've never ridden one, but Armstrong made some comments in Trek's original PR blitz saying he'd set Trek engineers the challenge of making something as light as his old 5900, but more aero. They put a number on the Madone's aero advantage: saves x seconds over the course of 100k.
Given Armstrong's obsession with wind tunnels, I'm almost inclined to believe it.

Although I can't say I agree with the other poster that Fondreist ranks that high in the bang-for-your buck category (the Giant TCR carbon is king in that regard!), I do agree with him insofar as the price hikes on the 2004 bikes pretty much negated Trek's best qualities in my eyes: that you could get a complete carbon Trek with Dura-Ace for the price of a Colnago _frame_.
Aero advantage...fracisco
Jan 28, 2004 9:03 AM
The irony is that Lance spends 90% of a stage riding out of the wind, so what is the aero advantage for him? It will benefit his lieutenants more than him.
You mean that nipple behind the seat tube? Get a Cervelo. nmSpunout
Jan 28, 2004 9:05 AM
Aero advantage...that's trueNEIL
Jan 28, 2004 10:12 AM
The only time LA is out in the wind is when he is going up hill, which aerodynamics don't matter too much and he usually opts for the 5900 anyway.

It's called marketing. Trek wants to appear on the cutting edge and they realistically have one more year, two at best, for LA to be championing thier bikes around the world. They will sell a lot more Madone's if Lance is sitting on one, rather than release something new after Lance is enjoying golf rounds with Micheal Jordan.
Which is exactly why he rode a Superlight in the mountains!BergMann
Jan 28, 2004 10:48 AM
And also my best guess as to why the entire team is outfitted with Madones this year, when Trek is accustomed to pinching pennies and giving them regular 5900s!
(It'll make for good ad copy at least!)
Aero advantage...Maddux_MJ
Jan 28, 2004 10:27 AM
Giant TCR certainly is inexpensive but I don't consider that the only factor. Ride quality and workmanship are far more important than price. It just so happens that Fondriest is quite a bit less expensive than other Italian brands but have, in my opinion, better qualities. Given the option I would much rather prefer an Italian frame over anything else - you cannot ignore the heritage. All things considered you get more for your money with Fondriest.
More intangibles...BergMann
Jan 28, 2004 11:09 AM
Don't get me wrong, Fondriests are beautiful machines -- I'd ride one in a second if you'd give me one for the price of a TCR, but to call a MSRP $1900 TCR frame "inexpensive" (even if you get it for $1500 street) is going a bit far, don't you think?

While I'll agree that the workmanship on the TCR frame is its (cosmetic) achilles heel, I bought one _because_ of the ride qualities. I preferred the TCR's combo of ride, weight, price, and looks (in that order) to anything else I threw a leg over.

Let's face it: when you're at the very top end of the market, you're ultimately paying for intangibles that are a matter of subjective taste.

I've had $30 bottles of California or Australian wine that IMHO blew away $100 bottles of French or Italian stuff.

While I can certainly understand someone with different tastes deciding to spend the $100 to enjoy the subtelties and heritage of French wine, but they're not getting "more for their money," they're paying a premium to get what they want!

Cheers!
More intangibles...Maddux_MJ
Jan 28, 2004 3:10 PM
All great points. It is all relative. I guess I have just become so conditioned to expensive being $6K for the frame.

Good chat. Take care.