RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Podium Friday censorship or an open letter to forum mediator(33 posts)

Podium Friday censorship or an open letter to forum mediatorcyclopathic
Jan 23, 2004 5:25 PM
earlier today there had been posted a picture of Italian female fans celebrating the beginning of 2002 Giro. Guess what? it didn't stay on for long. why? b/c fans saved a few mils by painting pink jerseys over their bodies, they were wearing several layers of body paint.

Picture had been taken from 2002 La Gazzetta dello Sport. No one would question the reputation of Gazzetta, or by any means call Gazzetta /or picture/ "pornographic". But I guess it is too hard to digest for our fellow american puritans-hypocrites.

It must have been the color if they were fat american babes to paint yellow jerseys and "Go Lance" over themselves, it had been different matter all together

Way to go Doug!
This forum has been overtaken by pompous jackasses...spankdoggie
Jan 23, 2004 7:31 PM
Let me explain: Well, never mind; I will politely allow someone else to explain how this forum has been overtaken by a bunch of boring pompous roadies.

This forum is filled with all the roadies that I bump, yell at, and squirt my water bottle at, on my bike rides. I chased one of you roadies that made a rude comment while passing me by (I was changing CDs on my Walkman) and raced him down and beat him at his own game, last week; ha ha, then it was my turn to make a rude comment after whooping him.

Many of you are scaring all the nice guys away on this forum with your intellectual, "I am smarter than you" crap. Give it a rest.

Lighten up people!!!
This forum has been overtaken by pompous jackasses...Skooter
Jan 24, 2004 3:27 AM
Amen to that...
lucky for you spank,Frith
Jan 24, 2004 7:58 AM
no one will ever accuse you of intellectual anything.
This forum has been overtaken by pompous jackasses...Leonnard
Jan 24, 2004 6:20 PM
The roadie world needs old school bikers like yourself to toughen 'em up. Nothing degrades the sport more than seeing someone post a whining rant about how they got their feelings hurt when a passing roadie failed to wave, wink, or fondle them. If roadies want respect, they need to start he-man rituals like headbutting each other as a greeting. I guarantee you, when drivers see two dudes doing that, they aren't going to even think about messing with them.
Man, get real!CARBON110
Jan 24, 2004 8:45 PM
You all sound like an untapped fountain of rage seeking validation. Call it what you want; your mother held you to much or not enough, a sneaky uncle in your room when you were young, not enough friends, problems with authority, issues with acceptance etc. etc. Whatever gives you reason for your behavior, and you will use everything despite your hypocrisy.

One point that screams from your posts is your lack of consideration for others. Its considered socially inept behavior, everywhere! It's inappropriate and unwelcomed. If you were to ask me what was wrong with you, I would start by saying: "alot"

How long will it take some of you adults to grow out of your adolescent and juvi tendancies is up to you.

You cry about the moderator who is only attempting to keep the forum civil and stimulate creative thinking and a place to share info, experience and our affinity for bikes. People don't complain about you until you begin to cross the line and become inappropriate. Which, you need reminding and guidance on since you lack the proper tools for judging for yourself.

P.S- The reason I posted my pics of women, wasnt based on their looks but on my interpretation that Friday was a day we celebrate women in cycling. Why? Because men like women in just about anything but even more when they play in a world we already love-racing.
and you wonder why there aren't more womenCritLover
Jan 24, 2004 7:25 AM
on this board. Sometimes the fellas here are just out of control. I used to recommend this site to female friends, but have stopped due to the constant stream of macho bs(not to mention the fact that one friend told me she didn't dig the stuff being said when she visited). Sorry to inform you, this forum can be very female unfriendly.

Now, I'm not saying that people shouldn't express their opinions, but when did this become a forum for posting pics of models for everyone to lust over. Let's be real, it's not cycling relating, even if they were at the TDF. How about another forum where you guys can post your podium girls to your heart's content?

Been holding that back for a long time. I feel better now.
Yep. Either that or...tempeteOntheRoad
Jan 24, 2004 9:13 AM
Any one should be able to post pics of sexy men and fat american women...

I see the sense of community has to come from a form of shared commun opinion, even when its purpose (the community's) is to echange the opinions. For some reason, they should be different, otherwise what is the purpose of posting at all... No?

