RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


frame paint....what to put in the downtube shifter holes(9 posts)

frame paint....what to put in the downtube shifter holesfunknuggets
Jan 22, 2004 8:50 AM
Ok, what do I do? Pulling off the downtube shifters on an old Fuji to turn the bike into a fixie commuter, and preparing to paint and want to know what I can do cosmetically with these holes. Do I bondo and sand, or is there some aftermarket cover or something I could use? This is my first frame painting, so Im quite inexperienced with typical restoration methods. Im not going to try and resell or save decals or anything... just going to sand and make the thing presentable and ridable. I may save the name badge on the headtube, but that is it.

I have read up on frame preparation for painting... Im cool with that, but just want to know y'alls experience in dealing with them "holes". Thanks.

Chris
I let mine rust naturally, but....Cory
Jan 22, 2004 9:00 AM
Did the same thing when I built my SS, and I procrastinated until they've developed a nice antique patina of ferric oxide. If I had it to do over, though, I might:
--Prep and paint them, then cut some bolts off short and screw them in tight, so the heads fit flush against the bosses.
--Use a Dremel or file to trim down or even remove the things, remembering every second not to go so deep that I cut into the downtube.
--Dig some housing stops (like for barcon or SIS shifters) out of the parts bin, assuming I had some, and trim those down so they looked like they belonged there.
--Hunt around the Tiny Obscure Hardware Section at Lowe's or Home Depot for something that would cover them (at least around here, Lowe's is better for that kind of stuff. They have all kinds of bizarre fittings and pieces).
re: frame paint....what to put in the downtube shifter holesukiahb
Jan 22, 2004 9:26 AM
check out this bike, one of my favorites from FGG...he used stickers, looks OK...
http://www.fixedgeargallery.com/2003/bignotti.htm
wow... plus one more question.....welded cable guides...funknuggets
Jan 22, 2004 10:48 AM
yeah, that is a beautiful bike. Whew... funny thing I was actually looking there this morning. I didnt see this one, but am not opposed to strategically placing a Roadbike Review sticker over the hole... haha. Im sure I will be able to find something, whether it be a plastic rivet type, or somthing, I just wanted to know what options I had.

Now my question... should I just leave those suckers be? This fuji has these crazy steel guides welded in the bottom bracket for the front derail. From an aesthetic appearance, I think they are hideous and look like they will be a pain in the butt to paint. Would you guys file/cut it off, or would you just leave it on?
Choices, choices, choicesDave Hickey
Jan 22, 2004 11:12 AM
Are you pulling off the bosses too? If there is going to be a hole all the way through the frame, glue a wood dowel and sand to the contour of the tube. Run superglue over the wood to seal it and then sand. If your keeping the bosses, check out automotive valve stem covers. They come in a varity of styles. My Bianchi has a pair of dice glued on to the shift bosses.

Another option is to cut off part of the boss and glue old crank bolt dust covers over the remaining part of the boss.(see picture)
aren't you a clever one...funknuggets
Jan 22, 2004 12:43 PM
Man, I guess I should never have asked what is the "normal" thing to do cause everyone does their own thing... now you come into the mix and give even more options. Ok ok, now I almost feel as if I have to come up with something unique as well... I wonder if those little googly eyes used in crafts will work.... if not that..maybe jellybeans...

Thanks all.
How about Guinness bottle tops? (nm)Gregory Taylor
Jan 22, 2004 12:49 PM
Andrew "Dice" Clay would be proudDave Hickey
Jan 22, 2004 12:53 PM
Hack those puppies off...SenorPedro
Jan 22, 2004 3:48 PM
Thats what I did, chopped off the major portion with a hacksaw and then filed until flush with the DT. Much cleaner in my opinion.