RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Road Bike for 50 year old(28 posts)

Road Bike for 50 year oldHangten517
Jan 11, 2004 12:21 PM
I ride a Cannondale Caad 3 frame and am looking to upgrade to a more comfortable/responsive frame. The 56cm Cannondale fits me great. I am considering the Caad 7 frame on the new R800. This is suppose to be a more comfortable frame. In doing research, it appears that the Reynolds 853 steel frame provides the most comfortable ride. Frames like the Lemond Zurich or the KHS. The other choice would be composite like the Giant TCR. Please provide any feedback. Thanks Scott
re: Road Bike for 50 year oldWiaruz
Jan 11, 2004 1:35 PM
If you want to stick with steel take a look ar the De Rosa corum. Not ceap though.
re: Road Bike for 50 year oldRusty Coggs
Jan 11, 2004 1:49 PM
I think you need to go ride some bikes,rather than depend on suspect recsearch. There is nothing that magical about 853 and there are lots of variations, some probably good, and others alot heavier than they need to be. There are also plenty of other equally good steel tubesets.
Caad 5 works for me....bent_spoke
Jan 11, 2004 1:59 PM
I've read that the Caad 5 was a major improvement over the Caad3 in terms of tube design & carbon fork. Check it out to see if it'll work for you. You'll save alot over the caad7.
re: Road Bike for 50 year olddavet
Jan 11, 2004 2:04 PM
I'm 62 and have found that the frame material is not as important as frame design. For instance, to use two extremes, a crit bike will be nowhere near as comfortable as a touring bike, but a touring bike won't handle as crisply as a crit bike. I have steel (Reynolds 725 & 531) carbon fiber and titanium bikes. The best ride for me? Depends on what kind of riding I want to do that day. The most 'comfortable', long distance bike I have is a custom made Kirk (725 Reynolds steel) that fits me perfectly and is designed, at my request, as an 'all-day' bike.

Ride everything that interests you. Take it out for at least a couple of hours. Bring your 'old' bike with you so you can have the demo bike set up like yours, and put your favorite saddle on the demo. That way you have a base from which to judge the 'new' bike.

Secondarily, wheels and tires can make a huge difference in the feel of the bike. Some 'boutique' wheels, Ksyriums come to mind, can ride somewhat harshly. Proper tire inflation makes a difference. Instead of the high 120~140lbs some use, drop the pressure (depending on your weight) to 95~110. The bikes will feel much smoother.

There is a whole host of factors that can make a bike 'comfortable' and frame material is only one of them.
all things being equalcollectorvelo
Jan 11, 2004 4:47 PM
wheels and tires of course matter
but if those are equal - Reynolds 853 will be smooother than Aluminum

of course, you can take an Aluminum bike and put on big tires and touring 4 cross wheels and run low air pressure and smooth it out - but that's not the point in picking a frame is it?
re: Road Bike for 50 year oldlyleseven
Jan 11, 2004 2:52 PM
59 and have Ti and Steel. Got a custom steel made for $800 (Dedaccai steel, too) by Mikkelsen and with Neutron wheels it flies and is very comfortable! 853 is great steel also.
re: Road Bike for 50 year oldbsdc
Jan 11, 2004 3:39 PM
Comfort is more related to frame design than frame material. I like the idea of the shorter top tube and longer head tube. This creates a more upright position without a huge stack of spacers and/or a flipped stem. You still have the drops for aerodynamics, but the tops and hoods are much more comfortable. Litespeed has a titanium Veneto and an aluminum Palio that has this design.
Good deal on Reynolds 853collectorvelo
Jan 11, 2004 4:43 PM
I just got a great deal on a Dura Ace bike from bikesdirect and they are also selling a Reynolds 853 framed Mercier with full ultegra for around $1100

as for frame material, some say it's all in the frame design
I say Horse Hocky!

if you ride long distances at your age, you are much better off investing in a Reynolds 853 framed bike than in Aluminum (I pasted 50 long ago and can tell you - your body does not get where it likes being beat up more)
Hmmmmmm.....B2
Jan 11, 2004 5:37 PM
"as for frame material, some say it's all in the frame design
I say Horse Hocky!"

So a 2x4 and a 2x12 will react identically to an identical force???

I think maybe design has more influence than most people think - at least for higher end bikes that are designed closer to the "edge" anyway.

Now for the more generic (read over built) frames that only have one tubing selection for all frame sizes..... I don't know; maybe the material has more to do with "IT"?

Bryan
Good deal on Reynolds 853davet
Jan 11, 2004 5:38 PM
You sound like a shill for BikesDirect....?
Confirmation?Just read his post on Motobecaneteoteoteo
Jan 11, 2004 6:30 PM
collectorvelo "Got My Dura Ace bike -- these components are fantastic" 1/9/04 9:28am
I'll stand by my original post...davet
Jan 11, 2004 6:56 PM
..collectorvelo's spam notwithstanding. I own a steel, a titanium and a carbon fiber bike, and have had aluminum bikes in the past. They are/were all 'comfortable' because they were well designed and made, and I chose them for my purposes carefully. A cheap, poorly designed, poorly made bike will be a crappy bike regardless of what it is made of. A well designed, well made bike will be a 'comfortable' bike regardless what it is made of. My 62 year-old a$$ tells me so.