Then sometimes, there will be a bit of a skid, and then it will be re-adjusted by this mean of discussion. But I don't think there should be any form of censorship until a limit is broken; "outside" pics of nudity with no relation with cycling, for example. That is not the case with a painted jersey. (that is fun! I like the excess; a spiderweb paintjob on a 3000$ frame, a custom-made crank bolt!)

Even if this community, from it's very expression (written, internet forum) do not let me know who is black, white, gay, mountain-biker spying over...) you will get a quick response or idea on who's hot and who's not. Who's a troll and who's pro-gun and anti SUV... Who prays god and who wakes and bakes...

I like the sense of community, and at the same time, the glimpses of individualism. An Aïku here, a fat gut there. A recepy for the perfect handlebar angle and height, and a picture of a dog. Thank you for letting me get away with bad spelling.

It's the engine that counts.

Sébastien.
Where were all of you on Festivus?eyebob
Jan 24, 2004 9:20 AM
We aired this grievance, but more voices would have been better.

BT
apologies if I offended youcyclopathic
Jan 24, 2004 1:36 PM
by any means it hadn't been directed at you, women general and didn't mean to be offensive. I had only asked the integrity of forum censors. They rather seem to be selective. For reason beyond my comprehension it is o'k to post picture featuring say body painted US fans and it isn't o'k to post if fans are Italian.

If you find the perception of this site is skewed and this forum is male dominated, well maybe it is b/c most of RBRers are guys. If you wanna change it please do so. If you need help, there plenty guys who'd be glad to help you find another pic of naked Spanish pros, answer you questions, etc. Guys are guys pls understand, and don't ask us to change because it is offensive to you. After all you have never heard about guy asking girl to change b/c he finds her girly-girly stuff offensive, have you?

The pic was posted to tease africaan, who seems to be hung up on visuals. Me? I don't care I just ride my bike.

CP

PS and I think it is great idea to have Podium Friday forum.
apologies if I offended youmargoC
Jan 25, 2004 2:04 AM
I likw podium girl/riding girl pics cause I put on my computer desktop as incentive to ride!!
not you specificallyCritLover
Jan 25, 2004 10:54 AM
It's more the idea that a woman standing next to a bike racer is consider cycling related and therefore RBR material. Please, don't insult my intelligence. If you want to look and discuss beautiful women, I'm sure there's a forum over at Playboy or Maxim that would love for you to share your posts.

I come here to discuss and learn about cycling. Some of the men here believe that gawking at and insulting women should be allowed in the forum. I for one do not appreciate it. Many members stay out of these threads, so the "I'm a man and I can't help it" line just doesn't hold true. If you buy into biological determinism, that's fine, but can't you keep it to yourself, or take it elsewhere? (another forum is a good solution).

And yes, I have heard of men, my boyfriend included, who have asked for "touchy-feely girly-girl" things to be kept to a minimum. I take those things to other friends who can relate. Don't you keep your comments about beautiful women you see on the street to yourself when your significant other is next to you? I bet you do. Would you bring up a sexually oriented conversation about women at a party in front of other women? I doubt it. And if you would, then this entire conversation is pointless.

I'm not discussing rules here, it's respect, courtesy and taste. There's a place for everything, I just don't think the general forum is it.
Crit, what are you,Lazywriter
Jan 25, 2004 11:10 AM
The Cyling Nun??? Serioiusly, lighten up. Are you going to sit there and tell me that when you go to work which is a place of business, that you don't establish relationships (ie. friendships) with coworkers and all you discuss is business related topics? Or do you act like a human does and have a personality to discuss something funny and maybe a little "inappropriate". (I hate that fu$%ing word).
Point is, YOU CANNOT BE THAT UPTIGHT! I admit I may be over the top at times and yes I would discuss a hot female on the street with my girlfriend and even comment on how much I would like to have sexual relations with her. It is a joke. Trust me, it is better I say it and get it out of my system rather than hide it from her. If your boyfriend has male genetalia, then trust me he is looking and getting mental images of that hot girl on the street. But all this is coming from a guy who watches adult films with his girlfriend of 17 YEARS. (I must be doing something right).
Now, if you take this post and read it thinking how inappropriate it is on a cycling forumn, then you will not see the point. The POINT is that on a site with mostly adult males who have a free exchange of thoughts and opinions, some apsects of sexuality with come up. Just like when the ladies get together and talk about their own desires. Hell, in suburbia, the wives around me have "Dildo parties" kinda like the old Tupperware parties. I am not kidding. Lighten up.
HAHAHA HAHAHHCARBON110
Jan 25, 2004 11:28 AM
I can't stop laughing AT you Lazy! Happieness for you my friend must hurt LOL!

