RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


$1,600 Budget for New Road Race Bike(10 posts)

$1,600 Budget for New Road Race Bikelexington476
Jan 26, 2004 7:56 PM
$1,600 budget for new road race bike, what is out there?
read my "Crit Bike Recipe" in Racing forum (nm)lonefrontranger
Jan 26, 2004 8:00 PM
can't find itvelocity
Jan 27, 2004 11:12 AM
Glad to see you posting again.

Looked on racing forum and also did a search by topic and by your handle, but can't find it. Where is it? Can you post a link?
Link...TFerguson
Jan 31, 2004 8:49 AM
lonefrontranger "Crit bike weight - does it make a difference?" 1/26/04 5:56pm
re: $1,600 Budget for New Road Race Biketorquecal
Jan 26, 2004 8:12 PM
Nashbar Frame, 105 group, DA hubs and Open Pro rims. Plus a S720i with power option for training.
closeout bikes...C-40
Jan 26, 2004 9:08 PM
Lots of 2003 models on closeout. For that price, you can probably get something with a DuraAce group. Ultegra equipped bikes are available as low as $1000-1200 (Litespeed aluminum).
re: $1,600 Budget for New Road Race BikeWoof the dog
Jan 26, 2004 10:26 PM
Caad4 or 5 frame/fork (look on ebay or bike shops for sale)
DA hubs, velocity rims, revo spokes (build yourself)
old components off ebay
ultegra cassette and chain
DA shifters
generic saddle, seatpost, bars, stem, tires.

Maybe you will be able to make it.

woof.
New Dura Ace Motobecane - excellent valuecollectorvelo
Jan 26, 2004 10:29 PM
I purchased a 2004 Motobecane le Champion Team with new 10-speed Dura Ace for a little over $1600 ($1695 to be exact)

I love it - frame is has really good workmanship, the bike is light and rides very good, IN ADDITION the DuraAce is just fantastic!

These new Dura Ace components are just incrediable. The shifter/brake levers fit my hands and work better than any I have ever had. The crank is a work of art.
If you can get new DuraAce, do it! That is my opinion.
A few web sites if yo do not mind internet orders....mtbcyclist
Jan 27, 2004 5:48 AM
Bikes direct has some sweet deals on them. I know two people who ordered bikes from them. One was very happy, and the other just placed his order so I cannot comment on him. I ordered a Litespeed Hyperion from Colorado cyclist for $1299 (40% off of MSRP) and it is a sweet ride which would suit you good as a race bike. I was skeptical about ordering a entire bike, but the experience was great. Now is the time to do it too as many shops are trying to get rid of last years inventory. January/February are also the slowest time of the year for selling bikes which means better deals this time of the year vs. if you wait.

www.bikesdirect.com (check out the draco and the motobecan)
www.coloradocyclist.com
www.supergo.com
(I am sure there are others)

If you go mail order it will take you approximatly 90 minutes to unpack and put the bike togather, or you can take to your local shop. Since I do my own wrenching, it was a snap. Was impressed with Colorado Cyclists pre-assembly work. They assemble it, test ride it, and then disassemble it enough to ship it.

Hope that helps.
beware... they mostly cut cornersCORONADO FLYER
Jan 30, 2004 6:25 PM
Yes they come with ultegra or dura ace groups. But notice the cheap wheels, bar, stem tires, fork, and accessories.

Read the specs before you decide. You may spend more money on replacement parts then if you bought a well equipped bike. Check the frame too. You may be buying a $99 frame with a $1000 group.

I am biased so I will not steer you toward any brand. Just remember to reed the full specs.

Check the reviews on these budget bikes here on RBR as well before buying.