So Hangten517, like I stated originally, do an extensive ride on the bikes that you are looking at. Have each one fitted to you so it duplicates the fit of your CAAD3. Transfer your saddle over. Then you can tell which one will be the best for you.
In the past, Dave Sander (owner of BikesDirect) hasOldEdScott
Jan 12, 2004 7:38 AM
posted spam on this site, pretending to be just a roadie ASTONISHED by the great deals at BD. He was called on it, and haven't seen him here lately. This doesn't sound like his prose style, but who knows?
I agree...Dave Hickey
Jan 12, 2004 7:41 AM
Unfortunately, it's gotten to the point that I'm very suspicious of anyone saying they got a great deal from Bikesdirect. There have been too many spam postings....
re-read itcollectorvelo
Jan 12, 2004 1:31 PM
I posted that not to say how much I liked the Motobecane
or even where I got it [ by the way the Moto is fine - but as with all Aluminum frames - it does not look nicely as nice as a good lugged steel frame ]
I posted it so others could read my opinion on the New DuraAce - I think that is clear
I love the new DuraAce - I know it is not in everyone's price range - but it is the nicest components I have seen or used in 30 years! and I will repeat, the shifters are just perfect!
And from what else I read, many agree and our old time favorite from Italy is going to be in deep do-do
Good deal on Reynolds 853 - some here are sillycollectorvelo
Jan 12, 2004 1:25 PM
Wow! there sure are a lot of silly people on here
I posted way over a month ago that I was looking at a DuraAce bike for $1695 - and the first thing that happened was someone said 'that deal is too good to be true'
Then I ordered the bike and got it - It is a good deal - but not too good to be true - as it is in my garage

Then I suggest that the same people I got this deal from (bikesdirect) has a good deal on a Reynolds 853 bike and next thing you know people think I work for bikesdirect. that is plain silly

I do think however, that a Reynolds 853 frame is best for an older rider who has only one bike; especially if they are going to put in lots of miles
I know that is an opinion, but I thought that was what was supposed to be posted on here; riders' opinions

fuuny thing is - it is plain that when a normal consumer posts what they like - that other posters who are probably working at a bike shop feel they should attact them if it does not agree with the brands they sell

what a funny environment
Yep, call me paranoid but...Dave Hickey
Jan 12, 2004 6:49 PM
If your not paid by bikesdirect, you should be.......

collectorvelo "Compact Geometery vs. Traditional" 1/11/04 4:39pm

collectorvelo "Bianchi, Cannondale, Trek, Gunnar?" 11/8/03 8:24am

collectorvelo "IS THIS THE BEST REYNOLDS 853 DEAL EVER?? I think so" 11/8/03 8:18am

Poseur "How are we going to get New DuraAce at a good price?" 10/31/03 9:50am

collectorvelo "Decisions Decisions HELP!" 10/31/03 3:03am

collectorvelo "Decisions Decisions HELP!" 10/31/03 3:00am

collectorvelo "EBAY BIKE PURCHASES--BE INFORMED" 10/30/03 2:47am
OK you are paranoid and have lots of time on your handscollectorvelo
Jan 13, 2004 2:54 AM
I have posted lots of other posts unrelated to any buying experience --
and I have purchased bikes from bikesdirect and been very happy and I have posted about that -- some how you must think any customer of bikesdirect who is happy should not post here
that seems very strange to me and I can only guess that you have some problem with bikesdirect that keeps you from commenting on the value or quality of bikes but instead on the poster - who you clearly know nothing about
But to be fair, since you have so much free time on your hands, why not post all the comments I have made that do not mention bikesdirect -- that would be [as they say on Fox news] Fair&Balanced
you seem to be saying that opinions you do not agree with should not be posted -- Lucky for us you weren't in charge of writting the bill of rights
wow - you really arecollectorvelo
Jan 13, 2004 3:11 AM
I just now started reading the posts that I made that you object too -- I am really surprised - when I do not even mention a brand or seller - there is something wrong with my post!

example
"Aluminum bikes are fine - but not more comfortable
for comfort try Reynolds 853 or a relaxed TI frame
in addition, both the bikes you just named are normally very over priced by dealers
you should be able to buy a good quality aluminum framed bike with carbon stays and carbon fork and Full Ultegra for $1100 to $1200 - brand new"

now is this posted related to bikesdirect??? I have never even seen a TI bike on there? I really do not get it -- Are you objecting to my experience that you can buy Ultegra bikes for $1100 or $1200? Everyone knows that who is awake - dealers discount some brands all the time; and there are many many many online sellers at prices like this.