I think the post above rings true, you will never be accused of possessing social graces. Despite what you said may apply to some or even many peoples' life styles for sure, absolutely. However the willingness and candidness you share about it here is just bizarre. It is'nt about NOT talking about things that do take place or "brushing them under the rug" It is simply this is NOT the forum for it and the moderators who RUN the forum have made it unequivocally clear
HAHAHA HAHAHHLazywriter
Jan 25, 2004 11:41 AM
You miss the point Cabon. I equate it to Dr. Kevorkian who is an extreme and serves the purpose of illuminating a topic that many can relate to. The point of my candidness is to say that a little "off color" or adult humor should be tolerated as it is a natural result of adult interaction in any arena. It is not like I am posting pornography or divulging my sex life. In fact this was the first time to simply highlight a point I was trying to make. I see you generally agree with me, but people need to lighten up.
" 'girlfriend' of 17 years" and "something right"?PseuZQ
Jan 25, 2004 11:50 AM
Bwahahhahhahhaa!!!!

That is probably the *funniest* freaking thing I've read all day.

I'm dyin' here...LMAO.
" 'girlfriend' of 17 years" and "something right"?Lazywriter
Jan 25, 2004 12:02 PM
Not only that, but she has my name tattooed on her plus she paid for one of my Litespeeds, my Rolex and Omega. Like I said, I must be doing something right. What did you get from your significant other, at tie? No, I bet she or he wanted you to replace your 90mm stem with a 140mm (metaphorically speaking). BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, you fu$%ing TOOL. You cannot match wits with me so stop trying.
LMAO!PseuZQ
Jan 25, 2004 12:19 PM
So in other words, your her b*tch?
LMAO!Lazywriter
Jan 25, 2004 12:28 PM
LOL, I can see your point, but I am not the one with the tatoo, she is. She is just very generous with me because we have been together since we were kids (I was 17 years old when we met in college). Contrary to popular belief, I am actually a fully functional adult with new home, mortgage, dog and job. I don't live in my parent's basement like most people envision. People need to get senses of humor around here. Pathetic.
OK, OK....Nothing personal.... Just some flamewar fun. (nm)PseuZQ
Jan 25, 2004 12:33 PM
OK, OK....Nothing personal.... Just some flamewar fun. (nm)PseuZQ
Jan 25, 2004 12:35 PM
Of all people,Lazywriter
Jan 25, 2004 12:38 PM
I am one who can take a joke because I sure can dish it out. I am ALWAYS JUST BUSTING BALLS when I go on one of my rants. I get a kick and have always been honest that I like seeing people get all up in a huff. It is the internet for crying out loud.
puhlease brotherCritLover
Jan 25, 2004 11:58 AM
First of all, you know nothing about me, so deciding that I am sexually repressed based on my beliefs about respect are ridiculous. I happened to have worked in the adult entertainment industry in a previous life, so just relax yourself, oh excuse me, I forgot I was uptight. My best friend throws the sex toy parties you mentioned, and is also a dominatrix. Ooh! And you watch porn with your girlfriend, how risque! And this makes you an expert in what should be acceptable to women? It's not for you to say what should or shouldn't be acceptable to someone who is offended. It seems that you haven't any notions of respect or consideration for other people's feelings, it's your perspetive that's important. Amazing that you've had a relationship for more than seventeen days.

Secondly, I don't recall saying anything about thinking that me, my boyfriend or other men don't have lustful thoughts or that there was anything wrong with it, I was only referring to the inappropriate placement on this forum that both men AND women read. There is a forum called non-cycling discussions for these kinds of posts, so why don't you post there and have yourself a ball(or two).

