RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


LifeCycle miles...do they count?(9 posts)

LifeCycle miles...do they count?crestlinefarm
Jan 16, 2004 10:15 PM
My office has an upright and recumbent LifeCycle in our workout room. I've taken to hopping on instead of grabbing a fast lunch.
The question, do you count those in your miles ridden? And if not, do you count those on a trainer?
I guess it doesn't really matter to anyone but me, but I haven't been able to ride outside at all this year (time, weather, other lame excuses) but I've managed 50 miles a week for the last two week. One way I've ridden 0 miles this year, the other, 100.
Whadyathink?
re: LifeCycle miles...do they count?zooog
Jan 17, 2004 2:42 AM
I don't count them but one does what they want. Any ride is a good ride even indoors.
re: LifeCycle miles...do they count?Thorman
Jan 17, 2004 4:29 AM
Miles are miles in my opinion. Depending on the workout, I can acutally work harder during an indoor ride in some cases.

I keep track of each type individually. I guess it all depends on what you want to do.

Thorman
http://www.ScottThor.com
Count them twice.JonnyHu
Jan 17, 2004 6:04 AM
I'm not sure what the LifeCycle is like, but I think on a typical trainer (e.g., CycleOps) 45-60 minutes of focused training is generally a much more intense workout than 45-60 minutes on the road. So I count my trainer miles.
How "pooped" do you get?Spoke Wrench
Jan 17, 2004 10:15 AM
I think that cycling is an activity that makes it easy to kid yourself about how much good it's doing. If it was me (and it's not) I'd just count the miles, whether indoors or out, that give you that kind of achey rib cage feeling when you're done.
I find the stationary bike harderlaffeaux
Jan 18, 2004 7:31 PM
The stationary bike i smuch harder i my opinion. I don't know all the reasons, but I imagine that never having to stop for red lights is part of it.

35-40 minutes ridding with a heart rate right at 146 bpm is easy enough on a trainer, but not something I often do on the road.
Do you have a heart rate monitor?Mel Erickson
Jan 17, 2004 5:07 PM
I find it's the best way to compare any stationary ride to a road ride. Just decide on what kind of ride you want and get your heart rate up to the appropriate level for the appropriate amount of time. Obviously you can't duplicate all the characteristics of a road ride (balance, wind, etc.) but as far as an aerobic/anerobic workout is concerned using bike specific muscles, your heart won't know the difference.
Do you have a heart rate monitor?crestlinefarm
Jan 17, 2004 8:20 PM
This LifeCycle has one built in, so I can actually keep track (since I don't typically ride with one). I'm relatively new to, I guess you would call it "organized road biking". Before I would just take my mountain bike out and tool around town. Now that I have my fourth road bike, I'm commuting 25 miles three days a week, counting miles, and yes, even riding the stationary bike in the winter!
And I love it....
It doesn't count.Dutchy
Jan 18, 2004 4:11 PM
Trainers count as time but not as miles. The whole idea is to get outside and ride rain, hail or shine. When you get off a trainer you have ridden exactly ZERO miles.