RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What watts?(13 posts)

What watts?dave woof
Jan 14, 2004 8:04 AM
This was posted in the review forum for the 1Up USA trainer. ---

I have used several trainers, from the first wind trainers to mag trainers and computrainer. I was impressed with how the 1up looks, but looks don't count for much, don't be fooled like I was. When I first road the 1 up I was very impressed. Smooth, quiet, and lots of resistance. I was deceived. Once I started training a bit harder (250 watts + and up to 1000W + on sprints) the trainer blew apart.

---

Just wondering if someone can really push 1000 watts or if his wattage meter is miscalibrated?

Dave
completely possibleDougSloan
Jan 14, 2004 8:11 AM
I've hit just under 1000, and I'm a lowly Cat 4/endurance/semi-recreational peon. 1000 equates to high 30's sprint speed.

Doug
completely possiblehuez
Jan 14, 2004 8:19 AM
Yes, totally normal. Dont know about your speed calculation there, but a domestic pro will put out about 1450 or so in a sprint. Ive heard Cipo can get near 1800 watts.

743 watts is one horsepower for reference.
top track sprinters are known to hit 1800w momentarily. nmdivve
Jan 14, 2004 8:18 AM
I believe top sprinters can hit...Dwayne Barry
Jan 14, 2004 8:19 AM
nearly 2000 watts in a sprint especially some big trackie types.
"I've been recorded at over 2200 watts."DougSloan
Jan 14, 2004 8:33 AM
Marty Nothstein...

http://www.cyclingnews.com/interviews/nothstein012.shtml
"I've been recorded at over 2200 watts."ajgibbons
Jan 14, 2004 10:32 AM
Great interview - really enjoyed the line, "48 - that's like. a warm-up gear"
Yeah, I was stoked to read it toohrv
Jan 14, 2004 10:46 AM
Especially since I did his "Training Day" sprint workout video last night. Man, if that doesn't increase my power, nothing, and I mean nothing, will.

Now, why am I doing this stuff in January again.....?

hrv,
hopefully not 'Flying in February, F.....d in June' !
I thought you were pulling an Aarontoy there for a sec (nm)ColnagoFE
Jan 15, 2004 10:12 AM
re: What watts?witcomb
Jan 14, 2004 8:57 AM
Did you contact them, could this just be a manufacturing defect? I was planning on getting that trainer until I saw a Fluid2 at a good price sitting in front of me. I'm glad I did, even with all the reviews of the 1up unit.

- Neil
re:wattsCARBON110
Jan 14, 2004 9:25 AM
I know a guy who is a cat.1 who hits 1800 watts on his sprint kick in Asheville. There are 2 world champions in Asheville and I bet they each can do that easily. They ride 11-21 up hills you wouldn't dream of riding a 21 in
3000 watts!!!!fujipro
Jan 14, 2004 11:41 AM
Sorry, you forgot the decimal point after the 3.Juanmoretime
Jan 14, 2004 12:58 PM
Looks just like African.