I've been coming to this forum for almost a year, and for the most part have tried to ignore the Podium Girls posts, but y'know sometimes that line gets crossed and there's no going back. As a Latina woman, it's sometimes amazing what people think you should accept. Get real.
puhlease brotherLazywriter
Jan 25, 2004 12:09 PM
Oh give me a break. How could anyone extrapolate anything else but a metal image of you being a repressed person lacking a sense of humor when you take offense to "podium girl" pictures. People post those here because most people read this forumn, not the noncycling related threads.
I have been posting here for since 1998 under various names and have seen a ridiculous amount of conservativism creep in. So, you are an ex-stripper so what. You got old and droopy don't take it out on me. LOL
puhlease brotherCritLover
Jan 25, 2004 12:19 PM
I didn't realize that it was my lack of sense of humor that made these images offensive. I don't know how I missed their "humor." People post lots of stuff on the non-cycling thread that I care not to read, but that is exactly the point. Cycling is cycling, lust and your opinions on what makes a woman hot are not, hence the term 'non-cycling'. If you post these pics there, I'm sure lots of guys will visit that forum, or make a Podium Girls forum, so we can all be happy.

No, I wasn't a stripper, and I'm 31, hardly sagging, but thanks for the concern. Now, maybe we can talk about your need to insult people to make yourself feel better.
puhlease brotherLazywriter
Jan 25, 2004 12:34 PM
Crit, isn't it simple then? Just don't read the Podium girl threads. Don't click on the link and you don't have to see the horrible pictures. How do watch television or any other medium where adult content is interjected amongst mainstream content? Do you turn away from the Victoria Secret commercial when it comes on and say "what does this have to do with the Touched by an Angel? If you worked in the adult entertainment industry, I have a hard time believing that. You are not one of those "born again virgin/christian types are you? UGH!!!
whateverCritLover
Jan 25, 2004 2:18 PM
If we follow your argument, there would be no need for a non-cycling forum, as anything written here could be overlooked. If that's the case, fine, but right now it's not, so there should be equality about what is regulated to that forum, regardless of how many men enjoy those pictures.

And in case you didn't realize it, you're not very good at making guesses about who people are, how they think or act, in fact you haven't been right once. But if you want to be the most insulting, you win. Feel better?
and you wonder why there aren't more womenmargoC
Jan 24, 2004 2:47 PM
I'm a female and I hadn't really noticed that, but I'm kinda dense.
Censorship is the backbone of American society.MR_GRUMPY
Jan 24, 2004 5:07 PM
Get over it. Doug tries to hold the line, as he sees fit. If you can't stand it, you can always find another site to post on. (Or you can keep on complaining) (Your choice)

Ps. to CL. Isn't the term "Macho BS" a little redundant?
I feel a sense of VALIDATION!!!!!Lazywriter
Jan 24, 2004 6:30 PM
I have said for the longest time that the moderator of this board was way to uptight. Maybe I am a little over the top at times, but I am funny and recognize good humor when I see it and there is a lack of it in the moderator. We are adults and should be allowed to have a free exchange of thoughts even if they are "off color" or not politically correct. People need to lighten up, it's the internet for fu$% sake.
Lazy
Kick em' square in the fartbox, with vigor, Lazy!!!spankdoggie
Jan 24, 2004 8:06 PM
Exactly.

I was reading Carbon110 down below with his pictures of ugly chicks, and I was thinking that if I want to see ugly chicks, I will volunteer at a prison.

And Mr. Grumpy: I have been posting and lurking here for over 3 years, and I will call a bastard a bastard, and a jackass a jackass.

Put that in your pipe and smoke it,

spankdoggie
A question.... Who gets to set the limits?MR_GRUMPY
Jan 24, 2004 8:43 PM
The people who post on this site, or the people who own it? Maybe you should contact the owners and see if you can set some new rules. On the other hand, maybe you can convince them that there shouldn't be ANY rules. Good luck.
What are you afraid of exactly?tempeteOntheRoad
Jan 25, 2004 9:01 AM
What is it you can't stand in this beautiful world brother?

It's all right to complain if you don't like something. It's all right to warn if it's a spoiler, a gruesome rash or a clownesque chick on the side of the road cheering a bald italian high on speed.

It's all right to post it. It's all right to say it. It exists. And if I don't like it, I'll tell you. But you can say it...

Man, I hate rules. And I trust you to use your head, brother. Because I suppose you stop at the stop sign, not because there is a rule, but because it makes sense.

cheers.