or maybe you think bikesdirect is the only place you can get Ulterga bikes for $1100 to $1200 -- you should also look at coloradocyclist, supergo, ebay, and I would guess a dozen other places online - not to mention, stores in your area that want to move bikes

again, I think your problem is that you object to people that do not agree with you - maybe the fact that I have posted clearly that I think lugged steel bikes of yesterday are much nicer than the bikes of today makes you mad - maybe you dislike lugs or steel or older riders - who the heck knows - but it is your issue - you should deal with it
Isn't a CAAD7 a straight-up racing frame? Same with the TCR?bill
Jan 12, 2004 6:59 AM
Is that what you want to do with it? What do you want to do with it? What's your budget? And, how long do you want to keep the bike?
Although you can design around most anything, there appears to be one grail -- everyone wants to design their frames, regardless of material, to feel like a good steel bike. This can be done, but there are compromises along the way. These are the generalities I would parrot -- steel is the standard, although it can be heavy, and by the time you make it light, you have other issues (of fragility), compromising one of steel's great properties, which is that it's strong, resilient, and lasts (in bike terms) forever. Ti is great, can be designed to be the steel bike you want for the rest of your life, but it's still really expensive (and do you want any bike for the rest of your life?). CF is great, but tends to be pretty stiff -- although it can dampen a lot of road "noise," it doesn't smooth out the big stuff the way steel does, and, if you ding it, it's pretty much done for. Auminum generally isn't a "keeper" frame because of fatigue issues -- you can do a lot of things with alumimun, but, by the time you design it to feel like steel, you have made some strength and resiliency compromises, and for race bikes they talk about a couple of seasons. I also wouldn't want to ride a dinged alu bike the way I wouldn't worry so much about a steel bike just a little heavier. The metallurgists can break this stuff down into more accurately descriptive terms, but this is what I've got out of the debate.
Long wheel base, low bottom bracket, big tire clearance.dzrider
Jan 12, 2004 8:04 AM
Unless you're racing, these criteria will do more to make your bike comfy than the material.
Don't overlook Rivendell/Rambouillet/RomulusCory
Jan 12, 2004 9:16 AM
I'm w/dzrider: You need room for larger (35mm) tires, and while I'm not a huge fan of long wheelbase, a very SHORT wb will make itself felt.
Don't overlook Rivendell's off-the-rack bikes, the Rambouillet ($990 frame & fork, about $2200 ready to ride) or Romulus ($1500 complete). I have an Atlantis, a slightly laid-back "all-around" version of the Rambo, and it's just about perfect. Both have room for big tires and fenders if you want 'em, and the geometry and gearing are more realistic for most riders, especially those of us who are pulling 50, than the standard OTC bike.
Don't overlook Rivendell/Rambouillet/RomulusSharky
Jan 12, 2004 1:15 PM
I'm with Cory. The Atlantis is the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden, and is also one of the best handling. It's almost perfect. If it were a little lighter it would be the only bike I would own.
Don't overlook Rivendell/Rambouillet/RomulusSteve98501
Jan 12, 2004 3:00 PM
I also agree with Cory. I bought a Rambouillet frame, and I'm 55. It's got laid back geometry, and was comfortable (in relative terms) for a double century last summer, and it's very comfortable for after work and weekend rides of 25 to 50 miles. You'll need to get a set of long reach brake calipers, as not everyone carries them. And I highly recommend getting one of their cranks with the smaller chain rings. It built up into a beautiful and highly functional bike.
How do you plan to use it...dctrofspin
Jan 12, 2004 1:12 PM
Bill makes a great point in his post above, it comes down to what you're looking to use the bike for. I posted a similar question in researching a move off a CAAD5 to find more comfort. What I found out in MUCH research is the obvious, good racing frames are built to race and that means some sacraficing for other elements. Personally, I think I'm narrowing my choices down to a blend of materials to get the best balance of attributes. I want the ability to run crits, but plan on focusing more on distance events, including a double-century. I've taken steel off the list at this point. I've narrowed it down to a couple of choices: a Colnago C40, a Colnago CT-1, a Klein Q-Pro Carbon and Kestrel Talon. Finding these to test drive is going to be the challenge. Good luck!
re: Road Bike for 50 year oldjrm
Jan 12, 2004 1:45 PM
You could find a builder that would copy the geomerty of the CADD while using either reynolds 853 or true temper OX platinum.
re: Road Bike for 50 year oldscopestuff2
Jan 12, 2004 3:32 PM
No one has mentioned this yet, so I'll toss this into the ring. Have you considered a Softride ? No standard frame bike can beat it for comfort. Makes chip-sealed roads feel like you are riding on fresh asphalt.

I have an R1/Classic Softride. It's very stiff in the bottom end. Just look at the tiny triangle and serious stays. However, the rider is riding as sprung weight on a beam suspension. Removes about 99% of the high frequency noise and softens just about all of the big blows as well. Also, holds the road like glue. When others are getting out of their saddles I am very comfortably passing them by staying in the saddle.

Takes a while to get used to, and you have to develop a very good spin (which is a good thing). But, my experience has been nothing short of fantastic.